We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$78
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,584)
Filter reviews
1,584 results
Traveller rating
414
601
309
141
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
414
601
309
141
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lego room cumulus bar fresh restaurant beach bar chinese restaurant infinity pool huge pool private beach table tennis live band beach side great facilities kuala lumpur chinese new year buffet breakfast team building games room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,584 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

Pros:
-beachside, suitable for family, pool, secluded

Cons:
- if travelling with family, u need to pay RM 5/towel for any extra towels u request beyond the 2 towels given in each room. No ..u dont get the RM 5 back after u return the towels.
- buffet bbq dinner was mediocre. The mee mamak is delicious.
-very basic toiletries in the room: lotion/ soap/shower cap/ toothbrush/ shampoo.
-hotel only accessible with car. If you are taking public transport, pls look for a hotel closer to town.
-not many restaurants which is walking distance to this hotel. This hotel has its own restaurant if u wish to eat here.

This is my 2nd time staying here. The first time was in 2018. I felt the service and amenities was waaaay better back then, than it is now.

Overall: 3/5 for me.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank NursakinaK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eusebius Samm, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear NursakinaK1,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for coming back!

Your feedback has been taken on board and whilst we wish we could give every amenity FREE we do provide according to the room configuration and category, the standard being for 2 adults and 2 children which will be replenished daily if your stay is more than one night. However, all comments are looked into seriously and we will definitely review them. moving forward.

HAPPY NEW YEAR and we hope everyone continue to stay safe and continue to adhere to all SOPs.

Yours sincerely,

Eusebius Samm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020

I dont have high expectation although this place is rated 5 star. Work for me. I was more particular on the pool and beach facilities. Otherwise the rest is not great. Rooms are clean though and everything is working. Its a bit tired building already.

Room tip: when then tell you garden view you are actually facing the swamp
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eusebius Samm, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear KY G,

We are grateful to you for choosing to stay with us but are obviously disappointed that it was not a great experience!
Fair comment on the building being tired and amidst the pandemic, we understand one's further perception and concern. Your feedback will be shared in our management meetings and we will strive harder to provide a better experience.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and if we can be any assistance at all, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Yours sincerely,

Eusebius Samm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020

We had a 2 night stay at this hotel and wld like to make some comments for improvements. Firstly, we brought along our 87 year old mom. Although the hotel provided wheelchair facilities, but it wasn't "old people" friendly. The walkway to the beach was unlevelled and grassy, and it was a difficult push and uncomfortable for her. The hotel should provide a levelled, cemented walkway for wheelchairs/elderly. The internet connection was also very slow. Besides that, the water heater wasn't working well and the water flow in the shower was extremely slow. When we requested for breakfast to be sent to the room, there was a charge of rm50 (for rooms with breakfast) and rm 100 (rooms without). These are all very disappointing as we are trying to support the hotel industry in this trying, covid times and to get services like these from the hotel. Our last stay here, for sure!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Boyrazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eusebius Samm, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear Boyrazak,

We would like to thank you for posting your review of Thistle Port Dickson resort.

Your recommendation on providing better wheelchair bound facilities have been taken on-board.
We do wish to apologise for all the shortcomings and will certainly work hard to improve.
The charges that were conveyed to you on breakfast being sent to your room, we will definitely investigate this.

Thank you for your support amidst these trying times and while we understand that you do not wish to return but if you do, we would be grateful for the opportunity to serve you better in future.

In the meantime, if we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Yours sincerely,

Eusebius Samm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

Visited this resort so many times for past few years because it is just a short drive away for a weekend getaway. From the initial marvellous stay to those bad ones, we have prepared to expect the minimum this time . Surprisingly, they managed to do it well this round. Room is clean and even nicely decorated. Got a wonderful seaview room. SOP are in placed. High tea at the fresh restaurant was nice and the service staff were polite. Buffet breakfast improved from last time , food are prepacked and more hygienic, although the choices are still pretty limited and the waiter never bother to clear the table. The beach is clean and nice to swim. But the motorised watersport activities within the swim zone seems a bit too dangerous , maybe should marked out a zone just for swimming.

Overall, we felt that the staffs are more attentive and polite this time, and service definitely better. If this is to maintain for long, we are surely coming back for more visits !

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elain386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eusebius Samm, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear Elain386,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience this time round and thank you very much for still being our loyal patron.

Your feedback on the water sports have been taken on board and we will yet again mention this to the local authorities as the 3rd party vendors are sometimes hard to control despite our several warnings to them! Clearing of tables have also been taken on-board and related department prompted on this.

We are glad that we got your stay quite right this time with a few areas that need improvement.

Thank you for continuing to have us on your list of places to stay in Port Dickson and we hope to welcome you back real soon. If you need help with your booking, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Yours sincerely,

Eusebius Samm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020 via mobile

Where do I even begin. Lets start with the pros first. Hotel room is clean. Room service was provided in a timely manner, in contrast to other reviews. The bed is comfy. Toiletries are complete (with hair conditioners!) and showers are hot. Towels are clean. Pool area is clean and looks inviting to swim in. Food is edible enough I don't feel like ordering foodpanda or driving to the nearest McDonald's. Their fried yee mee, if you got it, is pretty damn good. Water for coffee and tea is also really hot, which is a major plus for me.

Now the cons. Depending on the nature of your stay in this hotel, you could either give a five star or less. For me, I wished I could give it higher but small things like these annoyed me:

1) The gym is no longer at the spa complex, which has since closed down. The hotel website shows a spacious and clean gym with a punching bag but what i got was a sad, sad gym with missing weights. Machines are rusting but thankfully still usable and I had a decent workout here.
2) With COVID-19, the swimming pool only opens at 8am which means I won't be able to swim much before my office's program starts at 9am. The website does not reflect this change. You could swim in the evening but there are wayyyyyyyyy too many people by then.
3) A whole lot of facilities like the Cumulus bar, rabbit park(?) and exercise areas have closed and deteriorated a lot - a sad, sad reminder of its once glorious past. I wished at the very least clear it so people can do weddings by the beachside. Weeds (and surprisingly small flowers) are now growing on the spacious lawn. Its depressing :(
4) Would it hurt to clean up the stretch of beach in front of your hotel? Its littered with garbage and I tried very hard to ignore the garbage and look at the sea waves instead. The beachfront is after all one of your hotel's best selling points.
5) Rigid check in and check out times. I was here for an office course, and the organisers struggled to give the hotel keys before their evening break on check in day, and participants had to RUSH to check out as the key cards do not work after 12pm on check out day.

This hotel had so much potential to be bigger and nicer than many other hotels nearby but something must have happened that it deteriorated to this extend. I hope one day this hotel can be restored to its former glorious self.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank albernardo_kung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eusebius Samm, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Dear albernardo_kung ,

We would like to thank you for posting your review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort.

While we are glad to hear that there were elements of your stay which you enjoyed, we would like to apologise that all was not as it should have been during your office event here.

Please accept our apologies and as much as we wish to blame the Covid-19 pandemic for the shortcomings, we do own and take on board all feedbacks and will work hard to improve.

SOPs are in place and as much as we try to get patrons to distance themselves but once they get into the pool, it is almost impossible to get them to heed all signs and warnings. Some even post reviews that our staffs are rude when they are told to obey and observe the SOP.

As much as we wish to reopen all facilities, SOPS, the spike in numbers plus CMCO implementation makes is very difficult, as such, it was better to be safe than sorry, so, the decision to close and send some of our petting animals such as the rabbits to a better shelter for the time being was made.

A weekly "gotong royong" by the team to clean the beach and surrounding areas has been put in place to ensure that cleanliness are maintained at all times.

Check in and check out times, again, better safe than sorry. We will not compromise on the need to fumigate the room, every time a guest checks out and a new one checks in.

Once again, we are terribly sorry to have let you down on this occasion and would be grateful to have your understanding in the meantime. We wish to assure you that we will return to our glory days once the pandemic is contained and everyone's safety is no longer a major concern.



Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Eusebius Samm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews