We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
5
18
24
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
18
24
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot shower beach front sea view jetty hairdryer ferry toilet retreat tekek
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

There is no reception, only an abandoned restaurant that had one staff waited for us (Its raining and you just gone through the worst ferry ride ever because of the storm and imagine gloomy and dark restaurant that no one use for years) and hesitantly asked if we have booking with them. We said yes and he immediately signalled to us to follow him. He went to get key from this village lady while I can hear her grumpily said to him that she thought he already take the key yesterday. He then proceed to bring us to our room and left just like that. Cue 5 minutes and he came knocking at the door. Asking us to reconfirm again if we did the booking because he said we came 2 persons and in our booking we put 1 person. We said yes and he said because we are 2 persons, we are in violation of the booking term because price will be different for 2 person and he asked us to pay RM45 if we want another breakfast (mind you, the room is really really basic that looks like nobody stays there for months and don't get me started on the bathroom and the dirty water that come out from it. We even brush our teeth with mineral water that we brought ourself) We said we are ok with only one breakfast and we mention that in the Agoda booking it didn't says anything about the price was only for one person to stay (from my understanding Agoda is selling per room not per person, this is not hostel). After 10 minutes of arguing with him calling his so called boss (this lady was really rude and saying if we called KL they will definitely asked us to pay extra), they "generously" relented and let us stay at the chalet. Thank god we only stayed for one day. The chalet is at the back of Paya and it takes us 5 minutes to get to the sea. So thank you for the hospitality and may we never come back here ever again

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ruhiyati I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Went there for the first time with a few friends.Spent 2 nights and had enough.Honest overall opinion on the island was a thumbs down for me.Apart from the sea sports activities which was quite intriguing,rest of the day in the island was dull..zero entertainment as in live music performance,daring act shows or simply a segment on the history of tioman island to add as a memorabilia,etc.. but too bad..this is a place suits best for those who want to escape from the hustle and bustle of the cities they living in..could have the luxury of total peacefulness without the sound of your mobile device ringing or buzzing in your living accommodations..the only place that you could get a fair good reception for your telecommunication device was to walk out to the jetty area..not really recommended for friends outing who seeks enjoyable time..more to a family type of holiday if u ask me..sad but true.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed there from 17-19 June.
Room was huge and bathroom was clean too.
Bathroom came with both Hot and Cold water.
Outside every room there's a tap for you to wash your feet before entering the room.

3min walking distance to the main beach.

Not much of an issue, just that my 2nd night I found some huge ants crawling on my bed.

Overall not bad for the price paid.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Xavier_Tham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Location wise :it is behind the main resort of the village (paya beach resort)
The walkway towards the place is very unkept n dangerous to be use. Filthy with rubbish and stagnant water. Many monitor lizards around,better watch your step especially at night.
Poorly lit road at night.
The owner is not friendly at all. Dont expect a good welcoming smile.
Rude. We are left to manage on our own. The owner just didnt bother.

Please.dont bother to come.
Rent somewhere else..but not tioman paya.
The beach is filled with rocks.
Not very pleasant snorkelling experience.

Go somewhere else. Salang, juara, genting..but not here.
Horrible.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KinWina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Room was included in my diving package, Resort is about 2-300 m walk from Paya pier, blended in the nature, you'll see some monkeys nearby.

Room are very basic but it's big enough to fit 4 person, provide you with air-con, hot shower, electric kettle and hair-dryer. Toilet is a bit small and low water pressure. Quickly get in & out to the room to prevent the mosquito bite.

Don't expect too much, you get what you pay.

Room Tip: Avoid the room near to the bar, if you like quite place
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubaNapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews