We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bagus Place Retreat(Pulau Tioman)
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$345
US$285
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Minang Cove Resort(Pulau Tioman)
US$158
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$138
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$145
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tioman Dive Resort(Pulau Tioman)
US$60
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
US$90
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Impian Inn(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$41
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
3
7
17
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
7
17
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe free shuttle servicefair distancemain poolunitsparadise
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017

If you are after a new and modern resort this is not the place for you. We have previously stayed in the Berjaya resort down the hill which is also a little tired.

We stayed here on a timeshare exchange. We really enjoyed the resort as it was very quiet, we often had the pool to ourselves. When we took the bus down to the Berjaya resort it was extremely busy so it made us enjoy our little paradise more.

There is buffet breakfast here which is a very small selection but it only cost 16MYR pp so a bargain for what you got. There is also a small restaurant which provides a small selection of dishes for lunch or dinner.

The rooms as described are tired. The doors in the bathroom are rotted due to the water and moisture. However everything is spotlessly clean. The maids came daily and changed towels, washed floors, even did our dishes!

The only real issue we had, which is the issue that everyone has, is the bus. It is supposed to leave the Berjaya resort on the hour to go to the condotel and then return to Berjaya on the 1/4 past. Most of the time this worked well, however there were many occasions when the bus simply didn't arrive or they sent one that was too small for all the people wanting to go down to Berjaya.

It is a rather confusion system as Berjaya apparently run the buses and maintain the grounds and Salesa (not sure on spelling) run the rest. There are two managers and two sets of staff.

The bus drivers have apparently been at Berjaya for more than 30 years so they basically run everything and the General Manager is too scared to confront them from what we were told. As a result they come and go as they please. One day the driver went missing for over 2 hours and no buses ran.

Overall though this was an extremely enjoyable and relaxing stay. There isn't a whole lot to do on the island so it is a great opportunity to relax.

We ate every night outside the resort. There are two restaurants outside the resort one on the left and one on the right. They are both amazing restaurants. The one on the left near the beach is a little more expensive but lovely food. Our family of five ate for between $25 - $60 Australian per night including drinks. There more expensive nights were when my husband had a whole crayfish ($20) or other seafood dishes.

Only downside is the drama of getting to the island. It is a five plus hour drive from KL and then another 2 plus hours on ferry to island.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tg0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This is the very fantasy hostel, Nice owner with the nice food, will come back again next time.
we just come back from another hostel, we found that the environment is must better than the previous hostel.
The price is affordable and I will choice this hotel next time i come back Pulau Tioman.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Edwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Hotel itself is just a passable. ...staffs are friendly but not the monkeys! !!
It attacked my daughter while my husband were taking pictures for the other members of the monkeys. My daughter was standing behind me trying to make her way to my front when suddenly one of them attacked her. It dashed n knock its head against my daughters leg; luckily it didn't bite or scratch her!!! I scream so loudly tht alerts the staff coming to the rescue. ...it was a close shave!!!
Anyway besides the monkeys ....the fact that we had to wait for the transportation to go to berjaya resort its pretty annoying but for the price we paid for ,its compromising.
Overall its a good and pleasant stay in this hotel.
Yes....I will come back to condotel!!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank hweehwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

When we first saw the place, we were a bit disappointed with RCI for the accommodation. It is an older apartment building that RCI and others have purchased apartments in. Yes, the rooms are old, but they were clean. There is a lot of wear, but it kinda grew on you after awhile. The beds are not bad, and the wicker furniture was in good condition. The bed rooms are small, esp the second one, and they have no windows, which was the ONE thing that really irritated me. But the rooms have both AC and fans. The small kitchen has a stove and mini frig plus utensils and pots n pans. Just know you will have to bring your own oil, spices, etc to cook with. There is one bathroom, but it was clean and has a line to hang swim suits to dry.

They have a mini mart that you can buy eggs and a few veggies plus drinks, raman noodles, and a few snacks. We brought some instant mixes and cooked several meals there with no problems. There is a decent sized pool with a kiddie pool as well. There is a small playground, but I didn't really see how maintained it was since my kids are grown. There is wifi, but only in pool and lobby area. I could get it at our room if I stood outside the room on the walkway, but just depends on how close you are to the lobby.

They have a small restaurant, which Berjaya does not mention. The food is not great, except for the salads, but it is not too bad either....depends on what cook you get.

The one great thing is that during the week, it is pretty quiet, so you have the place to yourself or just a few others. Weekends bring the Singapore crowd, but it wasn't too crowded.

Also there is not direct access to the beach. However there is a dirt road that goes towards a turtle sanctuary beside the hotel. Although there are no turtles, it has a lovely quiet beach. It is not good for swimming due to coral, but if you just want to walk along the beach or layout in sun, it is really quiet and a nice place to just hang out. It is only a 10 min walk from the hotel. There is a trail on the other side of the sanctuary that goes into the jungle and takes you to Paya. Follow the power lines cuz there are several trails that branch off. It is about an hour hike, but Paya has an awesome gift shop and other shops if you are looking to shop. The beach is nice there too.

When you get to the island, you can get a shuttle to the hotel easily. After that, being at the Condotel is a bit of a pain at times. There is a shuttle that comes every hour on the hour to take you to the main Berjaya hotel where the restaurant is. If you miss it, you have to wait. Sometimes it doesn't come, but not very often. Just as security to call and make sure they are coming. Otherwise it is a 30 min walk to Berjaya, and it is really hot and humid, so I did not care for the walk...but that is just me. When leaving, they will send a shuttle to take you to the ferry port. All this is free during your stay.

The restaurants at the main hotel area were limited. There is a Indian/Thai food restaurant that is brand new. It is right on the beach, and has a lovely atmosphere. But it is a bit expensive and have very small portions. Not much for vegetarians, but there were a couple of dishes. The food is good though. The staff are horrible and rude, so we did not go back. There is the hotel restaurant as well, which has a buffet at night. They have buffet for lunch sometimes, but it is limited and costs 55RM. The dinner buffet is expensive, so make sure you are hungry. It runs from 70-80 RM, depending on what is on the menu. They have a la carte as well. The food was really good and there are some nice vegetarian options, which is really hard to find in Malaysia. They have free wifi in the restaurant too. Outside the gates of Berjaya there is a Chinese good restaurant on the beach that was good and would make veg food. There is also a Malay restaurant, which has veg options as well.

Other amenities at main hotel: volleyball court/basketball court, tennis courts, "adult only" physical challenge area, nice beach, free wifi, gift shop that is way overpriced, pools with kids area and water slides, pool bar, beach bar, and free wifi in main lobby while waiting for shuttle.

To get to Tioman Island, there is a ferry. Do not order tickets online since it does not guarantee you a seat, and it usually costs more. All it does is give you emails on ferry times, which you can call or email the ferry company the day before and ask. However, we were told it was going to leave at 6:30 am, and we didn't leave til 8am. And sometimes it does not come or comes in the afternoon. It is not so reliable, but not much choice. When we got to Mersing, we were told there were no more ferries for the day because of the tide. But then the guy said that if we wanted to get there today, he could get us a charter boat, which didn't seem to mind the tide. It was a fixed price of 1400RM, but the more of us that went, we split the cost. So we paid 200RM per person for a speed boat to the island. The other option was to pay 100RM for a room that was owned by the ferry guy and go the next day. So no matter what, he gets your pocketbook. A bit of a racket, but not much option. Get to the ferry early since it is first come first serve, even if you have prepaid a ticket. Tickets are 35RM.

Overall we enjoyed our 2 weeks there. The condotel is not 5 star accommodation, but you get it for a cheaper price than the main hotel and still get all the amenities. Plus it is much quieter and less crowded. Great for couples who want to relax.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank CConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Booked this through RCI, we walked in the apartment and straight back out again. Its an old apartment building that needs pulling down, even the monkeys prefer the trees to this building now. Out door pool very small, access to the beach is block by a fixed old pallet.

Room Tip: Stay at home!
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews