We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Paya Beach Resort, once in the life is more than enough!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paya Beach Resort, once in the life is more than enough!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

43 of us in a group plan to have a joyful family trip at Tioman, Paya Beach Resort last 2 week.
Disappointedly, we got a nightmare there.
1. Poor cleanliness for the chalet room and swimming pool
2. impolite staff treatment upon received feedback from us
3. Unhygienic food served and caused 80% of us experience diarrhea

To those who plan to go there, pls consider twice.
Else, u will definitely REGRET!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne_dianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PayaBeachResort, Owner at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
We value and appreciate your feedback. Kindly present your
feedback to our official feedback channel at customer.service@payabeach.com
and we will duly reply. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    174
    140
    58
    48
See reviews for
144
166
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I also disagree with Lee_TF & Danielle_S766. PLEASE, do not expect a five star treatment when you are only paying for a 3 star price. It was my first visit to this idyllic resort, during the Raya holidays and we came in, as a group of 16 adults and 3 kids on a 4 days 3 nights package, staying in the Standard Aman Damai Wing and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Paya Beach Resort. Only set back was the ferry in Mersing, although the departure time to Tioman is stated at 10.30am, but we have to wait for more than 2 hours, before they allowed us to board the ferry. On our arrival at the Paya Jetty, the porter was very helpful indeed, carrying all our luggage from the ferry to their 2 waited motor sidecar, and they even gave a lift for my grandmother who’s having difficulties to walk, although it’s just a distance of 200m to the resort.
Once reaching at the lobby, it was crowded with 100 over people checking in. It just took 10 minutes, for our turn, and the front desk staff was friendly and we had a smooth and fast check in. Room was quite basic and clean, and we love sitting in the verandah overlooking at the pond drinking and relaxing. The dinner buffet is nothing to shout about, but the grill at the Beach Club is superb. You have to try out their tom yam grill sting ray.
Before we went for our snorkeling trip, we hang out the room makeup sign. The snorkeling was great; we saw Sharks, Sting Ray and Turtle in Renggis. Rooms already had been service, when we are back. Lunch is also nothing to shout about. We try out ordering a lamb shanks, it was so delicious and the price is a steal at RM 27. No regret and satisfy.
Great time passes fast, and is time to say good bye and our ferry depart at 11.30am, and again we have to wait until 1pm before the ferry turn up. But thanks to the staff, who keeps calling the ferry operated and always keeps us inform.
I fully recommend this place to my friends and everyone to try out this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeEason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaka, Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Me and my family totally disagree with the last review Cause we were there in April we had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and they were very patient with us cause we had a 2 yr old kid with us, 2 senior citizen with us, we came as a big family of 12. And we wanted to go there again in June but was fully booked and now we are going there in September. As for the cleanliness I would rate them good cause I've been to many island resort and I will say that for the money you pay in paya beach it is worth the money, they look after us well when we when snorkeling. And they we also hired a boat to take us fishing the boat man was good. May be you guys got up at the wrong side of the bed and are cranky. Don't expect a five star treatment in a three star resort. As for us we think that the management and staff are very good and really know what they are doing. As for me and my family we had recommended paya resort to all our friends and relatives. To all we fully recommend this place to anyone who loves island resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonychin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I am definitely agreed with Danielle_S876. Room is in the mess when we first time entered the room. Blanket cover is unchanged (used by previous customer) and full of stain. We have requested to change the blanket cover twice but no respond at all. Food is dirty, flies every where and cause all of us get food poisoning and severe case diarrhea. The resident manager sprayed a lot of insecticide while we are having dinner! No hygienic at all. The worst is ferry delayed for 2 hours! Due to the ferry unpunctual, we missed the Mersing jetty docking time. Water tide is too low for ferry to dock. End up the ferry send us to Timur Jetty (near Rompin) and wasting us another 2hours to reach mersing. We checked out the room around 10am and only managed to return back to Mersing around 6pm. A 2hrs ride spend us 8hrs to get back to Mersing. It is really a disappointed trip. Please don't waste your money and time with Paya Resort. It is a very bad experience for us!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee_TF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PayaBeachResort, Owner at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We value and appreciate your feedback. Tripadvisor is not our official feedback channel. Feedback presented at Tripadvisor is not recognised because it is not authenticated nor verified. Kindly present your feedback to our official feedback channel at customer.service@payabeach.com if you have authenticated and useful feedback which will benefit other guests and bless us and we will duly reply. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pulau Tioman hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kluang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

bought a 3D2N snorkeling package to Paya Beach Resort, the package was RM440 per person inclusive of traveling (2 way transport from Larkin to Mersing, Mersing Jetty to Tioman), accommodation, meals and a snorkeling trip.

The ferry ride was bout 1.5 hours from Mersing Jetty, the waves could get quite choppy so be prepared with some medication if you're prone to motion sickness. Stayed in the Superior Chalet which was pretty cosy and nice, the location of the chalet was convenient as it was just by the beach.

Buffet meals are okay, not a huge spread and not superbly delicious but sufficient if you are not too fussy over food. The grilled seafood is quite pricy but it's fresh and very tasty! The two of us had skewed prawns (300g) and salted egg squid (100g) and that cost around RM70++... but we loved it!

Now the best part of the trip - snorkeling! It was our first snorkeling experience, and the guides are very friendly, encouraging and professional. They took good care of our safety, and taught us how to snorkel, showing us where to look out for corals and fishes. it was the snorkeling experience that made my trip wonderful!

I will definitely be back again for snorkeling - perhaps try out the discovery dive too!

ps: Tipping - tipping is generally not compulsory nor expected in Tioman. However they will appreciate your tipping if you find the services highly satisfactory. I did tipped my snorkeling guide - as a token of appreciation. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottesze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
7.2 km away
Japamala Resort - By Samadhi
Japamala Resort - By Samadhi
#1 of 18 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
7.6 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 18 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
5.9 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 18 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.7 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
8.2 km away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 18 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort

Property: Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Address: Kampong Paya | Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#4 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price range (per night): RM174 - RM312
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to one of the world’s oldest mangrove swamps and the Tropical Rain Forest, this Beach Front Resort also boasts having a spectacular House Coral reef. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is the perfect getaway on the Tioman Island, the infamous volcanic island covered in rainforest, white sands, turquoise water, and unforgettable experiences. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is ideal for visitors who seek to enjoy the nature’s gift, nestled in a secluded beach with rooms overlooking South China Sea. The wide range of facilities at the hotel includes spa, outdoor pool, beach bar, Grill, conference and meeting rooms, restaurant, and PADI Dive Centre. Moreover, fishing, Snorkeling and Ecological trekking tours of the Mangrove Swamp and the Rain Forest can be arranged at the Activities Centre. Restaurant and Grill is driven by a passionate Executive Chef with the team who create the works of gastronomic art in the only open kitchen in Tioman Island. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort invites all visitors to come and experience the unforgettable experience of picturesque view of the sea from our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Beach Hotel Pulau Tioman
Paya Beach Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing