We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minang Cove is beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Minang Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minang Cove Resort
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Minang Cove is beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We spent three nights at Minang Cove and loved it!. We were looked after by the staff right from the beginning. When we arrived at the ferry terminal in Mersing we made our way to the office to be greeted by Sue. Sue then took us down to the terminal and helped us organise the marine park pass and our tickets. This was good as there were lots of people and it helped avoid fuss.

The ferry trip was about an hour and it was quite rough. The drone of the engines nearly put us to sleep, but we arrived still in good spirits. We stopped off at the Genting jetty on Tioman, where we were met by a smaller boat to transfer us to Minang Cove. This trip was rough but fun. We felt safe in the hands of the driver.

On arrival to the resort we had our welcome drink and met Tony the owner and he provided us with some information about the place and activities. Next day to our surprise the weather remained rough. We were told this was out of character for the season and still managed to take a snorkel trip on another part of the island over the next few days. With the wind rolling the sea about and less opportunities for snorkeling on the reef just off the resort's jetty, all we could do is relax. The gardens and resort grounds are so pretty and the accommodation has an amazing view so this was not a difficult task.

We took a walk to a small waterfall, which had us walking past a local village. It was great to have a dip in the waterfall to cool down. My husband saw a turtle under the waterfall too. On the walk back we saw a monitor lizard taking a swim in the river.

After our walk we both had massages from the Thai ladies at the resort. My massage was excellent and I felt very respected and extremely relaxed.

Minang Cove was the highlight of our trip in Malaysia and we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    65
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
84
134
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We arrived on tioman island by flight in early august to be met at the airport personally by the lovely british girl sara. With a professional and friendly approach she accompanied us to the resort with some very useful information on the way.
When arriving at the resort we were taken aback, the surrounding mountains and jungle are beautiful. The beach is a little small, but nothing to complain about!
After a welcome drink we went to our room (no10), it was clean and had a great view.
The food is traditional and not too spicy for us westerners which was fantastic. And afternoon tea (at 4.30) is a great idea.
There is lots to do here apart from laze in the sun! We visited the friendly thai spa girls for relaxing spa treatments, the aromatherapy massage is the best! We also tried our hand at sub aqua diving with a very patient and very experienced diving instructor, Oli.
The very professional and multi tasking Sara not only seems to manage the whole resort but also had time to host a Bar Quiz one evening. It was a very enjoyable hour that brought together all the guests for fun and laughter! Brilliant, but we didnt win!
The management of the resort, unlike other reviews we have read, are very friendly and very professional. All our problems or questions were dealt with immediatley.
Next time we come to south east asia, minang cove will be top of our list!
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friesland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed there with 4 adults and 3 children. The scenery is beautiful, the children loved the beach. Because the beach is so small it is perfect for small children. The staff was great and the dinners were good. The breakfast is very simple. Just toast, jam and a little bit fruit. We would recommend this place for a few days but not for a longer stay.
We have reserverd the beach front villa and payed 1000 euro's for 3 days. In our invoice and confirmation was the beachfront villa confirmed, we were very dissappointed to be booked in a hill side villa. This villa is way up on the hill, small children can't walk there on their own. The owner did not know anything about this and was blaming his reservation office for this mistake. Not even a small excuses like a drink to apologize was made. The boat transfer costed us 25 euros per person one way for 30 minutes. This is just ridiculous. We were with 13 guests in this transfer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelott_blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

It is difficult to know how to review this place. It has clearly been a labour of love for the owner over many years. It was friendly and homely. We stayed in the Hillside Villa HSV for 2 nights.
The location of the resort is very nice. Unfortunately, when we were there the sea swell was strong for which the resort clearly isn't responsible.
Half board and afternoon tea were well done overall. Food was good home cooking, nothing fancy, but well cooked. Soapy plates apart, not much to complain about.
Setting is good, but the rooms badly need updating if the HSV is anything to go by.
It was a nice place to be, but probably also needed a pool as well because the beach is so small.
I found it to be a hospitable and pleasant place and reasonable value for money. In summary, it was completely fine, but didn't really wow us on any level, but if your expectations are modest then they probably will be met or surpassed taking into account that I don't think we saw it at its best.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulD-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at Minang Cove for 6 nights in July 2011. We stayed in a deluxe room with a sea view, which was clean and nicely furnished, however that's about the only good thing in the resort. The English management is unfriendly and unhelpful, we greatly missed the friendly Asian attitude, which can be found in numerous resorts all around Asia, the food was less than average, breakfasts were identical every single day, despite requesting it there was almost no fresh local fruit available, dinner mostly consisted of rice, half raw vegetables and fried (!) cold fish. Truly disappointing. The wine collection was also very poor. The prices in the resort were at a European level (for everything - food, drinks, spa treatments, trips). We went on a round the island snorkeling trip, which was led by the very bored owner of the resort, who was not very enthusiastic about sharing information about the island, fish, etc. with us. The funniest thing was the way he charged for the trip - the trip costed cca. 200 EUR, no matter how many people took part. In other words, if only two people went, then the trip cost 100 EUR per person, while if eight people went then it cost 25 EUR per person. Where is the logic in that?! If a bus is half empty, does the ticket cost twice as much??!! Overall it seemed as if the owner was only interested in making money, without giving much in return. The resort lacks "soul" and we were glad to leave - and finally have a decent meal!

Room Tip: We stayed in room no. 3 (deluxe), which had a great sea view and the amenities were also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonwango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
1.3 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
5.1 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
7.9 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
10.4 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.3 km away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#5 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minang Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minang Cove Resort

Property: Minang Cove Resort
Address: P.O. Box 74, Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#3 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price range (per night): RM401 - RM776
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minang Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minang Cove Resort & Spa, a tropical island paradise. Located in the south of the beautiful island of Tioman, a truly stunning location. Off our private beach you will enjoy the warm crystal clear waters, of the South China Sea. Where you can snorkel or scuba dive with the abundant marine life, living in and around our live reef. Including Turtles. Those who are looking for small friendly resort, surrounded by nature, with glimpses of local wild life and unspoilt rainforest. Look no further !! To access the resort, you can take a ferry from the Mersing ferry terminal. Then getting off at the 1st stop, at Genting Village. There our resort speedboat will transfer you to the resort. The second way is to fly, on Berjaya Air from Singapore or Kuala Lumpur. Again our speedboat will transfer you to the resort. One of the resort representatives will meet you on your arrival at the airport. ( For flight and ferry transfers you need to inform us in advance to arrange this transfer.)We have 18 rooms at the resort, which are perfectly clean, well maintained and all with incredible views. We serve authentic local food for evening dinner, changing its theme every night. Lunches are ala-carte and a mix of local and western.You will also enjoy a variety of cool beverages served at our restaurant and beach Bar. Watch the sunset with a tasty cocktail or have a glass of wine over dinner. Our room rates included half board, which is breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner.Some of the activities offered at the resort are, snorkelling, scuba diving, jungle tracking, fish feeding, fishing and island tours.The facilities which are available are, The Minang Spa, private jetty & beach, sun deck with loungers, sun shades, a library, fully equipped dive centre (with resident instructor) , laundry service and baby sitting. Room as well as beach towels provided.The overall atmosphere is very chilled and relaxed. Helpful, friendly staff providing an unforgettable experience, in your Island Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Minang Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minang Cove Hotel Pulau Tioman
Minang Cove Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing