We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day 4 Nights Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaventures Dive Rig
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It was my 2nd returned trip after last visit on June.
Room was ordinary container type room with air condition but comfy bed is enough for me to sleep & dives. Very friendly staffs & good dive master with skills & knowledge. Food is good & love their daily soup. Very relaxing place to stay with no mosquito, sand flies as we are in the middle of ocean. Highly recommended if you plan to do some diving there. Grab your equipment & immediately you can jump into the house reef with your buddy!

Room Tip: 4th floor is the quiet room but lots of stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deric_Chang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I did the four day, three night package and wish I'd have stayed longer. The rig as a concept is unique in itself and having all the dive gear right there on the rig made it very atmospheric when you're having dinner and a beer in the evening! I was lucky enough to go during a quiet week and had two days at Sipadan, both great with plenty of sharks, turtles, barracuda and jack fish to name a few. You also have the added bonus of unlimited house reef dives under the rig which gives you a chance to explore more macro stuff.
The staff are all nice and friendly and the food is really good, always a good selection - don't miss the nice cakes in the fridge! Bar prices are very reasonable, the room was always cleaned well. The sun deck is a great spot to chill and watch the sunset plus we had armed guards on the rig at night to ensure our safety. Overall a very special experience.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We just stayed here for 4 days and had a great time. Airport pickups at Tawau was great as was the boat transfer.

Awesome rocking up to the rig and taking the lift up, nice welcome from staff. Good orientation by energetic staff member (Brynne).

Food for the entire stay was excellent, good mix of western and eastern. Never was left wanting and even when out diving all was sorted.

Also big plus was the reasonable beer prices.

Now the rooms I have to say are a little average but they do the best with what they have, what we were expecting though. Would be nice I think to have a little upgrade in the bathrooms. Great aircon and comfortable bed.

Now for the diving. We had a great time. We dived for 3 of the days . Hired gear which costs as you expect, gear had no real issues. Dives sipidan for 2 of the days as the rig was not full. The boats, organisation and dive masters were all well done. Day trips to sipidan well planned.

All in all it cost a bit but definitely recommend.

Oh many people on reviews talked about the salty showers. Now it would be nice to have fresh water this isn't going to happen. I found it fine, I would wash my face with a small amount of drinking water which worked well.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dahenchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We booked 5 nights on the rig in order to get 2 days guaranteed at Sipidan. We were lucky to get 3 days and loved each and every one. Bumphead parrotfish too numerous to count, lots of reef sharks, turtles, the HUGE jack school, and large schools of smaller reef fish off the walls. What's not to love about that? We are divemasters and appreciated the quality of the divestaff on the rig who gave good briefings and looked for the special critters that we requested. Unfortunately we missed the barracuda tornado but that all the rest made up for that miss. We enjoyed the food on the rig and spent extra for the VIP room which we enjoyed with the very large rooms and big king size bed. Our last day we did the big jump off the rig and I'd say that took all the courage I could muster! Don't miss out on the house reef diving below the reef. Loads of macro, a couple big morays, lots of reef fish and other interesting things to keep you busy and you can dive your tank. The only downside is the 45 minute limitation on dive time. Not sure if that's a Seventures limitation or limitation set by Sipidan Marine park. Lastly, I believe it's the only place that will guarantee 1 day in Sipidan if you book 3 nights and 2 days if you book 5 nights. To me that is the best thing about the area. SIPIDAN!!! LOVE IT! <3

Room Tip: VIP Rooms for Space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LindaA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I did extensive research before visiting Seaventures. My only reason for visiting Semporna and Seaventures, was to visit Sipidan. While I enjoyed my stay, I wouldn't return, here's why:

Pre service: 5 star - although I recommend that the driver communicates a little more. There were times I doubted if I was with a staff member and where we were going.

Rig service: 5 star - all requests met, lovely staff

Dive instructor: Jona or Jonathan without a doubt made my trip. I did my AOWD and Nitrox with him, and am a better diver thanks to his expertise, dedication and the knowledge he happily imparted upon me. In many ways I would say this is enough, being safety conscious, I find sometimes the standard in SE Asia is lower, however Jona and Seaventures were fantastic in this regard.

Facilities: the rig is old in every sense and very rusty. However, the large communal eating facilities is great, as is the gaming/education room upstairs.

Accommodation: excellent beds and air con, nice size. Very mediocre bedroom, with the biggest let down being the very salty shower water due to not enough rain.
Room service: this was an option, based on which category you store your key in. I didn't have mine serviced but still asked for water bottles, and was provided with these. I was a single supplement sharing, so could have been teamed with another guest, however was given my own room. Thank you.

Food: mediocre for the price (more on this later), but by Malaysian standards and buffet standards, it was okay. Behind improving the rig, this would be my suggestion for the greatest improvement to really increase the overall satisfaction and stay. Saying that, drink, desserts and toast always available.

Diving equipment: I hired all, and felt it was sufficient, and clean.

Dive reefs: Sipidan was good, but not great. Although, that's nature, could have been the day, the perception, etc. Other than Sipidan, the diving is average. While suitable for all levels, if you have a large number of dives in awesome places, you'll find the dive sites a let down. While there were a few dozen turtles and sharks one day, the rest of the fish life was average and nothing overly exciting.

Diving: maybe the only thing I didn't like about the trip, beside the price, was the dive time limit. Most locations I dive at is a 60 mins, or 50 bar surface time. At Seaventures it is 45 mins, which is 25% less diving. If you are efficient on air like me, you will rarely come up with less than 100 bar. Plenty more dive time potential, but limited.

Price: someone is making profit here, that's for sure. The per day price of the rig accom package, not including the course, was more than my 4star liveaboard in the Maldives a few weeks earlier. Also, the diving sites weren't as great, making it even more expensive in many ways. The rig and the resorts, manage to capitalize of the fact that Sipidan only offer so many passes per day. This means that competition is steep, and this flows through, and effects accommodation.

Summary:
Pros - air conditioning, single supplement room at regular prices, accessibility to Sipadan, Jona (a dive master and a master diver - this is the dude you want teaching you anything and everything about diving).
Cons - food, dive time limit, and PRICE

Mid-range prices for budget accommodation. My trip was paid for by work, and I'm still not happy about the price paid. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. Would I return to Sipidan or Seaventures again, no!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ClareLiveLifeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
45.7 km away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
413 reviews
25.1 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
275 reviews
22.9 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
1.1 km away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#9 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
1.2 km away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaventures Dive Rig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Rig

Address: | off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaventures Dive Rig is a scuba diving platform located within Mabul Island, some 30 minutes boat ride to Sipadan Malaysia. Sipadan Island is known as the world's scuba diving mecca. This rustic dive resort package includes diving around Mabul island, Kapalai and Sipadan Island. All rooms are fully air conditioned, Wi-FI is available at free of charge and food are served buffet-style. The unlimited diving on the Rig's house-reef is popular as it is home to some diverse underwater life. Seaventures Dive Rig is a PADI 5-Star Dive Centre offering Scuba Diving courses for beginners to professional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Seaventures Dive Rig Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing