We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Diving, Excellent Guides and Unique Venue!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaventures Dive Rig

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaventures Dive Rig
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
“Great Diving, Excellent Guides and Unique Venue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

Seaventures Dive Rig offers a spectacular venue to explore the treasure of Sipdan and the surrounding dive sites. The dive guides are excellent, each has hundreds of dives in the area and provide great service. It was quite easy to book and their admin team was responsive to all of my questions as we were booking our trip. The rig itself is very functional, provides a unique experience. It really is made for divers without a lot of 'frills' (if you're looking for a 5 Star Boutique Hotel this is NOT your place)...perfect for us. The rooms were pretty basic and a bit 'worn' but sufficient. My only gripe was that the food was just 'ok'....the quality was mediocre and sometimes there wasn't enough --- especially when the 'snacks' were put out. But we weren't there to eat...the diving and staff didn't disappoint!

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank daren_beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Hi daren_beck,

Thank you. We appreciate your positive feedback about your stay and dive with us. We do take pride in ensuring our guests' needs are met the best way we can from the first inquiry up to their stay. Pleased to know you enjoyed the hospitality our team have provided to you.

In regards to the food, this is a surprise but we do understand we will not be able to meet and please everyone's taste bud. It is also a surprise in regards to food not being enough since we have our kitchen team always on standby by the buffet area to ensure there are enough food for everyone. If there isn't, guests are always welcome to let us know and we will promptly act on it. We will also check on guests that have not had their meals after a certain time during meal time. Hopefully this will not keep you away from us. We do hope to hear from you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    120
    24
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
125
92
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

First and foremost the dive crew/rig crew/ office crew are top notch. Edrice thanks for setting up my trip with no flaws and mitchel( dive master) Adam( dive master) for the dives in Sipadan and Mabul. I can't stress it enough but it's worth and every experience to stay and use seaventure for Sipadan diving. Was lucky enough to have two days at sipadan (6) dives. Baracudad point- amazing, hanging garden- beautiful, coral garden- superb.
Thanks guys and will definitely come.e back again

Room Tip: Room was clean, A/C and the food was delicious.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lefty f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Hi Lefty f,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating. Thank you also for letting us know our arrangement and your stay with us went as it should without a problem. We are sure our dive team enjoyed having you on the Rig as much as you have as you enjoyed your stay and diving with us to Sipadan. We look forward to hear from you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

i dived sipadan, mabul and kapalai with seaventures. despite less than great viz, all dives were amazingly fun because the divemasters never ran out of funky critters to point out to us! for micro-fans, this is your paradise - nudibranches, porcelain crabs, orang utan crabs etc. come see them for yourselves!
divemasters were all experienced and entertaining (mitchell's jokes are never stale with his beautiful deadpan face; suki's sass and spunk were also extremely loved). they also try to impart tips for being better divers! free diving lessons with friendly guided divemasters - doubt you could ask for more.
the rig itself is an intriguing place of accommodation with an inviting atmosphere and the most service-oriented staff, most of all - manager Ramesh. this man brought a grill and a live band onto the rig in the middle of the ocean!! *mindblown* apart from ensuring that all planned dives and meals and accommodations are comfortable for all guests, Ramesh goes above and beyond to cater to specific requests and needs. basically he's the one who makes your dream holiday in sipadan happen, so remember to go to him.
special kudos to him when one of our friends injured herself carelessly. Ramesh went the extra mile to rush our friend to the mainland where she could seek medical attention at the soonest possible time. this wasn't easy given that the rig is located in the middle of the deep blue and transport as we know is limited by weather and sea conditions. nonetheless, he put our needs above his conveniences and obligations - world-class service is the least i can say.
thank you Ramesh!!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elizabethanarwhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this review, 17 December 2016
Hi elizabethanarwhal,

Thank you for your kind words and for being so detailed on your review. It looks like you and your friends were well looked after by everyone on the Rig since you have mentioned the service staff, to the Divemasters and Rig Manager, Ramesh. This means a lot to us as it means you have enjoyed your stay and the diving experience with us.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in the nearest future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

We went there with a couple of friends for a 4 days 3 nights stay and dove 8 times altogether. The diving was great although the visibility was limited and I would jave expected more from sipadan but more than the diving experience, it is for the all ex oil rig/ service experience that I strongly recommend this place. From the moment we came in til we left, the staff was great and provided us with the best service. Same for our divemaster (Jo) who has been very helpful and professional throughout our stay. This is a unique place and I wouldnt go anywhere else should I go back to Sipadan. Kudos to you guys for running such a unique place. See you next time!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Boehringer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putrajaya, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

i did my owc there on mid nov for 4d3n and i came alone.
got 1 to 1 class with my awesome dm (miss ching), and i really enjoy it!
on my last day, got opportunity to dive at sipadan, and it was fantastic! (just finished my owc and the next day sipadan!)
will come next time!

pros:
- clean room, very nice staffs,
- wifi connection everywhere
- unlimitted food plus cake!!
- buffet was awesme!

cons:
- toilet a bit smelly, but still tolerable.

Stayed November 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank syukry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this review, 5 December 2016
Hi Syukry, congratulations on completing your diving course. Becoming a diver can be intimidating at first but the experience and fulfillment will last you a life time. We are pleased to know you enjoyed learning to dive with your instructor Ching and getting to Sipadan, a diver's dream dive destination. Great to know you enjoyed the cakes as much as we do too! :)

Thank you for highlighting the issue in regards to the bathroom. This is an issue that we are working on right now. Being a Rig has its advantage and disadvantages especially due to our location. Hopefully we are able to resolve the issue on your next visit. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
40.4 km away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
13.9 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
10.3 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
13.9 km away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
13.4 km away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaventures Dive Rig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Rig

Property: Seaventures Dive Rig
Address: | off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaventures Dive Rig is a scuba diving platform located within Mabul Island, some 30 minutes boat ride to Sipadan Malaysia. Sipadan Island is known as the world's scuba diving mecca. This rustic dive resort package includes diving around Mabul island, Kapalai and Sipadan Island. All rooms are fully air conditioned, Wi-FI is available at free of charge and food are served buffet-style. The unlimited diving on the Rig's house-reef is popular as it is home to some diverse underwater life. Seaventures Dive Rig is a PADI 5-Star Dive Centre offering Scuba Diving courses for beginners to professional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Seaventures Dive Rig Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing