We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time on the rig”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaventures Dive Rig
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We spent 3 days on the rig and had a really nice time. The dives were great and the location really is unique and has a special feel to it. There isn't much else to do on the rig besides diving but hey, that's why you're there for isn't it? We were very warmly welcomed by the staff and were shown to our rooms. The rooms itself could use a facelift, they don't have much charm but again, it's an oil rig.
The food is really good and they have lots of space to hang around and enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi Hamed A

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and dive experience with us. We appreciate it. Happy to know that you enjoyed the hospitality by the team and of course the diving experience. The Rig is as we have promoted it, is a former oil rig. Everything about it is still very much what it used to be, giving it a one of a kind experience for all. Good to know you enjoyed the food just like we do. There is plenty of space on the sundeck (previously a helipad) to enjoy the great afternoon weather in Mabul.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you in the nearest time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2017

What a great dive trip and the PERFECT place to stay! The diving at Sipadan is incredible. We stayed on the rig over Thanksgiving, so it was pretty quiet - which gave us more access to Sipadan than normal. Your permit for Sipadan lasts for 24 hours. You dive 3 dives in the morning, with an extra 2 dives in the afternoon for a small boat fee. They need a minimum of 4 people to do the extra dives but my boyfriend and I paid for the 2 spots that weren't used and ended up with 2 private dives at Sipadan. Well worth the cost. The food was really good. The diving operation is top notch. We sprung for a VIP room which was really nice but basic (You're on a rig, after all). One of the benefits of getting up at 5am to dive Sipidan were the incredible sunrises - rivaled only by the sunsets. The only thing I have to say, that - if you don't get to dive Sipadan - the diving around Mabul is not that good. The wreck was fun but the visibility at the other sights was pretty bad. Try to get as many days at Sipadan as you can. DEFINITELY stay at Seaventures-one of the best run dive operations I've ever encountered and so much fun staying in the middle of the water!

Room Tip: The VIP 1 room was great. We didn't get to see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Lisa C,

Wow. Where do we begin to thank you? Happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us from the stay, the crew and the operations, and of course, the diving. Mabul, Kapalai and the surrounding area is a great place to dive. During the period you were around, the weather condition unfortunately wasn't the best and it affected the visibility. We are sure you will enjoy diving in Mabul when the viz improves.

Thank you once again for your great review of us. Hopefully we will see you again when you are traveling to this side of the globe again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place with amazing people and amazig diving. Living on an oil rig whle going diving everyday adds another level to the experience that is Sipidan. The place has the warmest crew who just seem to ne everywhere all the time. The diving is amazing and the div area on the rig is well organised and easy to get around. The accommodation is not 5 star but who spends their holiday in their room. Comfy bed and efficient air-con included. The buffet was yummo with lots of local fare. There are lots of locals on the crew which i love as well. Keep an eye out for Capt Ranmesh (top bloke) Pete the Ops Mgr, Helmi the extreme DM and the rest of the wonderful bunch there. Enjoy

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jetfin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Jetfin J,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback about our hotel. As a former working oil rig, we do not promote ourselves as a luxury dive resort but as a "dive rig". We are glad you too enjoyed your experience living and scuba diving from the Rig as much as we do. We do take pride in making sure our guests are comfortable and their stay, memorable. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, do visit us.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

have a wonderful diving at sipandan and with Seaventures Dive. love the place ... will go back again when there is a chance thank to Ramesh and his team of dive crew and he had not only manage help me to recover my dive camera but also help to send it back. this is the kind of place you should go and enjoy their hospitality.

thank again ramesh

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyChoo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi AndyChoo85,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team's hospitality. I hope your next stay will be just around the corner. We look forward to diving with you again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Seaventures Dive Rig offers a spectacular venue to explore the treasure of Sipdan and the surrounding dive sites. The dive guides are excellent, each has hundreds of dives in the area and provide great service. It was quite easy to book and their admin team was responsive to all of my questions as we were booking our trip. The rig itself is very functional, provides a unique experience. It really is made for divers without a lot of 'frills' (if you're looking for a 5 Star Boutique Hotel this is NOT your place)...perfect for us. The rooms were pretty basic and a bit 'worn' but sufficient. My only gripe was that the food was just 'ok'....the quality was mediocre and sometimes there wasn't enough --- especially when the 'snacks' were put out. But we weren't there to eat...the diving and staff didn't disappoint!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daren_beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi daren_beck,

Thank you. We appreciate your positive feedback about your stay and dive with us. We do take pride in ensuring our guests' needs are met the best way we can from the first inquiry up to their stay. Pleased to know you enjoyed the hospitality our team have provided to you.

In regards to the food, this is a surprise but we do understand we will not be able to meet and please everyone's taste bud. It is also a surprise in regards to food not being enough since we have our kitchen team always on standby by the buffet area to ensure there are enough food for everyone. If there isn't, guests are always welcome to let us know and we will promptly act on it. We will also check on guests that have not had their meals after a certain time during meal time. Hopefully this will not keep you away from us. We do hope to hear from you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
45.7 km away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
413 reviews
25.1 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
275 reviews
22.9 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
1.1 km away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#9 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
1.2 km away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaventures Dive Rig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Rig

Address: | off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaventures Dive Rig is a scuba diving platform located within Mabul Island, some 30 minutes boat ride to Sipadan Malaysia. Sipadan Island is known as the world's scuba diving mecca. This rustic dive resort package includes diving around Mabul island, Kapalai and Sipadan Island. All rooms are fully air conditioned, Wi-FI is available at free of charge and food are served buffet-style. The unlimited diving on the Rig's house-reef is popular as it is home to some diverse underwater life. Seaventures Dive Rig is a PADI 5-Star Dive Centre offering Scuba Diving courses for beginners to professional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Seaventures Dive Rig Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing