We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend Seaventures Dive Rig!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaventures Dive Rig
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Seaventures Dive Rig is the all around best organization to dive with in the area. The options for diving are endless; the house reef is amazing and full of life and Seaventures also offers diving to the nearby islands of Sipadan, Mabul, and Kapalai, which all have unique and wonderful dive opportunities. Not only is the diving incredible, but the staff at Seaventures is very friendly and helpful; they are always available if you have any questions or concerns and they make you feel at home on the rig. With delicious food served on the rig and the opportunity to take daily trips to Mabul to explore the island, the rig is a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleymarmottin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hi ashleymarmottin,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Pleased to know you enjoyed your diving with us as much as we had a great time having you on board. We do our best to ensure all of our guests are looked after. Hopefully we will hear from you again in the nearest future.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2017

We loved our time on the rig. Even though dive conditions weren't great while we were there, we felt taken care of and part of a ragtag family. Our room was very comfortable, food was awesome and the staff went above and beyond. They even helped get me jungle shoes for our DVFC portion of the trip, when I didn't have time to get them on my own. We were a little apprehensive about missing out on "vacation vibes" by not staying in a beach bungalow, but now, I can't imagine being in this part of the world and not staying on the rig again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sashax415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Hi Sashax415,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and dive experience with us, we appreciate it. Happy to know that you were well taken care of by the team and sounds like you had a good time. Glad to know you think the food is awesome because we think so too :). We are sorry the change of weather affected the dive conditions, this is something we have no control of but hopefully on your next visit, you will enjoy what divers from all over, travel to this part of the world for. Great diving and fun time on the Rig.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We spent 3 days on the rig and had a really nice time. The dives were great and the location really is unique and has a special feel to it. There isn't much else to do on the rig besides diving but hey, that's why you're there for isn't it? We were very warmly welcomed by the staff and were shown to our rooms. The rooms itself could use a facelift, they don't have much charm but again, it's an oil rig.
The food is really good and they have lots of space to hang around and enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi Hamed A

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and dive experience with us. We appreciate it. Happy to know that you enjoyed the hospitality by the team and of course the diving experience. The Rig is as we have promoted it, is a former oil rig. Everything about it is still very much what it used to be, giving it a one of a kind experience for all. Good to know you enjoyed the food just like we do. There is plenty of space on the sundeck (previously a helipad) to enjoy the great afternoon weather in Mabul.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you in the nearest time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

What a great dive trip and the PERFECT place to stay! The diving at Sipadan is incredible. We stayed on the rig over Thanksgiving, so it was pretty quiet - which gave us more access to Sipadan than normal. Your permit for Sipadan lasts for 24 hours. You dive 3 dives in the morning, with an extra 2 dives in the afternoon for a small boat fee. They need a minimum of 4 people to do the extra dives but my boyfriend and I paid for the 2 spots that weren't used and ended up with 2 private dives at Sipadan. Well worth the cost. The food was really good. The diving operation is top notch. We sprung for a VIP room which was really nice but basic (You're on a rig, after all). One of the benefits of getting up at 5am to dive Sipidan were the incredible sunrises - rivaled only by the sunsets. The only thing I have to say, that - if you don't get to dive Sipadan - the diving around Mabul is not that good. The wreck was fun but the visibility at the other sights was pretty bad. Try to get as many days at Sipadan as you can. DEFINITELY stay at Seaventures-one of the best run dive operations I've ever encountered and so much fun staying in the middle of the water!

Room Tip: The VIP 1 room was great. We didn't get to see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Lisa C,

Wow. Where do we begin to thank you? Happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us from the stay, the crew and the operations, and of course, the diving. Mabul, Kapalai and the surrounding area is a great place to dive. During the period you were around, the weather condition unfortunately wasn't the best and it affected the visibility. We are sure you will enjoy diving in Mabul when the viz improves.

Thank you once again for your great review of us. Hopefully we will see you again when you are traveling to this side of the globe again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place with amazing people and amazig diving. Living on an oil rig whle going diving everyday adds another level to the experience that is Sipidan. The place has the warmest crew who just seem to ne everywhere all the time. The diving is amazing and the div area on the rig is well organised and easy to get around. The accommodation is not 5 star but who spends their holiday in their room. Comfy bed and efficient air-con included. The buffet was yummo with lots of local fare. There are lots of locals on the crew which i love as well. Keep an eye out for Capt Ranmesh (top bloke) Pete the Ops Mgr, Helmi the extreme DM and the rest of the wonderful bunch there. Enjoy

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jetfin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edrie J, Travel Consultant at Seaventures Dive Rig, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Jetfin J,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback about our hotel. As a former working oil rig, we do not promote ourselves as a luxury dive resort but as a "dive rig". We are glad you too enjoyed your experience living and scuba diving from the Rig as much as we do. We do take pride in making sure our guests are comfortable and their stay, memorable. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, do visit us.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
45.7 km away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
413 reviews
25.1 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
275 reviews
22.9 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
1.1 km away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#9 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
1.2 km away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaventures Dive Rig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Rig

Address: | off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaventures Dive Rig is a scuba diving platform located within Mabul Island, some 30 minutes boat ride to Sipadan Malaysia. Sipadan Island is known as the world's scuba diving mecca. This rustic dive resort package includes diving around Mabul island, Kapalai and Sipadan Island. All rooms are fully air conditioned, Wi-FI is available at free of charge and food are served buffet-style. The unlimited diving on the Rig's house-reef is popular as it is home to some diverse underwater life. Seaventures Dive Rig is a PADI 5-Star Dive Centre offering Scuba Diving courses for beginners to professional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Seaventures Dive Rig Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing