We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
67
71
37
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
71
37
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive shopon stiltsdive tripmarine lifemeal timesshallow reefchaletmalaysiaparadisegroupwaterresortislandseaboatsipadanjunior
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The bad part is that it took eight years for me to get back! This is truly a diver's destination with a variety of dive sites, each unique and special for different reasons. All of the staff are wonderfully friendly and eager to make your stay enjoyable. The food is good and plentiful, and the rooms very spacious and comfortable. I can't imagine anyone staying only 3 or 4 nights, but then it is a long trip from Texas. I and 3 others stayed for 9 nights and still wished we didn't have to leave! If you are looking for a lot of activity and night life other than diving, this is probably not the place for you, but if you love diving or even snorkeling and enjoying a peaceful vacation, I can't think of any place much better!

Room Tip: Close to the dive shop or lobby for avid divers who want a short walk and don't mind foot traffic passing by; further out the jetty is quieter, but a longer walk. It is a beautiful walk though, and I loved checking out the "critters" in the shallows along the way!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scubanana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is my 2nd trip there actually, the first i spent snorkeling and a Discover Scuba Diving (a bit expensive) course. This time i did my AOWD while 3 of my family members did their OWD and 2 (elder) members just did snorkeling. The AOWD and OWD was perfect. Although i believe more dives could have been scheduled in, wouldn't have minded paying a little more.

It was a 3 days 2 nights trip, booked with the same agent as the last trip. A tad pricey i believe, but i had a fuss free trip because of that so i don't really mind. The agent i booked with also became our OWD instructor. The instructors were patient and really good, the DMs were all very friendly even if there were some form of communication barriers. If you think nights at the bar/reception are too quiet, wait for the DMs to arrive and start playing their guitar and singing. It's awesome fun and really more fitting for such an environment than the usual music-in-the-background kind of bar.

Food were decent, generally don't expect superb food on travel, since taste buds differ, but don't over-expect and you won't be disappointed. Staff were friendly although generally quiet, doesn't say much beyond the Good mornings and Good evenings. However the chattiness of the DMs more than make up for it.

No words can justify the fun i had there, rooms/food/dive centre and the likes are just basic necessities, it's the people who make things better, for that i'll give them 5*s without hesitation.

Just to be on the safe side, get a good agent, ensure that your booking is confirmed, be patient and be nice and you'll be treated equally if not better.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms numbered S207 and below. it gets too far.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sapphire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Transfer from the Semporna Jetty was breezy , when the boat approaching the resort main entrance - which is on the seabed , the friendly staffs will be waiting and smiling upon arrival. Luggages will be taken care of - will be sent by the staffs .
Room is clean, energy efficient - only have fan - for standard rooms. Huge space, window and big sliding door and balcony, overlooking the shallow water with corals and marine life.
Shower was alright, - water pressure was adequate.
I stayed for 5d4n for a dive trip, dive center and the staffs are truly 5 star! Very well organized, you get a numbered locker and also dive center staffs will prepare the gears for every dive , unless specified.
Divemasters and instructors are amazing! Really enjoyed the diving there and I am returning again in March 2012. This resort is recommended :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

First of all, I totally agree with Khooweiwei’s review below.

Lucky us that we could book the deluxe chalet with air conditioner. That room was really fantastic with oriental style. No one could imagine that there was a sauna and stream at there. Anyway, its bathtub was so confuse to use with the remote control. The location of our room was a little bit far from the restaurant and the dive center but it was fine for disturbing by other noise when someone walked outside.

For all meals we had, just so and so...nothing special except BBQ night. If you stay there at least 4 nights, you will have one BBQ night for sure.

5 star for the dive center. We really enjoyed every moment at there. Moreover, lucky us again that we could enter Sipadan 2 days even we stayed there just 4 nights. All dive masters and boat divers were really friendly and fantastic. We impressed that everybody there always smile and warm welcome. If you want to meet Barracuda, please ask for a guy named Valentine. He is the best Barracuda finder!!!

We loved it and we'll back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kamarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I and my wife were there for 4 nights and we had a wonderful vacation. The room was awesome. It's was sea view and it was clean as well. The staff there were very friendly and polite. They went up to the extend to set us a romantic dinner in the room itself (IN OUR BALCONY)without any additional charge knowing that we just got married. This is the service that everyone is expecting as a customer. Thanks SWVR.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Exploracion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews