We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Sipadan Water Village”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sipadan Water Village Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I visited Sipadan Water Village with a large group of divers a couple of weeks ago.The lodging was nice and a relief after travelling so far to Malaysia. This part of the world has a unique approach to accomodations by building interconnected bungalows over shallow lagoons. Several resorts in the area are built this way. Everything is built over the water including the dive shop, boat docks, gift shop, and dining room. Make sure you hang onto your belongings walking to and from each area! The have a profusion of potted tropical plants all along these boardwalks, like bougainvillas, to enjoy. The staff worked hard to please, from greeting you as your boat taxi from Semporna arrived, to the resort staff fulfilling your needs, to the dive staff helping with your gear on/off the boats. A few of the bungalows even have a/c now, though it struggled somewhat as the bungalows weren't initially built airtight. Sandals are a must midday walking on the boards, and they even provide sun-brellas in each room to fend off the heat walking to and fro. And there is a lot of walking involved so a room closer to the dining/diving is to be considered! The food was varied and plentiful if sometimes "different", and if your boat got you back halfway thru lunch they could run out of some things. The dive shop had their assignment system down with many boats departing simultaneously yet smoothly. Everyone got to make the special trip to Sipadan island several times, as well as to another island that was just a bit further away. The macro diving close to the resort was splendid, tho the visibility could be challenging due to full moon, tides, etc. The dive masters went out of their way to take me out on three different evenings so I could finally snap pix of the elusive Mandarin fish doing their little dance. Priceless! They took into account your skill level and most pointed out many things to see, knowing where to find critters. All in all it was a great resort with great people and great diving.

Room Tip: Best sunrise view rooms are further out the board walk, tho there is a lovely lookout built along th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shawnabbtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

The bad part is that it took eight years for me to get back! This is truly a diver's destination with a variety of dive sites, each unique and special for different reasons. All of the staff are wonderfully friendly and eager to make your stay enjoyable. The food is good and plentiful, and the rooms very spacious and comfortable. I can't imagine anyone staying only 3 or 4 nights, but then it is a long trip from Texas. I and 3 others stayed for 9 nights and still wished we didn't have to leave! If you are looking for a lot of activity and night life other than diving, this is probably not the place for you, but if you love diving or even snorkeling and enjoying a peaceful vacation, I can't think of any place much better!

Room Tip: Close to the dive shop or lobby for avid divers who want a short walk and don't mind foot traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scubanana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is my 2nd trip there actually, the first i spent snorkeling and a Discover Scuba Diving (a bit expensive) course. This time i did my AOWD while 3 of my family members did their OWD and 2 (elder) members just did snorkeling. The AOWD and OWD was perfect. Although i believe more dives could have been scheduled in, wouldn't have minded paying a little more.

It was a 3 days 2 nights trip, booked with the same agent as the last trip. A tad pricey i believe, but i had a fuss free trip because of that so i don't really mind. The agent i booked with also became our OWD instructor. The instructors were patient and really good, the DMs were all very friendly even if there were some form of communication barriers. If you think nights at the bar/reception are too quiet, wait for the DMs to arrive and start playing their guitar and singing. It's awesome fun and really more fitting for such an environment than the usual music-in-the-background kind of bar.

Food were decent, generally don't expect superb food on travel, since taste buds differ, but don't over-expect and you won't be disappointed. Staff were friendly although generally quiet, doesn't say much beyond the Good mornings and Good evenings. However the chattiness of the DMs more than make up for it.

No words can justify the fun i had there, rooms/food/dive centre and the likes are just basic necessities, it's the people who make things better, for that i'll give them 5*s without hesitation.

Just to be on the safe side, get a good agent, ensure that your booking is confirmed, be patient and be nice and you'll be treated equally if not better.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms numbered S207 and below. it gets too far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sapphire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Transfer from the Semporna Jetty was breezy , when the boat approaching the resort main entrance - which is on the seabed , the friendly staffs will be waiting and smiling upon arrival. Luggages will be taken care of - will be sent by the staffs .
Room is clean, energy efficient - only have fan - for standard rooms. Huge space, window and big sliding door and balcony, overlooking the shallow water with corals and marine life.
Shower was alright, - water pressure was adequate.
I stayed for 5d4n for a dive trip, dive center and the staffs are truly 5 star! Very well organized, you get a numbered locker and also dive center staffs will prepare the gears for every dive , unless specified.
Divemasters and instructors are amazing! Really enjoyed the diving there and I am returning again in March 2012. This resort is recommended :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

First of all, I totally agree with Khooweiwei’s review below.

Lucky us that we could book the deluxe chalet with air conditioner. That room was really fantastic with oriental style. No one could imagine that there was a sauna and stream at there. Anyway, its bathtub was so confuse to use with the remote control. The location of our room was a little bit far from the restaurant and the dive center but it was fine for disturbing by other noise when someone walked outside.

For all meals we had, just so and so...nothing special except BBQ night. If you stay there at least 4 nights, you will have one BBQ night for sure.

5 star for the dive center. We really enjoyed every moment at there. Moreover, lucky us again that we could enter Sipadan 2 days even we stayed there just 4 nights. All dive masters and boat divers were really friendly and fantastic. We impressed that everybody there always smile and warm welcome. If you want to meet Barracuda, please ask for a guy named Valentine. He is the best Barracuda finder!!!

We loved it and we'll back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kamarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
46.2 km away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
414 reviews
0 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
76 reviews
25.7 km away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
25.9 km away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
0.6 km away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipadan Water Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipadan Water Village Resort

Address: Tawau, Pulau Sipadan 91031, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Price Range: RM1,509 - RM2,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sipadan Water Village is a resort built entirely over the water on stilts. In its design, Sipadan Water Village has achieved near utopia in its layout, splendid water cottage accommodations with flowered sidewalks, wonderfully prepared Asian and Continental cuisine, and impeccable and personable service! The dive program is comparable to none as everyone at Sipadan Water Village has an attitude and passion for what the sea has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sipadan Water Village Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Sipadan Water Village Pulau
Sipadan Water Village Resort Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing