We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Seaventures Dive Rig(Pulau Sipadan)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
67
71
37
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
71
37
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive shopon stiltsdive tripmarine lifemeal timesshallow reefchaletmalaysiaparadisegroupwaterresortislandseaboatsipadanjunior
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

At least once for a life of most of scuba diver wish to dive at Sipadan Malaysia. Once you plan to come to dive at Sipadan you have to looking for the place to stay, Sipadan Water Village (SWV) is the good dive resort to be considered. Accommodation here is tidy and quite with a limit of air condition room. The resort dive site is fantastic (Paradise 1&2), the staffs are warm welcome and friendly. We will be back again for sure :)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank jsaleesung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Sipadan Water Village (SWV) is one of the best resorts I have been to! We spent 4 days 3 nights there - basically to eat, sleep, snorkel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt very happy and relaxed staying there. Not to mention, mabul island is really amazing. I feel that I need to get my diving license and go diving at Sipadan island with SWV soon!!
One thing about all the resorts around mabul and Sipadan is that their tap water are all mixed with seawater so they are slightly salty, but not stinky. (I walked around the island to resorts to check on this) but don't worry! They offer free drinking water!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank heex2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

The food was "ho hum" but the feeling of being away from it all was very cool.

I loved the diving and even the snorkeling was amazing. The water is clear and the amount of fish and underwater life was massive.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1traveladdictblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

First let me say that any review should be taken in the context of where this resort is located. It is in the middle of nowhere. You go there because it is in the middle of nowhere. This makes maintenance and renovation very difficult. Everything has to be brought in by boat. That being said SWV could use a lot of renovation as evidenced by the condition of the bathrooms. Also the AC was very poor. However, after dark when it cooled down the AC was able to catch up so that we slept comfortably. The week we were there temps were in the hi 90s with humidity to match. Ceiling fans just moved warm air around. Get a room with AC. The rooms were big and comfortable. Another problem is that there are openings everywhere - ceilings, floors, under doors- another reason that the AC works poorly. The week we were there there was a drought. Reservoirs ran dry. Ergo- no fresh water. We had to shower in salt water. They gave us big,unlimited jugs of water to rinse with. That also meant no fresh water to rinse the dive equipment in.
Dive boats were small and very basic eg no water buckets for the cameras. But the dive masters were all very good. Everyone of them was terrific. And the diving amazing.
The rest of the resort was fine. No AC in public areas but they were airy and fans were running. Food was good and varied but certainly not gourmet.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Joel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

I will say the diving was great! The dive operation was very well run and the dive masters were friendly and knowledgeable. We enjoyed both Sipidan and the house reef. We would definitely highly recommend the diving! However, the resort itself, while once likely beautiful, was in sad disrepair and overall very disappointing. We had a group of around 20 people and most everyone experienced issues of some kind. The shower in our bathroom leaked the entire time so the bathroom floor was constantly wet and slippery. Lovely sound of the ocean, but the air conditioning sometimes worked and sometimes did not which made sleeping very difficult. The food quality was also not up to expectations. There was not enough variety in the offerings at lunch and dinner. We love trying local food and are certainly open to trying new dishes, but we often found ourselves struggling to find even one dish on the buffet that we wished to eat. French fries and baked beans for breakfast. Very disappointing after the wonderful food we had the first week of our trip. They did have good cookies! It was really too bad as it is a beautiful location and has great diving. We were so excited based on the photos and online video. They definitely need to invest some money and effort into refurbishing their operation or they are unlikely to continue to attract visitors who have choices as to where to spend their vacation dollars. Our previous week in the Maldives was head and shoulders above our experience here. We would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews