We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Teo Soon Kiat
Kota Kinabalu

Budget hotel

Review of Hotel City Star
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Nov 2016via mobile
Stayed here for my monthly business trip for about 9years. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Location is near sandakan city centre. The room is average. What you pay is what you get. You can find a indian restaurant(not 24hours) nearby the hotel
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 344
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from Hotel City Star
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 184
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Hotel City Star
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 71
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Hotel City Star
Free Wifi
Superior / Deluxe King
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 165
  • Trip.com
5.4 km from Hotel City Star
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 241
RM 169
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
4.5 km from Hotel City Star
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Twin
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 144
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Hotel City Star
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cafe
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 94
  • eDreams
7.7 km from Hotel City Star
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 193
RM 189
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
18.6 km from Hotel City Star
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 146
  • StayForLong
4.2 km from Hotel City Star
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 146
  • Trip.com
7.8 km from Hotel City Star
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Sandakan
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
1
4
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
4
5
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Reading other reviews about this hotel, this is my honest opinion. The issue at both rooms, which we changed at night is the choke of cigarettes smoke in both rooms. We requested via booking on the website a non smoking room which I don't smoke. Our first room, which was a king bed room, besides the smoke, the noise of a motor from next door building. Extremely loud which we requested to changed room. Only twin share bed was available. The smoke was there on a different level. No wifi in the room, only outside the room or at reception. The shower was only luke warm. Customer service was good and Location was great.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel is very good and the price also very cheap. Good place. I very recommended this place. Center of town and near to everything. Stay here is worthed! 😍😍😍 Everything in this hotel is clean and tidy. The staff also friendly. All is good for me.

Date of stay: May 2015
Thank hanafeealaydrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2014

We were only spending one night in Sandakan, and weren't looking for any fancy, so we didn't expect too much. We were hoping for a good night's sleep through, and that was hard to come by at this hotel. Walls had no sound baffling, and there the plumbing also transmitted a lot of sound... a toilet would flush three floors above and your would hear it all the way done.

The room wasn't exactly sparkling, but on the positive side the location was central, so if you aren't noise sensitive (or perhaps just willing to use earplugs), it might work for you as a budget hotel.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AgainOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Room a bit old..but still comfortable..toilet not clean and bit small..
Cold aircond. Kinda smelly when u enter the room on the 1st time but it gone for a while
Tv. ( tv 1,2,3..akasia channel, AXN and 1 chinese channel..tht all..
Wifi so..so..so only
Lif it will take u a week from grd floor to 4th floor..super slow
Friendly staff...
Worth it for rm80 pnight (through agoda)

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Addie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly. They were eager to help with everything which was great. The rooms were fine, spcious and clean. There are many rats in Sandakan and the road on which the hotel is located is no exception. With many rats seen late in the evening on by the entrance to the hotel. It was a quiet and peaceful hotel with good budget price and in a good location.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews