We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Agoda.com
US$28
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/21
US$28
US$27
View Deal
SAVE US$1
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
29
69
49
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
69
49
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view big mall plenty of hot water seafood market shopping mall comfy bed sheraton hotel included breakfast water front laundromat seafront supermarket stopover
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2020

THis hotel surprised me as a good nice hotel but at econ price . It is a no nonsense hotel in the water front heart of Sandakan , its next to the Sheraton Hotel and opposite to the famous shopping mall , and 2 minutes to the seafood market and many restaurants near by . There are many local eateries and grocery stores nearby . The room is colorful and clean and every little thing things work in the room . The breakfast area is nice with full sea view and the food is generous and free . I will definitely stay here next time I go to Sandarkan

Room tip: a room with sea view higher up
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sub C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy_LL, Front Office Manager at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear Sub C,

Thank you for your valuable feedback!

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time staying with us. Rest assured that your wonderful comments have been shared among our team as an avenue for further improvements, as well as to encourage ourselves to always do our best in order to deliver the best possible service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to S'kan Styles Hotel and the wonderful nature city of Sandakan town in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel (if not a 5 stars) for the price paid (25 USD) for. King with ocean view including breakfast (that’s where this place lost some points for me).

Clean,comfy bed and pretty large room with modern bathroom that had plenty of hot water and pressure. Very calm with a view of the bay with its many ships in the distance. Perfectly situated next to a big mall with supermarket, laundromat and a variety of relatively affordable Asian style restaurants with alcohol service on the seafront .

The included breakfast was served in a bland cafeteria style restaurant next door from the hotel. Mostly Asian style food offered served rather cold by uninterested staff. Sad really since the staff at the hotel is great and helpful.

Was perfect for the 2 days we spent in Sandakan to explore the area. Very good choice for our needs. Close to minibus station to get to Sepilok.

Note than the worn-out carpets in the corridors are not an indication of the cleanliness of the rooms.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank SavageE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy_LL, Front Office Manager at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear SavageE,

Thank you for staying with us, and appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hotel. It always our deep honour to have your strong support to the Hotel at all time.

We are very glad to know that the products, services and facilities provided were up to your expectations, and most importantly that you happy staying with us. It feels great that our team member gave you such a good impression in your overall experience.

We are delighted to hear it and this is the greatest reward for the entire team. We will share your kind words with the entire team and it will be a great motivation to them continuously deliver an outstanding service to everyone.

The hotel's whereas strategically located at the city centered definitely bring convenience to all our guests, especially it is less than one minutes to the mall and local central market within walking distance. The management already started the cleaning carpet project so the corridors will looks nicely and clean in the future time.

We wish to see you again soon and Sandakan always welcome you!

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2019

There was a bit of problem at first but it was settled on the spot. We booked our rooms in the middle of September but Booking.com cancelled it and both sides weren't informed about that. When we reached here, the staffs greeted us and explained the situation. So, we paid for another room (facing city view) & we truly enjoyed our stay here. The noise from the outside was not that loud, compared to the rooms that facing the sea view (source: hearing from other people's comment) due to some people hanging out down there at late night. As for our rooms: comfy beds, good & sufficient amenities, less noise. Regarding the breakfast, it was a contented and free meal but have time limit. Do ask questions if you're not familiar around the area because they're very helpful. Might come here again if planning to come to Sandakan in future.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank auroraab9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy_LL, Front Office Manager at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear Auroraab9275,

Sincerely thanks for the great compliment during your stayed at S'kan Styles Hotel. We are still in the midst to improve the quality of service to offer to all valued guest daily. Your messages will definitely motivate the staffs to put more efforts for extra miles.

We hope to see you again and visit us soon!

Best Regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019

On the photos hotel looks really good, before it belonged to Accor so expected much more to what I actually seen.
There is no terrace available, but still advertised as there is and photos are provided. Very dirty, carpet have stains all over, it definitely needs refurbishment and proper scrub/clean. Bathroom was dirty I even asked at reception to clean it again, nothing has been done apart from bringing new paper roll. Staff is slow and without any life. They just there and that’s it, like for punishment.
I gave 2stars for breakfast as it had some choice like cereals, eggs, fruit, cakes and local food. Also guy at reception who checked us in was friendly and smiley to compare to other very miserable faces.
I really can’t believe this hotel has such good reviews.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gabriela_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy_LL, Front Office Manager at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear Gabriela,

Thank you very much for your time to share your comment. I understood your disappointment of our facilities and situation that has happened. The management is trying the best to implement minor touch up or maintenance project to improve the condition.

We will use your comments as part of stepping forward to get improvements, and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Again, with ours sincere apologize on your bad experience. We may keep enhancing all staffs standard software skill such as standard of the cleaning process and the efficiency of problem solving. Last but not least, we hope that you willing to give another chances to witness ours improvement upon your next day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night before we left Sandakan.

The room was fine in terms of size and cleanliness. The shower didn’t work properly and everything was a little bit worn out.

Overall we had no real complaints but wouldn’t rush back. It was convenient and good value for money considering how little time we spent there.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank downie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy_LL, Front Office Manager at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

Dear downie1990,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us, and it was my pleasure to be of service. Your kind words have been shared with the team, to further motivate them in our mission to continuously do our best in order to deliver the best possible service.

The management had discussed with maintenance and housekeeping respectively on how to avoid or minimize the shower problem. We promised that we trying best to treat every guest feedback as lesson of the day to enhance staff working skill.

Wish you have a good day ahead and see you again.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews