We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$222
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$222
TravelocityUS$222
Orbitz.comUS$222
CheapTicketsUS$222
TripadvisorUS$222
Snaptravel
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
232
143
48
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
232
143
48
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night walk pygmy elephants the river rubber boots air con borneo dream private chalet meal times highly recommend this trip great jungle experience spot wildlife silver leaf monkeys long tail creepy crawlies all sorts tour company palm oil
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2020

We had an excellent stay at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan for 3N/4D. The price was very reasonable, the transportation is very well organized, the rooms were basic but good, the food was very nice, the staff was very friendly and helpful and most importantly - the wild life was amazing! We saw wild orangutan, lots of Proboscis monkeys, pig tail monkeys, long tail monkeys, red and silver leaf monkeys, amazing birds and the most bizarre insects.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen1jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2020

There's many tour operators for the Kinabatangan River and many lodges to stay at. Ultimately we chose the Nature Lodge Kinabatangan and their 3D/2N tour because it was an ok mid range price, and also because it offered more cruises and walks than anyone else we found.

We were really happy with our decision in the end.

The tour started with pickup from our hostel in Sandakan and then off to the orangutan and sun bear rehabilitation centres in Sepilok. We were a bit disappointed with the orangutan centre as it's just like being in a zoo. The sun bear centre was a bit more interesting as we hadn't seen those animals before. Lunch followed at a nearby restaurant and then there was a two-hour minibus journey to the river and a short boat trip to the other side.

The staff at the resort were fabulous. Really friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was so much more than what we expected. Nice chalets with comfortable beds. Plenty of space, a large bathroom with good water pressure and hot water. A bench to sit on outside. Tea and coffee in the room and even plugs with USB points to charge our devices!

Our guide and boat captain for the river tours were fantastic. Pointing out so many animals and answering all of our questions. After two cruises we saw an elephant, probiscus and many other monkeys, crocodiles, a monitor lizard, birds and more. The only one we missed was a wild orangutan. Animal sightings aren't guaranteed of course.

On our evening walk we saw multiple animals, much more than just spiders and insects and more than we expected.

Sadly, our tour was cut short because of the coronavirus lockdown, so we couldn't do any more activities. But the staff were really accommodating. Allowing us to stay for the full length of time we had booked and kept serving meals. It was a shame, but we'd already seen lots of animals so were happy with that.

Travelled in late March and the weather was really good.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank armrestdominance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

Highly recommend staying here, staff are friendly and helpful. The price is very reasonable for what is included. The guides are knowledgable... food is great!! Accomodation is nice and clean (basic but that adds to the charm)

Highly recommend

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 420michellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Thank you for your feed back.

We will keep trying to ensure that our visitors see value in staying with us.

Do have a safe onward travel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2020

We stayed here as part of the 3D/2N package with our family. We loved the river cruises and the jungle walks (both day and night). Our guide was really friendly and knowledgeable. The chalets were clean and practical. The food was good and the setting was beautiful. During our stay we saw orangutans, crocodiles, an elephant, lots of proboscis monkeys and macaques. A great experience. We loved our stay here and I would highly recommend the trip and resort.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chimptrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Thank you very much for your positive feed back.

Do help us to pass the words around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2020

We went in October and to be perfectly honest thought it could have been done in one day and night as it was repetitive. Sadly although a 'free transfer' was advertised, due to our flight being early it cost us £72 to get to the airport!

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

Thank you for your reply Mary.

With wildlife watching, you can repeat the same boat ride 100 times and the experiences will be different.

The free transfer is scheduled. If visitors want unscheduled transfer, they can usually arrange for it at a cost. Many town hotels provide free transfer to malls or transportation destination at schedule timing. And if their guests want the service at different timing, they just have to pay for it.

Do have a safe onward travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews