We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
324
32
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
324
32
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kinabatangan river proboscis monkeys perfect hosts stairway to heaven worth every step highlight of our trip pancakes your luggage wonderful memories bucket list an unforgettable experience beautiful rainforest his knowledge jason animals trips malaysia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2022 via mobile

Look no further. This is a wonderful place to stay. Jason, Gert and the team looked after us so well and ensured we had a great experience. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The environment is so peaceful after living in KL. Food is plentiful, freshly cooked and very tasty. Rodel was an excellent guide and shared his knowledge of nature, animals and birds with us. We were so lucky to see elephants. This is not guaranteed. I miss The Last Frontier and the conversations we shared.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mapipem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 August 2022

From booking until being dropped off back to Sandakan Jason and Gert were the perfect hosts! The booking process was very easy and we requested a pick up from Sandakan. Jason picked us up and was a mine of information on tourism in Sabah and Malaysia on the whole, he gave us some great tips for the rest of our time in Sabah.
The lodge is fabulous in terms of location and facilities. The food was absolutely delicious, we loved it all but my daughters particularly loved the personalised breakfast pancakes!
The resort guides were also amazing, we saw many types of birds and monkeys, and a wild orangutan mother with baby and child!!
The stay here was the highlight of our trip, no question!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 August 2022 via mobile

Jason, Gert and the team really have created the ultimate Borneo rainforest experience. The setting is stunning: the lodge is perched amongst the canopy of the beautiful rainforest, with the incredible sights and sounds all around you. Our kids loved exploring and the 500+ steps were no problem, just part of the adventure. Even my 70 year old mother managed the steps, thanks to the help and support of Jason. The boat trips and hike were fantastic, so many proboscis monkeys, kingfishers and butterflies of every colour. The food is a real highlight, every meal was so tasty and our kids ate everything on their plate. The rooms are also lovely; it's an amazing achievement what Gert and Jason have built there. We are full of gratitude to them both and all the Last Frontier team for the way they looked after both our kids and my elderly parents during our stay with them. Terima Kasih!

Room tip: Decent walking trainers/boots and a light waterproof are worth having. Torch and mozzy spray, too. Oh and don't complain about the steps, it's part of the experience!
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 August 2022 via mobile

We went as a family, 4 of us . From the moment we met Gert at our pick up point at The English Tea House, we knew we were in for a good time. Mr Gert was punctual, friendly and gave us a brief outline of what was to be expected when we arrived at the boutique resort. Our stay there with our 20+ year old kids was truly amazing . Jason, Gerts business partner, a trained chef , made all the meals. The menu is set and delicious. We wished we had asked for more pancakes. Rodel their in house guide tooks us on all our river cruises and jungle tracking. He was obliging, knowledgeable and friendly. All in all, to summarise, once you get there , you need not worry about anything. It's all done at a very warm and personal level. We can't thank ALL of them enough for their warm hospitality. We will never forget this trip and shall return .

Room tip: Must haves on the trip 1. Binoculars 2. Rain poncho 3. Rubber shoes ( Adidas Kampong) or slippers . 4. Torch light 5. Mosquito repellant 6. Pack a small bag, travel light.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RSRANU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 July 2022 via mobile

Our stay in The Last Frontier Resort was a perfect introduction into Sabah's wildlife. In the resort, I felt both adventurous and safe, which is of great importance when traveling with kids. Thank you so much for everything, Gert, Jason and entire team, thanks to you our vacation was full of amazing experiences and wonderful memories! Seeing orangutans in the wild was one of them.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Neeehaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews