We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Thessa H

Must go when in Borneo!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Oct 2022via mobile
This place is amazing! We had such a nice stay at the resort. The place with jungle and river view, the super nice room (with hot!!! shower), the amazing staff, the food —> Everything is perfect. It really made us feel zo zen and relaxed whilst enjoying Sabah’s nature. We would say it’s a must go when in Borneo.
We are a couple, but we could also imagine it is a very cool place for nature/adventure loving kids.

Dear Gert, Jason and team - thanks for the lovely stay and making us feel at home far away from home. Wish you all the best!
Date of stay: October 2022
Room Tip: You help Gert, Jason and team the most by booking directly via their website. Whatsapp contact...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 353
  • Vio.com
40.2 km from The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 193
  • Hotels.com
39.0 km from The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Superior Twin
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 122
  • Priceline
39.2 km from The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 151
  • Booking.com
49.8 km from The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Free parking
Pool
Superior / Deluxe King
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 150
  • Lol.travel
42.5 km from The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cafe
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 128
  • Booking.com
44.2 km from The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 122
  • Lol.travel
42.3 km from The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 231
  • Priceline
42.2 km from The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 112
  • Lol.travel
44.4 km from The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 104
  • Agoda.com
56.1 km from The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Sandakan
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
349
32
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
349
32
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kinabatangan river pygmy elephants fantastic hosts caramel sauce stairway to heaven worth every step pancakes dietary requirements highlight of our trip your luggage wonderful memories bucket list an unforgettable experience beautiful rainforest his knowledge rooms are basic once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2022

My partner and I loved our stay at the Last Frontier. Jason and the team were so welcoming and helpful.

We found the room, bathroom and bed really comfortable. The location at the top of the stairs provides awesome views, and you are surrounded by rainforest, so you get to hear the sounds of it all the time. The real highlight for us though was the food, Jason is a chef and he does not disappoint, he made us the best meals we have had in Borneo, so thank you Jason for that.

There is a reason this place has such great reviews, if you are looking to visit the Kinabatangan River we highly recommend you stay here!

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AussieWillM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2022 via mobile

Look no further. This is a wonderful place to stay. Jason, Gert and the team looked after us so well and ensured we had a great experience. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The environment is so peaceful after living in KL. Food is plentiful, freshly cooked and very tasty. Rodel was an excellent guide and shared his knowledge of nature, animals and birds with us. We were so lucky to see elephants. This is not guaranteed. I miss The Last Frontier and the conversations we shared.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mapipem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2022

From booking until being dropped off back to Sandakan Jason and Gert were the perfect hosts! The booking process was very easy and we requested a pick up from Sandakan. Jason picked us up and was a mine of information on tourism in Sabah and Malaysia on the whole, he gave us some great tips for the rest of our time in Sabah.
The lodge is fabulous in terms of location and facilities. The food was absolutely delicious, we loved it all but my daughters particularly loved the personalised breakfast pancakes!
The resort guides were also amazing, we saw many types of birds and monkeys, and a wild orangutan mother with baby and child!!
The stay here was the highlight of our trip, no question!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2022 via mobile

Jason, Gert and the team really have created the ultimate Borneo rainforest experience. The setting is stunning: the lodge is perched amongst the canopy of the beautiful rainforest, with the incredible sights and sounds all around you. Our kids loved exploring and the 500+ steps were no problem, just part of the adventure. Even my 70 year old mother managed the steps, thanks to the help and support of Jason. The boat trips and hike were fantastic, so many proboscis monkeys, kingfishers and butterflies of every colour. The food is a real highlight, every meal was so tasty and our kids ate everything on their plate. The rooms are also lovely; it's an amazing achievement what Gert and Jason have built there. We are full of gratitude to them both and all the Last Frontier team for the way they looked after both our kids and my elderly parents during our stay with them. Terima Kasih!

Room tip: Decent walking trainers/boots and a light waterproof are worth having. Torch and mozzy spray, too. Oh and don't complain about the steps, it's part of the experience!
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2022 via mobile

We went as a family, 4 of us . From the moment we met Gert at our pick up point at The English Tea House, we knew we were in for a good time. Mr Gert was punctual, friendly and gave us a brief outline of what was to be expected when we arrived at the boutique resort. Our stay there with our 20+ year old kids was truly amazing . Jason, Gerts business partner, a trained chef , made all the meals. The menu is set and delicious. We wished we had asked for more pancakes. Rodel their in house guide tooks us on all our river cruises and jungle tracking. He was obliging, knowledgeable and friendly. All in all, to summarise, once you get there , you need not worry about anything. It's all done at a very warm and personal level. We can't thank ALL of them enough for their warm hospitality. We will never forget this trip and shall return .

Room tip: Must haves on the trip 1. Binoculars 2. Rain poncho 3. Rubber shoes ( Adidas Kampong) or slippers . 4. Torch light 5. Mosquito repellant 6. Pack a small bag, travel light.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RSRANU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews