We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
93
59
20
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
93
59
20
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leech socks night walk pygmy elephants the river sleeping birds wildlife including heavy rain comfortable accommodation day tour his knowledge gomantong caves wild boar insects walks guide civet jungle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2019

Set on the banks of the Kinabatangan River surrounded by the rainforest, we had an excellent 2 night stay at the Lodge and wished we'd stayed longer. The restaurant and sundeck overlook the river and are great places to sit and relax. We were fortunate enough to stay in brand new accommodation which was outstanding. Our 3 river cruises yielded plenty of wildlife including a wild orangutan, and we were rewarded with a rare glimse of a clouded leopard in 1 of our 2 night walks. The staff were excellent and the food was really good. Mosquitos are numerous so keep applying insect repellant.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Erkimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2019

Very excited about this visit, but as we arrived by boat the guide remarked that the rain had caused the river to break its banks. What had been land was covered in water. The walk ways were hazardous as they were wet and slimy and I fell on one occasion and cracked my knee. Others in our group also slipped. One boat trip ended with a torrential downpour and we were all wet to the bone.Most of our night walks were cancelled due to the heavy rain fall and the one walk we did in the ‘jungle’ was a wasted of time. We saw nothing and just walked in mud and bitten by mosquitoes. I would avoid going here in the monsoon season.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank cassandraBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2019

What a great place for wildlife lovers. Comfortable accommodation, friendly staff and great experiences everyday. Right in the middle of the jungle.
We were lucky enough to see the pygmy elephants on several occasions along with a plethora of other wonderful animals.

Date of stay: February 2019
1  Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2019

Full day tour from Sandakan which we booked through the delightful Myra at the Sheraton Sandakan. Our tour leader Paul was excellent. His knowledge and enthusiasm was a credit to him and his guidance through the cave was brilliant. Captain Sam on the river was diligent in finding wildlife for us to photograph and went beyond our expectations.
Would highly recommend this day tour to anyone wishing to see native animals in the wild and have the amazing cave experience.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shazza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed two nights we had no electricity for 36 hours not resort’s fault but it did make it very hot in the rooms. The food was great considering no power. We were washed out on both river cruises in the afternoon but still got to see crocs, monkeys, hornbills. We were very lucky to have a flying lemur visit the resort with her baby. Also a group of macaques visited the resort. Please watch the railings as due to termites could and do give way if lent against.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank katrinar871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews