We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
RM 1,487
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
RM 769
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
131
85
25
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
131
85
25
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pygmy elephants the river boat driver chalet type accommodation air con nature lodge night cruise large herd insect repellent slow loris rooms are basic stayed two nights wildlife including walter tours boats borneo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2023

Borneo Nature Lodge is a 2 star accommodation on the Kinabatangan River in Sandakan. The lodge is indeed very charming, and graced with a most delightful and helpful staff. The river safari is a wonderful experience transporting the traveller into a world of Pygmy Elephants, Orang Utans, Proboscis Monkeys, Hornbills, and Water Monitor Lizards. The local guides are extremely knowledgeable and will seek and wait and listen patiently until they hear an interesting sound that may be investigated. Do not expect many creature comforts here; this is a Rainforest. And although laudably Eco-friendly, I feel a hotel should also consider its guests....The accommodation was spartan verging on primitive, and the bathroom was dingy with a broken tap. You need no carbon footprint to fix a tap, or to clean the windows. My advice to travellers is to do your research into the lodges in Borneo before you travel. Then enjoy the wonderful experience that is Borneo.

Room tip: Do your research
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank turas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2023 via mobile

Comfy chalet-type accommodation nestled in lush nature, right by the river. Delicious foods served at every meal (plus an additional light breakfast of toast and tea/coffee prior to morning cruises so you don’t get tempted by the local birds). Very knowledgable and skilled tour guide plus boatman (heard multiple boatman from other companies say if he doesn’t go a route then they wouldn’t either). We sighted numerous wildlife including a slow loris and multiple crocodiles. Staying here was a fantastic adventure!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank VeryTheJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2023 via mobile

Great place to stay with chalet type accommodation we had a herd of 30 odd pigmy elephants come though our lodge so lovely to see them so close up. Meals where very good even made us a birthday cake staff friendly and boat tours amazing looking for the wildlife on the river.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank coralm836
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2023

Wow, what a place. Beautiful. From the moment we stepped off the boat we were greeted by the manager who explained about the lodge and what there is to do. The rooms were very comfortable. We were awaken most mornings by monkey's playing around in the nearby trees and we even had the pleasure of sighting a wild orangutan 20 metres from our room. Management and staff went out of there to assist with any needs. Our tours on the river were exciting, seeing crocodile, many different types of monkeys and bird life

Room tip: Take insect repellent and if you drink bring your own alcohol as this is very expensive
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2023 via mobile

Magnificent experience. To be able to stay in a exceptionally clean accommodation but be in the jungle. The rooms are basic. No fridge or tv. But who needs that when you are surrounded by nature. Great variety of local and western food for breakfast. The thrill to be able to have macaque monkeys and orangutans visit you is an incredible feeling. To be able to ride down the river to see birds large and small. Monkeys and crocodiles and pigmy elephants all by the exceptionally experienced captains and their boats. Second time customer. It’s a must for the wildlife lover with a little luxury.

Room tip: Make sure you pack sunscreen, insect repellent and your raincoat.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews