We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$38
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$38
View Deal
Free cancellation until 18/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$67
US$27
View Deal
SAVE US$40
Free cancellation until 19/03/21
Trip.comUS$37
TravelocityUS$38
StayForLongUS$67
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
138
277
221
103
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
277
221
103
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana cafe sun bears rainforest discovery centre orang utan centre minute walk deluxe room nice pool food was average sun bear centre bit dated swimming pool is air conditioned couple of nights turtle island the river proboscis monkeys jungle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2020 via mobile

This is a lovely location overlooking the water, nicely decorated with plants hanging down.

Food: we had fish and chip sandwich which was really tasty, fish was nice and light, bread slightly sweet like brioche.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank andrewspiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 March 2020

Dear andrewspiers,

Thank you for having lunch with us.

Your wonderful comments will encourage us to work harder for our guests.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

How this place can call itself a resort is beyond me. It is a backpackers inn with a swimming pool. SJR is located along an unlit side road about 100m from the main road. There is no security gate or guard so anyone can walk straight into the place unquestioned. We arrived at 1730 just as the reception was closing. After going through the info on breakfast / location of restaurant etc the parting message was to not leave any valuables in the room at all, a bit disconcerting. We had a deluxe room with balcony in an adjoining annex, a single storey wooden dormitory style building with access each end. We parked nearby and proceded to unpack our car. To our horror neither of the entrance doors are locked, or even have locks, so are accessable to anyone 24/7. At night, the whole area around the annex is unlit and is an easy target for burglers. ( hence the statement about valuables).
Found our room, door didn't fit properly and had large gaps top and bottom and rattled in the frame. A slight shoulder push and the door would open. On entering, our fears were confirmed, the place is a dump. We were not expecting the Ritz, but this place was unacceptable. I trudged back to reception but there was nobody to contact, so, as there was little chance of alternative accommodation we decided to grin and bear it for the night. Didn't bother to unpack, decided on an early supper before doing an online search for an alternative hotel.
The whole "resort" consists of single storey wooden buildings and are spread out around a lake. They are connected via a wooden boardwalk approx 120m long which terminates at the restaurant. It was now dark and although it is illuminated, only one light was working so we walked along the boardwalk by moonlight, occassionaly tripping on uneven floorboards. The only light being a strapped up flourescent tube (pic). Had food which was ok but limited and returned to our hovel to look for alternative digs, which we found in Sandakan.
Had a restless night as bed and pillows were uncomfortable. My wife removed her pillowcase and was horrified at the state of the pillow which was foam rubber and filthy.(pic). Returned to restaurant for breakfast, and in the daylight it was shocking to see how dangerous this place actually is. Numerous broken electrical sockets / switches held together with electical tape and wires hanging out of light fittings (reason why they were not working - pics). All this on a wooden structure.
My alarm bells are ringing loud now, and saw that there are no fire extinguishers anywhere , I didn't see one at all. In our room, a lamp which was plugged in, was wired by single cores, highly dangerous, and the switch held together with selotape (pic). Bags packed, I marched back to reception and gave notice of our early departure and demanded my money returned, which it was once I produced the damning photos.
This place is really awful, the standard of accommadation poor but worse of all is the safety issues. Why any reviewer can give this place more than one star is beyond me and you have to question on whether the review is genuine or not. My review is backed up with photos.

Room tip: Stay somewhere safe
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daneli09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 March 2020

Dear Daneli09

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

In the balcony room, there are 4 fire extinguisher being placed and it is being service every year. I am surprise that you are not able to see it.

The one storey building is because we are not having any sprinkler system and one storey allows our guest to escape in case of fire and if we to close both exit, how would the guest escape the building during fire emergency.

Thank you for selectively posting unsafe picture and being the safety inspector. Although nothing had ever happened, you still demand a refund after staying a night.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

I stayed here for 2 nights for my visit to Sepilok.
I drove here (alone) from Kota Kinabalu & arrived very late afternoon.
I really wasn't very impressed.
It was just starting to get dark as I arrived.
Signs as to where I should go/park etc were somewhat lacking.
There were 2 different entrances & seemed to be 2 different places to check in.
I discovered later that if you arrive after 5 pm, you have to check in at the restaurant reception.
After driving forwards & back to the 2 different parking areas, I then walked up to the restaurant reception area & managed to check in.
The check in girl was 'less than helpful' as to exactly where my room was located. She just gave me a very confusing map & marked my room on it.
I headed back to my car & drove round (again) to the other entrance & wandered around in the dark for about 10 minutes. Luckily, some other guests were able to help direct me to where my room was.
The place is very spread out & signs are pretty poor.
The grounds are very pretty with little walkways everywhere.
There is a swimming pool but it is closed at approx 5 pm each day (not helpful!).
The whole place seemed very run down & a bit shabby.
My room was adequate but nothing special.
It was clean & the bathroom was clean.
There was air con in the room & luckily, it didn't need a key fob to operate it. It didn't work particularly well & I had to leave it on day & night for the 2 days that I was there. It just about managed to get the room reasonably cool.
Breakfast was pretty basic.
I didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings.
All in all, I would say that this was my least favourite accommodation in Sabah & Sarawak in the 4 weeks of my trip.
I wouldn't recommend it to anyone & wouldn't stay again.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 March 2020

Dear christine b,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are sorry that you have to drive around to look for your rooms. We do have signs in the resort but perhaps it say not be enough for guests who drive on their own as we have rarely have this type of guests.

We will take note of your comments and will increase more signage for travellers who drives their own car.

Thank you

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Stayed here one night before going to nearby orang utan sanctuary..only 5 mins walk away. Clean tidy without frills..hence the competitive price.
It's not luxury but you are in native Borneo. Breakfast simple but filling. Staff always helpful. Would recommend and ignore negative comments over lack amenities.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank docskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

We stayed for 4 nights and also went to the sister company “Bilit Adventure Resort” for the 3D/2N Kinabatangan river cruise
We loved the jungle resort - yes it’s a bit rustic in places but you are not paying for luxury, so don’t expect it!! The rooms are spacious and quiet and the staff are super helpful. We loved Shasha who has great banter and helped us so much during the stay
The breakfast is good with fresh fruit eggs toast and Asian food. All round very good - would recommend and definitely stay again

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Davies-Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear Davies-Gray,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and our sister Lodge, Bilit Adventure Lodge at kinabatangan River

Thank you for the 5 star review especially on the spacious room and the friendly staff.

We look forward to serve you again.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews