We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$17
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Expedia.com
US$17
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
FindHotel
US$17
US$14
View Deal
SAVE US$3
Agoda.comUS$15
TravelocityUS$17
Trip.comUS$16
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
1
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 July 2006

I booked the hotel from Australiia, and the cost of getting from the airport to the hotel was a set price of MR25. I then discussed with the driver about getting to Sepilok where the orang Utan's are. We finally agreed on a price of MR130 to take us out to the rehabilitation centre, wait for us to see the feeding, as well as visiting the war memorial dedicated to the Australians and British who died on the Sandakan Death March in 1945.

The Ramai hotel is very basic and fronts on to a main road which we thought may have been noisy but it wasn't. It is located at the end of the "old Part" of Sandakan city and we easily walked into town. There is a newer part of the city which has been built and there - which was MR15 cab fare ride - are all the restaurants, bars, and entertainment areas.

The cost of the deluxe double was around MR90 with air con, cable Tv and comfortable bed. They take Visa and Mastercard

Date of stay: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank OscarGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2006

We stayed at Hotel Ramai in Sandakan for 3 nights when either sides of river safari to Kinabatangan and the trip to Turtle Island. We have 2 boys aged 7 & 9 and we were very comfortably accommodated in a family room that had 2 double beds for only RM95 a night. The people were efficient and happily stored our excess gear when we went off on our little side trips.
Room was large, clean, cool, and had views across the bay. Easy to get into town with a RM5 taxi trip or ringit on the Jalan Leila local buses that run regularly. No, pool etc but if you want a clean safe bed for the night, it was great. Would stay again and can recommend it. No restaurant available but good chinese kedai kopi restaurant across the road in the shopblock that does good local food for a few ringits a meal. Also there are convenient ATMs across the road near the restaurant.

Date of stay: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank sueandmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2006

This hotel is exactly what they adverstise: An excellent, clean place where everythignworks and everybody works with a smile. We were there twice and will return again.
We prefer Sandakan to Kota Kinubaru (KK), because the latter seems to be too big and is becoming a trousist trap.

Date of stay: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Traveler5931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews