We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$13
View Deal
Free cancellation until 20/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$13
View Deal
Free cancellation until 20/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$14
US$12
View Deal
SAVE US$2
Booking.comUS$14
TravelocityUS$13
eDreamsUS$14
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
15
32
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
32
13
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2019

This hotel is quite run down and you will see that everywere but what can you expect at the low rate. English is only spoken by the night man in reception and he is very nice. As the center of Sandakan is quite small location does not matter much as long as you are in the centre. Stayed for 3 days and they did not clean the room in that time. Poor wi-fi if you were not standing right under the router. All in a good value.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oulund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

2015 price 58 Ringat a night, next to the CBD near all the shops and seafront Restaurants, a bit musty but let me run the aircon for a few hours while sightseeing, came back nice.
The car parking ladies out the front, gave me a 30cent fine [10 cents US] asked for the rest of the day, 1 Ringat in total, [30cents US]

Basic but good, large room central - Suited me fine

Room tip: I like the front with the balcony
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alistairm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

what you see is what you get, price of offer is this $, place of offer is this. not too bad for a little hotel locate in a quite area that not far from all the main places and also easy to find taxi at all time up to after mid night. as receiption has people always around to help open and close and safety of this place. great location as well after all. not expensive at all and cleanses are ok.
lovely people in town of this place. had some good recommendation from the reception and had a great seafood dinner by the waterside and great value for dinner. thanks for recommend us for the dinner place we went, we wish to remmeber what name it was but was so good and had so much fun we forgot to take bussiness card of theirs and forgot to take photo... thats how good the food there is... thanks again for your recomendation. much appriciate your work. thanks.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GordanaMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I had my doubts when booking this hotel, as the price was suspiciously low and the reviews a bit disturbing. But I was arriving rather late and needed a place to sleep before pick-up by a tour bus at Wisma Khoo Siak Chiew building, which happened to be right next door. As a solo female traveller I didn't want to risk esploring neghbourhood on my own, so I decided to stick to this nearest option. I made a booking via some Sabah tourism website because the hotel wasn't answering my email. However, one can call them to confirm the booking, which I did the day before.

There was no problem getting there by taxi (paid something like 25 MYR at the airport's taxi counter). Check-in went smoothly, I got my key and paid on the spot (58 MYR for single room), though my room was on the top floor, and without any elevator it was a bit tricky to get the heavy suitcase upstairs. There were 2 guys working at the reception, but nobody offered to help, even though I was the only guest at the time.

There was a fridge at the reception where I bought some water, which was good as I didn't fancy going outside at that time of the night. The street hotel London is located at is fairly busy during daytime, but totally deserted at night, not a soul apart from some rats and stray cats chasing each other. However, it doesn't look criminal (judging from the view outside my window...) I could swear I heard a goat bleating outside in the middle of the night, quite a surprise given the totally urban-looking environment.

The room was quite ok, clean apart from a couple of cigarette burns on the bed covers. Bathroom was surprisibgly big, and shower was working, though water pressure could be better. A/C unit had some problems, looked like it was on all the time, and wouldn't switch off, but then in the middle of the night I would suddenly wake up sweating because it was not cooling anymore. However, it wasn't a big issue for such a short stay.

I didn't hear the mosque many seem to be complaining about, sleeping soundly until 10am. Thanks to my good friends called earplugs, I sleep well no matter where I am! :-)

This hotel serves no breakfast any longer, but I didn't need it as I checked out next morning and left. If I happen to be in Sandakan for 1 night transit, I'll probably stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

While the price for a night heavily influenced our decision to stay here (50MYR), I could not have stayed for another night. The room was filthy- cobwebs hung from most surfaces and the bathroom smelled of pee. Bedlinen was clean but the mattress and pillows underneath were not and smelled heavily of mildew. The location is fine, but as Sandakan is quite small, that's hardly a plus point. The mosque next door will wake you at 5am.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews