We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lankayan Island Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$43
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$12
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Backpackers(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$18
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Rose Guesthouse(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
320
109
19
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
109
19
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat ridesea turtlesbuffet styleon stiltstropical paradiseturtle laying her eggsamazing divingnon divingour honeymoonsnorkeling tripbaby turtle releasesparadise on earthsulu seamain buildingmilitary presencecrystal clear waterresort staff
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We LOVED our stay here.We stayed as a family of 5 in the family bungalow .Two storey , loads of space ,comfortable and a view to die for .The most amazing water with nothing in the distance except blue ocean.We watched turtles , shark and barracuda swim by our bungalow most days .The snorkelling was great and there is so many turtles you cant help swim past one.The island is very small and well managed .There is a presence of military on the island , I think approx 70 at a time ..You dont see them all but you do cross paths with them occasionally.They are very friendly but the machine guns left me feeling a little uneasy ...When you dive they are also on the boat with you .
We loved the conservation efforts being made on this island and we saw the turtles hatching 2 afternoons, and also saw 1 nesting and laying her eggs.A truly special experience. The diving was nice but the visability was not great when we were there .Loads of macro life , things we had never seen before so that was great .We didnt get the dive package and were happy we didn't .we just booked each day and there was no problem. You cant beat swimming with the turtles though and we all did this just snorkelling out from our room. It was a great educational experience as well ..The dive and reef guardian staff are very knowledgable.
the food was great and varied each day .There was always something for even my fussy eater.Staff are all very lovely .We would definately recommend this dive resort .A truly memorable stay here that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

We came a long way from Canada for our Sabah vacation and our stay at Lankayan Island did not disappoint ! We spent 4 nights and 3 full days here and wished we could have spent longer . Location is isolated and the first day only had 12 guests so we felt like we almost had to resort to our selves ! I dived twice a day and saw lots , even an 8 foot lemon shark ! Visibility for diving was just ok but for snorkelling was gin clear and there were an amazing variety of fish and coral just adjacent to the dive centre . Water was very warm and coral sand, so white ! Tons of giant clam shells to be found ( and left behind ) . Highlight was a Hawksbill turtle nesting and laying 149 eggs directly beside our chalet ! Wow ! Eggs were dug up and buried in the hatchery by Marine Conservation people to help ensure their chance at survival . Food was good , especially the omelettes at breakfast . My only complaint would be the bathrooms in the chalets . Was weird to have no door and a glass wall on one side , so no privacy for the toilet ? Couldn't figure that design out ? Boat ride was fairly long and a little bumpy , but who cares for this kind of location ! Military presence of aprox 60 did not interfere and actually just made us feel safer . ( 2 armed soldiers accompanied us on each dive ) . Hope one day to return !

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank longliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We spent 3 nights on the island . We did our 3 dives a day and were very happy with the dives. There is a great awareness by the dive staff and the management of reef conservation. There are abundant turtles surrounding the island. The accomplishment is very comfortable but some units have windows that do not close making the air conditioning ineffective. Be sure to ask for a chalet that has windows that close so that you have full benefit of the air conditioning. The food is very good and the staff very polished and accommodating. The dive staff is very conscientious. We really enjoyed our stay here .

Stayed: April 2016
Thank lunamoonModesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Lankayan Island is gorgeous! It is secluded and the most beautiful island I have every seen. We stayed for 3 days, and let me tell you what, I wish we could have stayed forever (although I cannot afford it...) The boat ride out is a bit long and kind of bumpy. But we did not have any trouble with being sea sick. The boat is open so you can look out and get plenty of air. We are snorkelers, so didn't do any diving, but the dive shop is very well outfitted with wonderful staff. The snorkeling just right off the island, is the best I have seen. Been to the Caribbean many times and south america, but nothing compared to this. The island seems to act as a nursery too in the shallows (we saw baby sharks even!). Sea turtles and many fish. We also took a boat out for a snorkel at a nearby location - great time! The water is SO blue. Great visibility. We so wanted to see some turtle eggs hatch, but it did not happen while we were there - ah well. There were military men on the island (in their posts with guns too). Everyone was friendly, and I felt safer with them there! Food is very plentiful and everything tasted good with lots of variety! I would go back in a heartbeat - don't hesitate - just book the trip, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but choose the furthest from the dining hall if you want the least traffic.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CatM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

A paradise island surrounded with coral landscape in a turquoise sea filled with turtles, and sealife.
There are 26 sea facing chalets on this small island, request for chalet 26 if you can, you will be furthest from the restaurant but the peace and isolation is worth it. We watch amazing sunset and sunrise on our no. 26 chalet, as well as turtle spotting and chasing just in front of it. Food was plentiful, staff is wonderful, snorkelling is a must. It is a place to rest and recharge, far far away from the world.

Room Tip: request chalet 26 higher number, and bring your own alcohol.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews