We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lankayan Island Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
Rose Guesthouse(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$10
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$12
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sanbay Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$45
US$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borneo Seaview Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbourside Backpackers(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$19
US$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$63
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$46
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$41
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
320
109
19
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
109
19
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat ridesea turtlesbuffet styleon stiltstropical paradiseturtle laying her eggsamazing divingnon divingour honeymoonsnorkeling tripbaby turtle releasesparadise on earthsulu seamain buildingmilitary presencecrystal clear waterresort staff
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

This place is paradise. 3 days was not enough and we wished we had stayed longer. Everything from the rooms (with a stunning balcony view) to the food was divine. Being vegetarians, we were a little anxious about our options, but the chef was amazing and even cooked specific dishes as per our request :)

The rooms are very spacious and each room can comfortably house 3 people. The island is so tiny, we were able to walk around it in 10 mins!

This place is perfect for just lazing around all day, but there are few activities you can partake in - diving is one, but we didn't see too many people doing this. The hatchery where we saw baby turtles hatching was the highlight of our trip. Other than turtles you can also snorkel around the island - there isn't too much to see except turtles and a few fishes, but being a beginner we really enjoyed it. They also rent kayaks at a reasonable fee. However, the general vibe is relaxed and days end early here :)

If we had to complain, the air conditioning was not the best - but it was not so bad that it ruined our sleep.

Other than this, we would highly recommend this place! Come with a fat book and you're sorted :)

PS: The boat ride to and fro can be a little bumpy - sit at the back of the boat for a smooth(er) ride!

Lastly, for an unobstructed view of the sea, choose chalet numbers 22 and above. Note that the walk to the dining area and reception is longer, the higher numbered the chalet is.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rajashreee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was very good. Big chalet with an amazing terrace facing the ocean. Water is clear and there's plenty of fish. I attened a baby turtle release twice in 3 days(!!!) The staff is very serviceminded and makes you feel very welcome on this island. I can truly recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank SilleGuld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had a beautiful stay on Lankayan Island (despite the not so great weather!). Beautiful and well maintained island. Lovely staff. We stayed in chalet 26 which was more remote at the end of the resort and beautiful with the stilts over the sea. All chalets face the sea and are in a line with each other but feel very private. Food is great - about 4/5 courses per session. All pre cooked by the chefs and buffet style but amazing seafood! During the day there are snacks but these are more local pastries and cheese on toast etc, tea, coffee. In terms of drinks only water based drinks are provided. For any soft drinks and wine / beer (and some crisps and nuts) there is a bar which you will need to pay for. My only gripe is they do wine by the bottle only. Cheapest starts at £20 or so pounds. Soft drinks about £0.70-1. They should do wine by the glass as quite a few had wine so there would be a demand for it! Even a restricted number of bottles! Aside from that we can't fault it at all. Such a beautiful place which would be even more stunning in full sunshine. As a note, in case you are an Internet fanatic and absolutely require this here watch out - it's either slow or extremely temperamental. For one day it didn't work at all. That was fine for us as on holiday but just a note in case you needed it!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank travelblogger2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

If you want remote, stunning location, great food then yes. But for these prices I expect something more. Don't get me wrong, I loved it here but 1, the bungalows lacked a little finesse. It needs a little TLC to bring it up to the similar standard of say the Kinabantagan Wetlands Resorts which beats this place hands down.
Be warned. It does not accept debit cards, or chip and pin. Cash or credit card only.
Alcohol is available at a reasonable price.
It's also 50 miles off shore and if the weather is anything but calm then the ride is bumpy. Not for the poor sailor.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Baroncustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The boat ride at 10 AM will take you 1.5 hours from the jetty, and upon arrival you are given an orientation of the resort. The island is basically made up of the dive centre (over water), main dining hall / reception (over water), turtle hatchery centre, chalets and the encircling beach.

The island is a nesting spot for green and hawksbill turtles during the season between June and September. You could experience hundreds of turtles hatching out of the sand in the hatchery, and then released on the beach where they run for their cute little lives into the ocean. At night, you could also view mother turtles laying their eggs on the beach. Its a beautiful experience but be prepared to get furious over noisy and loud tourists with unmanageable kids and camera flashes. Camera flashes and noise disrupt and irritate the mother. I would have expected the "reef guardian" (the hatchery institute) to better manage the crowd with education during the orientation (in various languages beside english), and strict crowd control during the events.

The rooms are incredibly huge and each has an ocean view. Be sure to ask which sun you'd like to face. I had the evening sun which was too strong for me to enjoy the ocean view. Rooms have a sabahian theme but little details like brightly coloured plastic dustbins and buckets spoil the whole flow. Using the hot water is a mystery with painful consequences, so be careful!

There are basically two types of packages to stay in this resort, the diver and non-diver packages, which includes full board of all meals (buffet style).

The management is very well organised and efficient, who are quick to attend to your needs.

Diving around Lankayan Island is a mix of beautiful corals and bad visibility. Almost all the dive sites are within 10 minutes boat ride. The poor visibility could be due to multiple runoffs of river mouths from Sabah mainland that bring deluge into the ocean. Most marine life of interest are macro. The best dives for me that are rich in diversity and good visibility with beautiful healthy corals are, Bimbo Rock, Goby Rock and Whale Shark Reef.

Room Tip: Some rooms are much bigger like room number 4, which is also close to the dining hall and dive resort.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SabOhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews