We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lankayan Island Dive Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandakan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lankayan Island Dive Resort
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

What can I say...this place is a beautiful island 1.5 hours by speedboat from the mainland.
The place is a nature reserve and conservation area for coral and breeding turtles.
Staff are amazing knowledgeable about the nesting turtles.
Food here is buffet but don't let that put you off. The food is amazing, both in choice and quality. Staff are really helpful and friendly.
A place to relax, unwind, early night and easy days...Could not fault one thing.
Will hopefully be back!.

Room Tip: air con is a bit chilly so adjust to what suits you at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70gbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    98
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
80
252
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

Magical island, uplifting, reaffirming, marvelous! The staff are gracious, humble, welcoming, accommodating. The restaurant and relaxation area is an incredible wooden structure, a piece of fantastic architecture that is kept pristine by the staff. The food is excellent quality. The place is so tasteful! The chalets are over-looking the beach, each has a hammock, a balcony, A/C. Ours had four-poster & fridge too (likely all do, we just didn't survey!). Magic came to us- a turtle nested under our chalet! The natural environment is so unspoiled. We can look from the boardwalks, 4 meters up, and spot sting-ray, turtle, needle-fish en route for supper (us, not them, these are protected oceans!). Snorkeling, diving and kayaking are on offer. You don't have to dive to be exposed to incredible, flourishing coral reef! Dives are superb though- a couple of local wrecks are interesting to dip down to & the corals at 20m are teeming with colorful creations- marco & mega! We saw sharks (reef only) at other points in the year bigger versions, including whale sharks, are around. I highly recommend this destination & want to say a huge congratulations and thank you to the team there!

Room Tip: Over-ocean chalets are under construction!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in September with our two adult daughters. We had side by side villas. All of the accommodation on the island is waterfront. The rooms were spacious and clean with a/c plus ceiling fans. If you want the best views ask for a villa at the very far end, numbers 20 to 26. If you want total privacy with garden in front and outdoor shower ask for villas 10 - 14. We didn't notice mosquitos but there were a few sand flies around which you can avoid by not lying on the beach. There are hammocks at the front of most of the villas. We snorkelled from our front door out to the various patches of coral. We didn't dive because we were on the island for only three days. The turtles were the main attraction for us, it was great to be able to swim so freely with so many turtles. Also there are hatchings almost everyday (amazing & sad to watch them mostly all meet their demise via the reef sharks). Because there are only 26 rooms there are very few people in the water at any given time, it never feels crowded. The staff are friendly, attentive and helpful. There is a central dining room, library, relaxation area which also never feels crowded. It is a huge space for so few people so you can easily have your own area. The food is fresh & plentiful. They are constantly feeding you. There is a comprehensive wine/beer list. They don't make cocktails. If you want spirits BYO which you can have on your private balcony. It is extremely chilled. Plenty of time for books and relaxation. It ticks all the boxes for both families and couples. Terrible wifi which limits screen time (which can only be a good thing for most of us). Lots of privacy and nothing to do except talk to each other, eat, drink, dive & snorkel and make friends with turtles in a truly beautiful place.

Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank r-and-r09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

This place is paradise. 3 days was not enough and we wished we had stayed longer. Everything from the rooms (with a stunning balcony view) to the food was divine. Being vegetarians, we were a little anxious about our options, but the chef was amazing and even cooked specific dishes as per our request :)

The rooms are very spacious and each room can comfortably house 3 people. The island is so tiny, we were able to walk around it in 10 mins!

This place is perfect for just lazing around all day, but there are few activities you can partake in - diving is one, but we didn't see too many people doing this. The hatchery where we saw baby turtles hatching was the highlight of our trip. Other than turtles you can also snorkel around the island - there isn't too much to see except turtles and a few fishes, but being a beginner we really enjoyed it. They also rent kayaks at a reasonable fee. However, the general vibe is relaxed and days end early here :)

If we had to complain, the air conditioning was not the best - but it was not so bad that it ruined our sleep.

Other than this, we would highly recommend this place! Come with a fat book and you're sorted :)

PS: The boat ride to and fro can be a little bumpy - sit at the back of the boat for a smooth(er) ride!

Lastly, for an unobstructed view of the sea, choose chalet numbers 22 and above. Note that the walk to the dining area and reception is longer, the higher numbered the chalet is.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rajashreee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was very good. Big chalet with an amazing terrace facing the ocean. Water is clear and there's plenty of fish. I attened a baby turtle release twice in 3 days(!!!) The staff is very serviceminded and makes you feel very welcome on this island. I can truly recommend this place.

Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank SilleGuld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
77.4 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
76.1 km away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
71.0 km away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
74.3 km away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
77.3 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lankayan Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lankayan Island Dive Resort

Property: Lankayan Island Dive Resort
Address: Lankayan Island, Sandakan, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lankayan Island Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel like tiny island in the Sulu Sea, an hour and a half boat rides north of Sandakan; Lankayan has been declared part of an immense Marine Protected Area to adopt the eco-tourism concept. Unpopulated and covered by thick tropical island vegetation on its topside, this peaceful, untouched little bit of paradise is ringed by an endless pure of white sandy beach, offering simply elegant and exquisite accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lankayan Island Dive Hotel Sandakan
Lankayan Island Dive Sandakan
Lankayan Island Dive Resort Sandakan, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing