We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best snorkeling and diving we've ever experienced!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandakan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lankayan Island Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Every kind of tropical reef fish possible, robust and abundant corals, many many larger marine wildlife (turtles, rays, large reef shark -- and that's just around the resort!). A wonderful SMALL and intimate resort with lovely cabins cantilevered over the beach, beautiful dining hall, excellent marine protection center (they assist with patrols and public education) -- on a little island that also has birds and butterflies. Very gracious, enthusiastic, and helpful staff. Well worth the travel to get there! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank KimForrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Lankayan Island Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2016

We were two adults and a kid of 12 years. We spend 4 days here snorkling and relaxing, but could easily have spend more time. We are not experienced divers, but were still able to get some great experiences. The food at the resort is fine, and pricing for drinks etc are not to bad.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kas_munk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

What can I say...this place is a beautiful island 1.5 hours by speedboat from the mainland.
The place is a nature reserve and conservation area for coral and breeding turtles.
Staff are amazing knowledgeable about the nesting turtles.
Food here is buffet but don't let that put you off. The food is amazing, both in choice and quality. Staff are really helpful and friendly.
A place to relax, unwind, early night and easy days...Could not fault one thing.
Will hopefully be back!.

Room Tip: air con is a bit chilly so adjust to what suits you at night
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 70gbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Magical island, uplifting, reaffirming, marvelous! The staff are gracious, humble, welcoming, accommodating. The restaurant and relaxation area is an incredible wooden structure, a piece of fantastic architecture that is kept pristine by the staff. The food is excellent quality. The place is so tasteful! The chalets are over-looking the beach, each has a hammock, a balcony, A/C. Ours had four-poster & fridge too (likely all do, we just didn't survey!). Magic came to us- a turtle nested under our chalet! The natural environment is so unspoiled. We can look from the boardwalks, 4 meters up, and spot sting-ray, turtle, needle-fish en route for supper (us, not them, these are protected oceans!). Snorkeling, diving and kayaking are on offer. You don't have to dive to be exposed to incredible, flourishing coral reef! Dives are superb though- a couple of local wrecks are interesting to dip down to & the corals at 20m are teeming with colorful creations- marco & mega! We saw sharks (reef only) at other points in the year bigger versions, including whale sharks, are around. I highly recommend this destination & want to say a huge congratulations and thank you to the team there!

Room Tip: Over-ocean chalets are under construction!!!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in September with our two adult daughters. We had side by side villas. All of the accommodation on the island is waterfront. The rooms were spacious and clean with a/c plus ceiling fans. If you want the best views ask for a villa at the very far end, numbers 20 to 26. If you want total privacy with garden in front and outdoor shower ask for villas 10 - 14. We didn't notice mosquitos but there were a few sand flies around which you can avoid by not lying on the beach. There are hammocks at the front of most of the villas. We snorkelled from our front door out to the various patches of coral. We didn't dive because we were on the island for only three days. The turtles were the main attraction for us, it was great to be able to swim so freely with so many turtles. Also there are hatchings almost everyday (amazing & sad to watch them mostly all meet their demise via the reef sharks). Because there are only 26 rooms there are very few people in the water at any given time, it never feels crowded. The staff are friendly, attentive and helpful. There is a central dining room, library, relaxation area which also never feels crowded. It is a huge space for so few people so you can easily have your own area. The food is fresh & plentiful. They are constantly feeding you. There is a comprehensive wine/beer list. They don't make cocktails. If you want spirits BYO which you can have on your private balcony. It is extremely chilled. Plenty of time for books and relaxation. It ticks all the boxes for both families and couples. Terrible wifi which limits screen time (which can only be a good thing for most of us). Lots of privacy and nothing to do except talk to each other, eat, drink, dive & snorkel and make friends with turtles in a truly beautiful place.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank r-and-r09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
77.4 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
76.1 km away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
539 reviews
71.0 km away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.9 km away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
148 reviews
77.3 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
325 reviews
76.8 km away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lankayan Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lankayan Island Dive Resort

Address: Lankayan Island, Sandakan, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lankayan Island Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel like tiny island in the Sulu Sea, an hour and a half boat rides north of Sandakan; Lankayan has been declared part of an immense Marine Protected Area to adopt the eco-tourism concept. Unpopulated and covered by thick tropical island vegetation on its topside, this peaceful, untouched little bit of paradise is ringed by an endless pure of white sandy beach, offering simply elegant and exquisite accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lankayan Island Dive Hotel Sandakan
Lankayan Island Dive Sandakan
Lankayan Island Dive Resort Sandakan, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing