We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
101
42
12
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
101
42
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view rooftop area private shower lovely roof terrace book exchange nice breakfast clean rooms kinabatangan river water front breakfast was included comfy bed stayed nights wifi backpacking accommodation tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

Friendly hosts, ample breakfast, comfy and clean rooms. Location is perfect for Sandakan, right on the harbour side. Have bag storage facilities, which was helpful. Rooftop terrace is nice for relaxing in the evening.
Very good value for money and would definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linconshirecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

I stayed in the room with a seaview, loved it!! Just to have a window again and with this amazing view. It could get a bit noisy out on the street at night but until 11 or 12. I did a trip in between and so the first time I was in room 4, walls are full of messages from other travelers. So is all of the hostel, everyone is free to leave a message! Great backpackers vibe! Comfy bed, nice breakfast, friendly staff, good rooftop lounge. It's also a 'green' hostel. I enjoyed both of my stays there. The second visit was in room 8, nothing was written on the wall (yet), but again great room with private shower. Only the powerplug here was a bit far from the bed. This was not the case in room 4. Great wifi throughout the hostel, book exchange, good location. Good place to relax :)!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank TalithaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020

Stayed for a night and it ticks all of the boxes. The place is clean and relaxed and had everything that we needed. The rooftop area was a nice space to just chill in the afternoon or relax in the evening and has a nice view of the sea.

All of the staff were super friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome. They arranged for us to go on the firefly evening tour very last minute,

We changed our plans and left a day early in a bit of a hurry and forgot our key deposit. They team were so great, they emailed to let us know and then went to the bank to pay the deposit into the bank of our next accommodation which they deducted from our bill. Honestly and helpfulness that is hard to find these days so thank you guys.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egregiousuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019 via mobile

With sea views, this backpackers is a handy little stop off before embarking on the Kinabatangan River adventure.

What struck us most is that the owner and staff really understand what backpacking is about. There's a friendly, communal atmosphere and they'll even let you leave your artistic stamp on the walls.

You can book your river adventure from the front desk easily enough (we turned up, booked it, and left the next morning). They'll help you sort it and you can be picked up outside. It's about 3-4 hours from Sandakan by bus to the river.

They'll store your bags if you want to leave them and return to Sandakan afterwards.

Our private double had air-conditioning and shared use of the bathroom.

The one downside (which they're ready to admit) is poor WiFi. However, their partner hostel is just a couple of minutes away and you're welcome to use their superior WiFi for booking further accommodation etc.

There's a lovely roof terrace where you can enjoy views of the sea with a reasonably priced Tiger beer.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kirka1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2019

Excellent central location , and friendly staff who will order you a grab taxi to get to seplilock animal parks and anywhere else , try sim sim the nearby fishing village for seafood , ask for a drop off at 88 restaurant and go at sunset its lovely.
the wifi was poor in the private rooms and could only be used in the common areas. the breakfast was either pancakes or eggybread with fresh fruit and coffee , i liked the place and stayed 3 nights.

Room tip: no wfi in private room extension
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews