We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$35
View Deal
Hotels.com
US$35
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$35
US$23
View Deal
SAVE US$12
Free cancellation until 06/03/21
Expedia.comUS$35
eDreamsUS$35
TravelocityUS$35
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
17
67
62
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
67
62
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central location english tea house the hotel is clean agnes keith house spacious room stayed here for one night noodles channels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights, it’s an old building and we were staying in Junior Suite Room. It’s spacious, on the first day we arrived I noticed there’s some spots on the pillow case, bed sheet and duvet. We went to the reception to ask HK team to change and they changed them straight away, there’s no swimming pool and breakfast buffet was great and the waiters waitress are so helpful. Location is in the center, very near to the shores with few of local restaurants that provide a little bit of seafood.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vittaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senthil ilangovan, General Manager at Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2020

Dear Guests,
Greetings from Hotel Sandakan.
We thank you for your comment and we will take your comment seriously and address the issue.
We would like to invite you back to enjoy the scenic and wildlife of Sandakan.
Hope to see you soon.

Thanks

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020

We came to stay at this hotel on 8/02/2020 one night only.
At first my husband reminded them about our booking and the extra bed a day before but the FO replied to him that she wasn't the one who made the reservation but will ask her teammates on it. The next day comes we check in and reminded the FO for the extra bed since that time we only keep our begs and went out for sightseeing.

Only we know when we're back to the hotel the extra bed is not ready yet! Called the HK and after few moments came a HK attendant to bring the extra bed. Very suprising, since my husband reminded the FO several times. How poor it is the communication between FO and HK department that time.

Before that, I paid the extra bed using a debit card but the atm terminal seems to be not working and have deducted my account twice but was credited back and the FO trainee that time(didn't know her name but her name tag says "trainee") insisted that I should pay by cash and I did.
When things get more exciting is when she notified the accounts department the matter and the accounts dept will only be crediting my payment by Monday 10/02/2020. What's more worst is I haven't get the refund as promised until I made this review and it will be one month in a week time now.

I have made my statement regards to my refund to your FO via whatsapp they were very helpful but the accounts department was never co-operative. I know it is only a small amount not hundreds nor thousands. I bet these amounts maybe will take years to be credited.

Please be more efficient and effective in handling small stuff like this in future. Things like this will create a bigger problem. And still hoping to get my refund. *crossed fingers*

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senthil ilangovan, General Manager at Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Dear Clare,
Greetings from Hotel Sandakan,
We thanks for your comments and we take the comments seriously. We apologise for the incident. After investigation, we would like to highlight that there were some communication with you from FO watsapp and the communication starts on the day you check in on the extra payment charges to your account. And the last communication to you was on the 19/2/2020. The communication clearly stated that if the refund is not settled "you may refer to us" means let us know". There were no any communication with us after that. Since the charges was on Credit card, it is beyond our control and the refund will take at least 14 working days and this depends on how fast the bank work on your refund to your credit card. This is national wide policy on the credit card refund.
By putting unpleasant remarks in online platform it reflect our reputation as a reputable hotel in Sandakan.
I once again apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Thanks
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst passing.

The private room was well-kept and afforded a good night of sleep.

It’s central location is a key feature, which made exploring the town easy.

Breakfast was varied enough, although a strong coffee would have been welcome.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank callcrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senthil6854, General Manager at Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear Guests,
Greetings.
Thanks for sharing your experience. We strive to serve our guests with the best experience.

Thanks

GHM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

spacious room.TV with four or five channels, mostly local.not enough power sockets to use both laptop and phone charging. Not much variety of food in cafe for dinner.
Food hygiene not up to the standard. During breakfast found fly feasting on jam jar

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulagamsutrumtamizhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senthil6854, General Manager at Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear Guests,
Greetings from Hotel sandakan.
We have improvised the menu based on customer demand and nationality. We will take note on the issue highlighted and we will ensure this will not happen again.

We strive for the best experience in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here. The room is spacious and clean, the breakfast is good enough to start a day (I love their nasi kuning with fish sambal).
Check in and check out was easy.
Parking ia limited but the hotel staff will sort it out for you.
Located near tha English Tea House and Agnes Keith House...also walking distance to San Da Gen Kopitiam.
A little bit quiet at night but i enjoyed my stay in this hotel

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nanieidayum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senthil6854, General Manager at Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear Nanie,
Greetings,
Thanks for your stay and experience at Hotel sandakan.

We hope to see you again.

Thanks
GHM


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews