We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$20
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/07/22
Hotels.com
US$21
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/07/22
Agoda.com
US$17
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/07/22
TravelocityUS$21
PricelineUS$20
ZenHotels.comUS$36
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
14
21
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
21
5
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

From the outside, the hotel doesn't look particularly impressive - especially if you arrive at night and see that half the sign is not illuminated. However inside, there's an instant quality feel and it's much more sophisticated than the exterior suggests.

The staff were very friendly and obliging and even helped me print my flight boarding passes for the airport.

The rooms were clean, relaxing and comfortable with air conditioning and complimentary toiletries & tea/coffee making facilities. The shower was heavenly with a large cubicle and waterfall-style shower head. For the end of our stay we upgraded to a 'deluxe' room which is the same as a standard, just with a window (in our case, overlooking the adjacent building site!).

Watch your bare toes on the raised tiled lip adjoining the bedroom and bathroom - it doesn't half hurt when you don't see it.

Breakfast was tasty and I would particularly recommend the 'local fare' noodles. There's a selection of other hot dishes as well as cereals, toast and cakes.

One tiresome aspect of our stay was the unreliable room keycards. They frequently became deactivated and needed to be taken down to reception to reset them, sometimes twice in a row.

We did request a second keycard so that we could leave one inside the room in order to keep the air con running all day. When we requested the card, we didn't have to provide any identification so could have been trying to gain entry to any of the rooms! Hence be warned that security may not be great.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ArabianMouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Nur M, Manager at OYO 985 Hotel Nur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your recent review and comments. We apologized for the unpleasant experience that you have encounter during your recent stay with us. We have addressed the issues regarding the keycard slot deactivated that you have highlighted to the responsible departments and that corrective actions are taken to avoid this from happening again.

As for getting identification for a second keycard, as part of the hotel’s policy, staff must get the name and identification to ensure that the guest is genuine. Perhaps, in your case, the staff recognized you. We have stressed on this matter to our Front Office staff.

We thank you for your patronage and for bringing these concerns to our attention. We certainly do not wish to lose you as a valued customer and looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Hotel Nur Miri
This is a three story hotel close to the center of town. It is fairly quiet, man. The (my) budget room has no window. It does have a desk, a closet, a mini-fridge that works, big nice bed with two end tables, air-con/remote, tea pot/coffee & tea packets, flat screen TV 13 channels of which 5 are in English. Bathroom amenities are tissue, 2 each small & big towels, liquid soap & shampoo, ear-q-tips & a small bar soap plus plenty of light to read. “We” also have a free breakfast. It's pretty limited but a-okay. So far, the wi-fi connection is okay. Actually, it is GOOD! The staff is very helpful. I stayed 4 days here.

Room tip: Many rooms & prices to choose from
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank salemnobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Nur M, Hotel Manager at OYO 985 Hotel Nur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you for sharing your experienced and appreciate your nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and are satisfied with our hotel services provided by our staff. Thank you again and we look forward to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I was quite happy with our stay here. As some buildings in the near neighbourhood are really grubby looking, Nur Miri was a pleasant surprise. It is comfortable, clean with friendly staff and reasonable breakfast. The only thing about breakfasts in most hotels in East Malaysia I am disappointed with is the type of fruit offered. Malaysia is famous for the most incredible assortment of tropical fruit, many people including myself make this a reason for coming here, and all you get in hotels is some pieces of melon. It must be the price, because melons are perhaps the cheapest fruit to buy, but not all people like them. There should be some alternative.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Nur M, Hotel Manager at OYO 985 Hotel Nur, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for choosing out hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to having you agin in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel for just one night, for having a good rest after a some long flights. This hotel is perfect to reload yourself!

The room had good beds, badroom and is at a good location. We were quite surprised about that: youre in the centre in 5 munutes by foot, with a lot of nice places for food!

The breakfast was ok, although not very comprehensive. We missed some fresh fruit, more kinds of coffee and sorts of bread.

But still, we will definitely come back when we will stay in Miri!

Room tip: It looked like the was some construction behind the building. At our time no activity, but you can check it out by the hotel while booking.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annechienn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Nur M, Hotel Manager at OYO 985 Hotel Nur, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Dear Guests,
Greetings from Hotel Nur Miri. Thank you for your comments and reviews and we are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The Management would like to apologize if you were not able to get wider variety of selection of fruits, coffee and breads. At a limited budget, we try our very best to serve a good breakfast for our in house guests. We apologized about the experienced that you had during your stay with us. We will keep in mind on your suggestion on having more selection of fruits, coffee and breads in future. Looking forward to see you again. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent service. Staff extremely courteous and helpful. We booked a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the town. The room was clean and comfortable. Good breakfast considering the hotel rates per night. You can walk to the shopping malls and the Miri Handicraft Centre. You can get cheap and delicious meals at the food courts at the shopping malls. Handicrafts are much cheaper at the Handicraft Centre than at the malls. If unsure just ask reception at the hotel. They are very friendly and went that extra mile for us.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Nur M, Hotel Manager at OYO 985 Hotel Nur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us, especially for mentioning our great customer services provided by our Hotel Staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews