We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Resorts World Kijal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Reviewed 30 August 2017

It's kids paradise as the big swimming pool and my kids enjoying the water very much.
Nice sunshine when wake up in the morning, fresh air make the day better.
Register at counter for sea turtle watching during night and others activities.

Room Tip: Link room for better family bonding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed as part of our company trip/team building. It's a nice hotel. Rooms were spacious and the staffs were nice and pleasant. And if you're with family/friends, they have a lot of recreational areas/activities which you would enjoy (like the private beach ,golf ⛳️, etc). Just take note..this is a heritage hotel..so expect your room to have the look of a heritage room (not the modern, crisp clean white rooms etc). But for those who want to have a feel of traditional rooms, then you would surely like this hotel

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jameela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The hotel refused to give a discount for 6 rooms. Instead it give a pitiful corporate discount even though we knew it seldom had high occupancy. When we arrived just after 3 pm the room was not ready and we were told we could have a room with no view instead. We decided to wait a while since housekeeping was already in the room because how long could it possibly take? 45 minutes; that is how long. When I asked if there were other rooms in a higher category available the receptionist said that there were. I asked why she wouldn't give us one, and she said it was a higher price bracket. No kidding I said, so you'd rather make us wait for all this time. The room itself is tired and in need of renovation, although the bed was comfortable. There was also no hot water in the morning; a disgrace for a so-called 4 star hotel. The room price was ridiculous. The only good thing was the Oasis Beach Club with its friendly staff and cool location, otherwise I would have given this hotel a terrible rating. Breakfast was ok, but again you'd expect the coffee machine to be modern and to do latte or cappuccino.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view if you have to stay in this area and hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SignalFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickMah, Social Media Team at Resorts World Kijal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear SignalFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on this forum and we apologies for not being able to provide you with the upgrade to the higher room type you desire.

Out of goodwill we have extended our corporate rates to your group of 6, these rates are meant for companies who have a long stay contract with us.

We took note of your complaint of no hot water in the morning, but unfortunately we did not have the same encounter whilst doing an inspection on the hotel floor. Can you please kindly send us a private message to confirm the room number?

We apologise for inconvenience for the rooms comfort deficiency and we will work with the team to avoid recurrence.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With renewed apologies,
Nick Mah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The stay at Resorts World Kijal, to which many travelers still refer as “Awana Kijal”, is always an enjoyable one.
The rooms are adequate spaced, clean and well maintained. You should prefer a room towards the seaside. The view is better and they are generally quieter. All rooms now have free Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi is sometimes very slow and the policy of obtaining new login credentials every week is a bit strange.
The hotel has a lovely swimming pool, kid’s playground and direct access to a beautiful beach. Directly located on the Beach is OBB (on the Beach BBQ), which serves delicious food and cold drinks. There are a few more restaurants a few minutes down the road near the main road.
For breakfast is a vast selection of Asian and Western dishes available. It will be difficult to find such a good breakfast in other hotels in Malaysia! The room service menu offers excellent food. The service is prompt and friendly.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Check in and check out are handled in an efficient way without long waiting time.
Most of the guests at Resorts World Kijal are Business Travelers who visit the large Petronas complex near Paka. But the hotel is a good place to chill out with your family, too. So, if you think about coming to Malaysia with your loved ones, consider the Resorts World Kijal!

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on the sea side. The view is nicer and they are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heiko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Booked into the Resort World Kijal for 5 days while on a business trip to the area. Have stayed at this resort before and this time have noted quite a few improvements since my last trip. There is now a very good, and free, WiFi service. Rooms are much cooler as aircons seem to have been serviced. Items of toiletry in bath / shower room as of good quality and varied.
As usual the breakfast buffet is very good with a large selection and always plenty to choose from. I also eat at the Oasis Beach Bistro and have to say the service was prompt and the meal of good quality. Price was reasonable too.
Improvements that i would suggest. I like to use the gym each day, but the equipment in the resort gym was old and not very varied. Also, the aircon in the gym was very poor and the heat in the gym took the enjoyment of working out away.
The staff at the resort were very helpful and always polite with a smile to greet you. Would I stay here again - Yes.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kijal
29.7 km away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 6 in Cherating
130 reviews
30.1 km away
Royale Chulan Cherating
Royale Chulan Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
44 reviews
32.7 km away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#34 of 44 in Kuantan
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 km away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
17.8 km away
Riverine Garden Hotel
Riverine Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chukai
9 reviews
25.8 km away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Kijal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Kijal

Address: Jalan Kemaman-Dungun, Kijal 24100, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Kijal Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kemaman District > Kijal
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Price Range: RM 235 - RM 404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Kijal 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on an East Coast adventure, and experience Malaysia’s heritage traditions that you would otherwise only seen and heard about. Immerse yourself with your family on a journey filled with exotic cuisines, historical architectures and the beautiful 7.6km stretch of white sand beach while being surrounded by the tranquil ambience away from the usual daily pressure of work. Make your family bonding fun and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorts World Kijal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Kijal Hotel Kijal
Awana Hotel Kijal
Resorts World Kijal Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing