We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach and Ocean only good things there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Perhentian Island Resort
Bells, TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beach and Ocean only good things there!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This was clearly once a nice property but years of neglect are evident in so many different ways: grounds, facilities, service... Our neighbors were visited at night by a rat; we heard EVERYTHING through paper thin walls including unhappy exchange with PIR personnel as they failed to satisfy their distressed guests. Difficult to sleep at night because you can hear everything in adjoining rooms and outside as well. Menu is limited & no beer, wine or liquor is served or sold here. Most upsetting to me is the way the water taxis drive right up on the beach to collect passengers; it will not be long before the beautiful corals & marine life off of this beach is destroyed and they will no longer have that attraction to draw tourists. Such a shame that Malaysia, as a nation, aspires to be an expensive tourist destination to add to their national treasury but does not find it compelling to provide quality facilities, grounds or service as fair exchange for tourist's money. These problems are not unique to Perhentian Isand Resort; we experience similar issues in other parts of Malaysia, particularly Taman Negara, Cameron Highlands to a lesser extent. Exceptions are chain hotels (Shangri-la, Hyatt, Westin, Marriott, Sheraton...) and YTL properties; they know how to please and earn repeat guests. We joked with other PIR guests & from the resort next to it, Coral View (no running hot water in bathroom), about the conditions and we all agreed that we would love to have the opportunity to "fix" this property's problems - ripe with "potential" - PIR was fully booked when we were there!

Room Tip: Rooms on beach are the best. Porch is awesome. No place will be quiet because walls are thin, gaps i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jlgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    257
    229
    136
    101
See reviews for
200
382
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Lovely large resort with best section of the beach- absolutely beautiful! As stunning as Redang but much quieter. Food here not good (most people had the buffet again which is quite expensive and doesnt look nice). Staff were rude and unhelpful- we were told there wasnt a la carte food but there is! Ate once in the restaurant- not great and expensive. Also ate once at the seafront cafe which was not as expensive but the food was not good at all! Eat elsewhere (Watercolours restaurant is the best in the area by far).
First night in superior room at the back of the resort- was very dark at night. Did have a pool view but the pool is small with no sun loungers and very basic. The room also had a private balcony which was nice. Room was quite large with big windows and nicer bathroom with a bathtub not a wet room which was nice. However the room was very dirty with ants and the fridge was disgusting!!
Moved to a deluxe room which had a sea view for days 2 and 3 as superior rooms were full. Staff were extremely unhelpful about this move and tried to say we couldnt book online and had to pay there higher rates. We did end up booking online but had to wait until after 4.30pm to check into our new room (check in was supposed to be at 3pm and we had to locate our other room at 12). The deluxe room was more dirty than the superior- fridge was awful and sheets didnt look clean either!
There was no plug for the sink or a shower curtain so the bathroom got soaked. Room is smaller than deluxe with rattling windows. We were also given twin beds when we had requested a double.
Overall disappointing overpriced hotel with dirty rooms, expensive bad food and rude staff. We wouldnt stay again but the beach is best here (hence 3/5 not lower)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The beach is obviouslly the best on the island. It has both sandy part and the one with the corals where you can go snorkling or diving. I saw a bit turtle just about 2 -3 meters away from the shore! The boats don't bother you as on other beaches as they land apart from the place you swim. And the beach is very long! You can go a bit far and feel like you are absolutely alone in the paradise:) The hotel itself is bad and overpriced (frankly, as all of them on the island). the room is not clean. To some extent because of the sand you bring with you from the beach and because it's not properly cleaned. In our room (garden view) the air-cond was lamost dying and there war no hot water. Breakfast was ok, quite a lot of pastry to choose from, some fruit, scrambled eggs, etc.
Anyway when I go there next time I'm more likely to book this hotel again as the beach compensate all the rest.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter much if you choose the first line of rooms or the third one. All of them are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anastasia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This Island is paradise, the beach is absolutely stunning, the colour of the water is turquoise and is so warm. The reef's are amazing and there are so many turtles to see when snorkeling. Lots of squirrels climbing trees is nice to see and monitor lizards walking around. Bad part this hotel is terrible, rooms are dirty, moldy, no T.V, horrible bed. The staff are unfriendly and don't speak much at all, in the restaurant was the worst service and not very nice food, the waiters sit you down and take half and hour to just get you a drink, they seemed very lazy and had a "I cant be bothered attitude". Recommend this beach but different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I was here for my company trip for 3 days 2 nights trip. At a first sight, the resort has a great turquoise water-colour beach and you may see many colourful fish swimming around. The staff of the resort was friendly and kind to assist whenever you need them. However, the worst staff was the housekeeping staff because whenever you asked them something at morning, you will only get it at night or tomorrow.

Other thing that i disliked was the food served. I think i can cook better than their chef. The food was like overnight food and simple normal ordinary cook/chef can cook better than their chef. (Maybe the one who cooked it was not a chef or maybe just some staff that was in-charge to "cook" ), One more, do not expect their serve plenty fresh seafoods here because all i have just "overnight" fish and some small dried prawn and calamari only.

That is why many people enjoy the beach but stay at other resort like Coral View resort just 10 minutes away. I will go back for the beach but not the hotel in future.

Room Tip: Maybe consider other resort/hotel for better money value and satisfaction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddyTbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.4 km away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
624 reviews
1.3 km away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
227 reviews
3.1 km away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
285 reviews
32.7 km away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,200 reviews
3.3 km away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Island Resort

Property: Perhentian Island Resort
Address: | Daerah Besut, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price range (per night): RM386 - RM682
Hotel Class:3 star — Perhentian Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhentian Island Resort is an ideal beach resort for a leisurely family vacation in Malaysia. Surrounded by lush greenery, facing white sandy beaches and a warm blue sea, Perhentian Island is a holiday paradise not to be missed. Perhentian Island, or Pulau Perhentian as the locals call it, is well known as a marine paradise and forms a parts of the National Marine Park of Malaysia. In the surrounding areas of Perhentian Island Resort, you will find many things to see and do. Take a jungle trek up the hills under a canopy of large trees, and you might see wild magpies, giant fruit bats or the Nicobar pigeon. Perhentian Island lies along the flight path of this migratory bird. You might also see the harmless monitor lizard or even the unique lutong monkey species. The nearest jungle trail is less than 100 metres away from our resort. Or gather your family and head to the inviting sea for a swim. For those who enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving, the Resort is strategically located, fronting a coral-rich bay. The marine ecosystem of this area is well documented and held in high regards by snorkellers and scuba divers. If you come between June and September, you might get lucky and see giant green turtles laying eggs along the beach. Enjoy your next family holiday at this paradise beach resort, where reality is like a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Perhentian Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perhentian Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar
Perhentian Island Pulau Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing