We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
RM 317
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No fees just great deals
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
zuraida89
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Pleasant stay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2020
It was a work trip and stayed for one nite. It is about a 5 minute walk from the jetty to the hotel. I was struggling a bit with my laptop bag and a small luggage during arrival and departure.

Our room is the Family Suite Garden View which is like a chalet. It can comfortable fit 3 adults (1 queen bed and 1 single bed). Our room/chalet is located near the reception / restaurant. It also comes with a dipping pool and a porch with two chairs.

The room is equipped with coffee/tea facilities, a table fan, A/C and small fridge. No bottled water so either you bring your own or boil your own water. The bathroom was also nice and relatively big compared to the size of the unit.

You can snorkel right in front of the restaurant. Not much live corals but got to swim/see lots of fish like parrot fish, clown fish etc. There is also a swimming pool with some lounge chairs.

The staff are friendly and helpful. We had buffet breakfast and buffet dinner which were quite delicious and value for money (i think breakfast buffet was RM25).
Date of stay: September 2020
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 244
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    RM 222
  • Agoda.com
    RM 203
  • Trip.com
0.3 km from Coral View Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
new look
Booking.com
RM 270
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 270
0.9 km from Coral View Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool, nice and quiet yet
Tripadvisor
RM 334
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 334
  • Expedia.com
    RM 334
1.5 km from Coral View Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
RM 265
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Coral View Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Flora Bay 2
Booking.com
RM 210
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from Coral View Island Resort
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    RM 161
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Coral View Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
PIR
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 400
  • Agoda.com
    RM 447
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Coral View Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Coral View Island Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from Coral View Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from Coral View Island Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
129
312
168
79
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
312
168
79
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chalet beach turtles wildlife jetty infront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2020 via mobile

We came after the COVID shut down so maybe were just craving release. Had a cottage on the beach that slept 3 - 1 double bed and 1 single. Was clean, nicely appointed. Good air con and hot water. Staff were very accommodating. For a deposit of RM100, You can get a thumb drive full of movies. Ate 1 meal here - decent. But we mostly went next door to the Borat to eat. Small mini market for snacks and water. No alcohol served/sold on site.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank 478sallyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

We were blessed with hot and sunny weather during our stay here at Coral View Perhentian resort from 9 to 11 Oct 2019.

Our boat had dropped us at the
neighbouring Barat resort jetty .From there , its a 7 to 10 mins walk to the Coral View resort lobby across a sandy beach .

We had initially booked the suite seaview room but were dismayed to find workers busy constructing the resort new swimming pool right beside it. Instead ,we accepted their offer of a free ugrade to the family suite sea view which was generously spacious and had a lovely view of the beachfront and direct sea breeze .

We like the many trees and lush landscaping that surrounds this resort. It provides for a cooling and shaded walk from the noon sun.
One can spot plenty of cute squirrels
which can come thrillingly close to you and the occasional bat and even a huge monitor lizard .

We could snorkel right off our beachfront chalet .The beach is shallow and rocky but the water is clear and warm and there are a lot of fishes.

We took the 5 mins taxi boat ride to the nearby Teluk Keke for its scenic bay view and alternative snorkelling site. Well worth the visit .

There' s plenty of meal options at the CV resort or even nearby food establishment within walking distance so you can have a wide range of local and western choices and not get bored when it comes to food.

There are no TV channels in the room .Instead we got a stored movie thumbdrive at the reception to watch movies in the room for a RM 100 refundable deposit.The 2 reclining cushioned sundeck chairs with its sun umbrella and additional 2 arm chairs at the verandah is a nice touch and welcome addition to enjoy the view and breeze outside .

Interior wise, lighting is more than adequate with the bedside reading lights, chandelier and halogen lights. Curtains abound for privacy from prying eyes.Freshwater shower is strong and hot water is really hot with the usual toiletries provided. There is a fridge but no room safe.

Overall , we enjoyed our stay here and look forward to coming back again next year.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank tychan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2019 via mobile

It should be called ‘No Coral Bay Resort’. This hotel has a responsibility to improve the understanding of visitors to the island about how to care for the marine life in the Perhentians. The Resort has made no attempt to educate their visitors about care for coral or turtles. The coral is terribly degraded and the only turtle was a poor old thing with a chunk out of his shell. Even so I still saw a swimmer grabbing him and stopping it diving.

Directly adjacent to the restaurant is slimy green algae on dead coral.

They are extending their accommodation, but soon there will be nothing for the tourists to see.

The service of the man at the front desk was as close to rude as you could get without actually saying something rude. He was completely disinterested, unhelpful and offered no information about anything. The lovely older lady that had been there on my two previous visits was sorely missed.

The restaurant was empty and the food ordinary. The original accomodation we booked - garden deluxe- wasn’t cheap but we paid more and moved as it was dingy, dark, no where much to sit, no aspect at all and no see breeze as new two story villas now block out the breeze. The most expensive sea view villas were good, though we had to keep asking for coffee and milk so bring your own if you want any. My third visit but I won’t ever come back to Coral View.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
6  Thank hazels906
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2019

Back at the Coral View Island Resort for the 4th time since 1998. Last time was 9 years ago and some have changed but a lot of things are still the same. We stayed in an Oceant front Villa and they were renovated since last visit. The Villa has a King bed and a Single bed, some closets, a workdesk, a refridgerator and 2 armchairs. The bathroom was new and it felt definately more fresh than last time. In front of the Villa there is two wooden sunchairs and two armchairs with a table. It´s a lush garden with a lots of squirrels, some monitor lizards and one early morning and one afternoon a large group of monkeys decieded to jump on our roof and cross our outdoor area. In the dusk you could see the flying lemurs gliding like a huge leaf falling from the tree, and later when it´s getting darker the gigant bats starts flying around you. Right outside the resort beach it´s a coral reef where you can spot a lot of fish, rays and baby Blacktip sharks. This is the most fascinating with Coral View Island resorts. Even if the tourism has increased and usually the animals are chased away, so has nothing changed since 1998 regarding the presence of these animals. In my opinion this is why you should stay at CVIR when you go to Perhentian. It´s a fascinating nature experience. On the downside some other habits from the Management has not changed over the years. The service is still slow and the food is quite blend and boring. We booked room only and had our breakfast and meals at restaurants nearby.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FamJoBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2019

I booked a standard air conditioned room. It was ok. There were other rooms that were more expensive, so they may have been different. My room was tired and could have used an upgrade.

Ate my meals at the restaurant. All were tasty and the staff were pleasant.

The nicest swimming beach is a 5 minute walk away, but you can snorkel from the beach directly in front of the resort.

Had a great massage while I was there.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews