We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Dive Refresher and Scuba Dive at Stingray Alley

Had a week at the Perhentian Islands with my wife. We decided to tune up our scuba diving with a... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2020
sa39561
,
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
via mobile
Excellent Dive Shop

We did our refresher course and fun dives with Universal Diver. Alex was really patient, gave... read more

Reviewed 18 September 2020
MM4749
,
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Read all 226 reviews
  
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
189
22
8
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
189
22
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive master fun dives refresher course dive shop perhentian islands these guys my partner dive school dive experience open water course great facilities great staff the big island sea life special thanks thank you so much charlotte
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Ali and Charlotte are back in full charge of Universal Divers and because of this I did 40 dives in the three weeks! Anybody who dived with them in 2016 and were disappointed do not worry things are back to the good old days. Very family oriented and flexible to provide the best customer service of any of the dive centers in Perhentian. All customers and those just making a casual enquiry are invited to tea and banana cake which even the lizards enjoy.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank johngreenburgh621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Had some really amazing dives with Universal Divers! Beautiful dives, great diveshop and the dive instructors were awesome - experienced, helpful and very friendly! Also, the more you dive, the cheaper it gets. Would love to have taken some courses with them!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank camillabl_1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We did our AOW certifcate with Caroline and we really had a great time. Unfortunately, we struggled in the beginning with some stomac issues and had to postpone the dive course which was not a big deal for the crew. Caroline was really serious and guided us correctly through the whole course which gave us the chance to learn a lot. In the end we did a fun dive and enjoyed the reef with the crew. The atmosphere in the diving center is great and people are friendly and open to everyone. Not to forget to mention the banana cake which is served freshly every morning for free :) The reefs are really beautiful and with a diving center as the Universal Divers the scuba diving trips make even more fun.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Seraina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We visited Universal Divers in June 2017 and found them to be an excellent dive center. Organized, well informed about their divers, patient and above all, experienced with Perhentian and diving.

Planned 6 dives through the package and it was methodically planned. Very focused on diving as a sport and enjoyment, the dive Instructors and dive masters were very careful in the water with the fishes and corals. They were also ethical in that because my party had a junior diver, the depth limits were very well kept to. When diving the dive teams could be seen to constantly pick up rubbish or clean up the ocean.

Would definitely come back next year for Advance.

Great job Universal Divers.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Shazyean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We arrived at Tuna Bay and walked around, looking for a reputable dive centre. We had noticed Universal Diver when we docked at the wharf and checked it out first. The dive centre seemed well organized, friendly and professional so I spoke with Ali, a dive instructor for my daughters refresher.

I am rather careful of my daughters safety and take it very seriously but he gave the right vibe and spoke the right way. My daughter (16 years old and a jr. open water diver) took the refresher and was so happy with Ali and the refresher course. We then took 7 dives over the next few days. 6 with Jay and one with Sebastian.

They were all excellent diver masters/instructors and we had some great dives. The equipment was well maintained and operated properly. That really makes a difference. Safety was always number one but they were not stupid about it either. Lets just say it was comforting to see a PADI dive shop that actually checked for certification and followed what was in the manuals. I really appreciated that. Proper equipment checks were always performed (both buddy and also covert checks by the dive master) as well as comprehensive pre-dive briefings with emergency contingencies. My daughter got to see her first shark (a nice 1.5-1.8 meter black tip) and some other uber cool finds like a pregnant pufferfish, juvenile sweetlips and several juvenile bamboo sharks (large enough to have lost their stripes).

All that is great, but I think what really matters in the review is this - when we come back (and we will!!) we are definitely going to dive Universal again!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Hanerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews