We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
38
59
39
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
38
59
39
15
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2020

The place is clean. Well kept. I just wonder why they make every group of guest to fill up a form during arrival. We have booked and details were provided before hand. We have no complains for the rooms. Place is kept tidy. No litter. Our arrival lunch, dinner and the next morning breakfast was ok. Nothing to shout about.
There is no boiling/hot water available. U need to pay a deposit in order to get a plastic kettle...which they refund u during check out.
Snorkeling trip in the first afternoon was not satisfying as there were too many people at the snorkeling spot.
We were thoroughly briefed before the snorkeling session at the gathering area during our visit to Redang some years ago but this was not the case anymore.
Boarding the boat to the snorkeling spot was a bit of a problem. We were all in life jackets and the wave was strong in the afternoon. People who weren't tall enough, easily gets floated up and were drifting...before they could board the boat. It's a little scary for those who don't know how to swim.
Moreover, some guests jump queue. People...be civilized...aren't u on a holiday? The boat is not going to speed off until everyone is on board...so what's the hurry?
Our 2nd snorkeling trip was more satisfying as we were brought to the Marine Park. However that said, there were too many people around. There were more rubbish being left behind by visitors this time round compared to our last visit.
The only dissatisfying ordeal i had in this resort was the Sunday night dinner. We were provided a steam boat buffet for dinner. They only provide clear soup for the steam boat. There will be an additional RM10 for a Tomyam paste being added. I think that's not very sincere from the resort. There are other types of seafood available...such as shrimp, clams, crabs...of course we have to pay...and it's way too expensive. The worst is...the additional seafood weren't fresh. The shrimp...for instance, has turned black...for pete's sake u on an island. There's a fishing village on the side of the island and u can't get fresh seafood....? The helpers were also slow in replenishing the food. We end up hurried our dinner and walked to the another resort to have a better dinner.
Apart for the dinner, everything was fine. Redang is still very much worthwhile to visit.

Room tip: The chalets
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seowksseng101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2019 via mobile

Positives:
The beach! If the weather's great, you can watch some amazing sunrises from here. Also, there is an area just right in front where you can snorkel, with some pretty corals. The water is amazingly clear too. Staff are very courteous and the service is great.

Negatives:
The meals provided with the package can be better and the rooms need just a bit of refurbishment. Otherwise, it's good for friends and families!

If you're looking for a Redang Island trip that has the fullboard package, it's good to go. I believe there are others in the same price range that can offer better experiences for couples. Much, much room for improvement!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ThomFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2019

We've been planning to go to Malaysia for a long time, but did not want to visit any of the commercial overcrowded places. Redang became and obvious choice due to its location and also that it was a part of the marine park.

The staff at Redang bay resort are extremely helpful. Shing Ng made sure our rooms were ready by the time we arrived. The rooms were absolutely clean. We stayed for 4N/5D and were given complimentary trips to the marine park and Turtle watching. The staff at the dive school are absolutely wonderful and knowledgeable.

We wanted to go for a trek as well but unfortunately it was closed due to rains before our arrival.

Few things the resort could do better:
They do not accept cards and insist on complete payment by cash before boarding the ferry. This can be a put off.

The choice for vegetarians is extremely limited. My wife had a very difficult time as she is a vegetarian. The kitchen staff did their best to accommodate her, but still it could've been better.

Some great things:

Staff always cheerful and ready to help.
Rooms very clean
The reef opposite the hotel absolutely breathtaking
The dive school staff very particular about safety of guests
The swimming pool was kept clean
The resort was nature friendly

All in all a beautiful resort and a lovely island. A must visit and a hidden gem of Malaysia.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sreeram1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2019

Went for my diving course for 4D3N in April 2019. The place did some minor upgrade and renovation, the best among it's would be the better connection of WiFi around the place. Stayed there 2 years ago and the WiFi was bad. Room is very spacious and clean but it seems like you just can't get rid of those sands in your room . There's room of improvement for food. The thing i like the most about Redang Bay Resort and the reason I will come back to it will be the coral reef that's just right in front of the resort and it's the only one around the island.

Room tip: Stay away from dorm rooms if you're a light sleeper as the house bar is just below it.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerSG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2018

A budget-friendly resort with direct access to the beach like many of the other resorts on the island.

A bunch of friends and I (6 people) only had a weekend to spare and Redang Bay resort was the only one that was willing to modify the 3D2N package to 2D1N. The staff handling their communications(both in Facebook and on call) was very approachable and helpful. They do offer pick up and drop off from/to the Shahbandar Jetty for a price included in the package. But the timings are fixed. Pick up is at 9 AM and drop off at 11 AM the next day- which means we had just about 26 hours in the island. They offer a free Snorkeling trip with the package - we only pay for the rental of the snorkeling gear which is 25RM/head. Snorkeling was fun. The dive centre at the resort also offers Scuba diving. Since, we weren't certified, we had to settle for a shore dive that cost us 190 RM/head. We got to see a lot of underwater life and everyone in the group was happy with the experience. The crew had our backs, literally, and were very helpful and ensured we had a wonderful Scuba experience.

They do have a volleyball court by the beach - you can get a volleyball for a nominal deposit. We had a blast playing it with great views and cool weather and fellow tourists - several of the other vacationers joined in!

The dorm rooms were clean, had Aircon. Towels/body-wash were provided. The WiFi was available but none of us got the chance to use it - so, can't comment on the service. The toilets weren't western style and it seemed like they had just 4 showers for about 20+ people. The resort wasn't crowded so we didn't have to wait but do consider it when visiting during a busy period.

The live entertainment in the evening, the bar, cafe within the premises, the food that came with the package - all ensured we had a relaxed, fun-filled day. There's a souvenir shop too. They don't have lockers in the dorms but they let you store your valuables at lockers with their receptionists.

Sure, the facilities could have been better but for the price we paid,I would definitely recommend this one.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashique m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews