We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It grows on you”
Review of Riad Baraka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Baraka
Ranked #12 of 66 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Chefchaouen at Riad Baraka for 4 days and at first it felt like I was at some strange boarding school with house rules written all over the walls, doors, and the windows. It felt a bit too bossy. We soon got over it though and we actually really enjoyed our time here. The staff are friendly and the owner is very helpful and genuine. It's also the kind of place you don't mind lounging about in too after a day of running around. Decent place to stay... Maybe not the most romantic of places though.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JDFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Thanks for Enjoying the Baraka I understand the signs it's because we are a big house but a medium sized hostel so along withe the spirit of Chaouen we try our best to make a relaxed enjoyable place and ask for a bit of consideration for orther guests I hope you understand Cheers joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2015

This B&B Hostel is great. We stayed in a double room with private bathroom and was beautiful. It was in the third floor so it was not really warm but downstairs the common area was quite nice. The terrace is beautiful and the guys running the place are really good. They recommended us really good places to eat. Book! cause its always booked out and its definitely the best choice in Chefchoen, really good.

Room Tip: Both forms and double rooms are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daniela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Lets start with the Positives: The location is good and the prices are okay. Its doesn't include breakfast but for 35DH you get a lovely porridge. The staff (apart from owner) are great and usually have a smile on their faces and willing to help (when owner not around)

Negatives: The Owner! from early in the morning you can hear you yelling, talking, singing. I woke up early to make a head start to the day. I went down for breakfast and she had the radio very loud and she was singing.. right next to a room where people are trying to sleep. I find that extremely rude. The place isnt large and the sound goes very where. She is rude to her staff and guests and when you try and have a conversation with you she talks down to you when you talk to her!

Other negative is that the hostel is freezing (in winter), and they charge you to use a heater!

I left Chefchaouen with a bad taste in my mouth due to my experience at this Hostel. Real shame as it is a great town.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Firstly I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and I do mean that but to clarify a few things no music is played until 9 am and only at background noise level which the vast mojority prefer to silence Breakfast is 25 dh. I do apologise for my mum being to loud for you and singing in the morning(called chirpy where I'm from) should I turn the music up? What our team at the Bararka do is make the room as Cheap as possible as we our a Budget hostel , so if people want Breakfast they can make their own choice instead of automatically including it in the room price same policy with heaters (downstairs common area always heated) you can't have been that cold because if it was me I would have rented a room heater for three euros . Happy Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

This is a great riad with very friendly and professional staff. The room we originally booked here was somehow taken but the owner was very honest about this problem from the moment we arrived and we got an other room and free breakfast as a compensation. Furthermore this riad is very clean, very well maintained and has a great view from the roof. We had a very good experience here and we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Koen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thank you we try and do our very best at the Baraka for all our guests and please do return! Cheers joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014

We only stayed one night unfortunately, but this was a great hostel, friendly, safe and clean, located close to the old town square. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, we felt at home straight away. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to meet some nice folk and chill Out on the terrace.

Room Tip: The four bed dorm or double rooms were best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Millimollymandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thanks for your great review happy you enjoyed our place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.5 km away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#1 of 24 in Chefchaouen
143 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#15 of 24 in Chefchaouen
126 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Dar Antonio
Dar Antonio
#11 of 66 in Chefchaouen
92 reviews
0.4 km away
Riad Zaitouna Chaouen
Riad Zaitouna Chaouen
#2 of 66 in Chefchaouen
81 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Dar Terrae
Hotel Dar Terrae
#18 of 66 in Chefchaouen
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baraka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baraka

Address: 12 Derb | Ben Yakoub, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range: RM91 - RM96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar el Baraka sits just 70 meters from the Medina's main gate, centrally located to explore Chaouen’s ancient Medina. Dar el Baraka is an original six hundred year old riad converted into a comfortable guest house with six rooms, four bathrooms, various common areas and a stunning blue terrace. There are many corners in the riad to curl up in to watch satellite TV, read, talk, or simply daydream. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing