We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Nearby Hotels
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ksar Bicha(Merzouga)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camels House(Merzouga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Julia(Merzouga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Dar Hassan(Hassilabied)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
96
24
8
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
24
8
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewserg chebbiswimming poolthe ownersahara desertcamel ridelawrence of arabiasand duneshot waterberber musicmorocco triphighlight of our triptaginekasbahsunrisestarsguideyusuf
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

kasbah erg chebbi is the best place in morocco,we hade really nice time ther, we fell like we are home, the staff was verry helpfull, the food hmm you never get enought!!! the rooms was clean and nice in berber style,location is the best one in merzouga your bed room is 4 mnt from the sand duns, really Amazing sure we will come back gain.
If you want genuine hospitality, good humor and comfort, then look no further
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 151paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I spent in this hotel only 2 nights but it was amazing experience! The hotel is situated in the desert, exactly in the middle of that, just next to the dune. You can enjoy walking around and having contact with virgin nature. People who work there are locals, some speak 7 languages what impressed me a lot they truly like their work and are very helpful. You can feel like at home the food was fresh and very tasty and of course give you a chance to try everything what is traditional from marrocan couisine, rooms are very beautiful, decorated in tarditional way, each room (of those we had) has bathroom with hot shower (luxury on the desert ). I strongly recommend you that hote !!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magdalena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We drove toward Merzouga in April without a reservation and saw the sign for this place pointing to a track in the desert headed toward the dunes. We took it and were not disappointed. One of the most important things you need to do is get into the dunes far enough to be out of sight of civilization but not lost. We took a sunset dromedary ride into the dunes with our guide, Said, whom we met at the Kasbah. Being from the desert, Said, was very competent with the dromedaires and also captured a sand fish for us to admire and handle. We stopped near the top of a large dune and watched the sunset. Unforgettable experience. Said offered to get us up for the sunrise, but we elected to sleep. You can also take the camels out in the evening, sleep in the desert and come back the next day, rather than sleeping in the kasbah. We chose the evening camel ride, slept in the hotel and left the next day.
The hotel itself is a little on the rustic side, so if you are looking for five star comfort, forget it. They turn off the generators at night, so a flashlight is a good idea if you need to get up, and it will be absolutely dark. Hot water was provided by wood burning heater. They had just had a dust storm, so the outdoor pool was milky with dust.
On the other hand, the staff are very nice and fun to be with. They showed me several different ways to arrange a turban, for elegant evenings out or for a sandstorm. The food was good and we had an excellent bottle of Moroccan wine. Remember that you are here to get the desert experience, hopefully to get to know the staff a little bit (all male, never saw a woman there), and not for luxury per se. In the morning when we left we found our car had a flat tire. Said changed it for us and showed us the less bumpy way to get back to the main road. The tire had been penetrated by a thorn. The tire guy who fixed our tire in Arfoud showed us a pile of destroyed tires and said that the desert is hard on tires.
Just watched the movie Lawrence of Arabia, and 'Awrence' is what the bedouins called him in the movie. If that movie motivates you to want to ride a dromedary across the desert sands like Peter O'Toole with a young bedou to guide you, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropics_in_Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed at Kasbah Erg Chebbi 2 days with my friends and i can recommend that to everybody who want to spend amazing time close to the nature and real dessert culture!

its the best quality for reasonable price! We stayed in many hotels and hostals during our trip and Kasbah Erg Chebbi was the best one! Every room has clean, very nice bathroom and toilet, shower with hot water (thats not so popular in morroco as you think ;)), its pretty nice decorated with traditional elements and has a very comfortable beds.
The hotel is perfectly situated just next to the big dune of Erg Chebbi, just in the middle, you cannot ask for more! You are in the middle of the dessert and the place is sooo clean, the staff is working so hard to manage it.
The power and electricity is provided every afternoon for you to be able to charge your mobile, have a hot showe etc and later when in the night its getting off you can feel the real nature, enjoy natural dessert atmosphere! Its the best place to relax and have fun at the same time, far away from hustle and bustle of big cities!

The staff is very nice and helpful, they will make you feel like at home! Any question or problem you have they will help to resolve that with a smile. What is more they speak about 7 languages so without problems you can comunicate with them. You will feel like a part of the family.
Not only that they have to offer, every night they will let you to enjoy the berber music played alive by drummers (that awesome staff people), you can join them dancing and clapping your hands! Everybody from little kid to elderly people gonna have fun!

They offer you traditional, tasty and fresh food that is changing all the time! You will try all types of dishes that are must eat in Morocco like tajin, couscous, pastella etc etc etc, you will never get tired of that.

I do not think you gonna get bored of enjoying dessert, small cities like Risani and swimming pool that is in the hotel in your spare time but if so as a activities hotel organise camel trips with sleeping in tents in the middle of dunes where you can enjoy the best sky with stars view that you have ever seen in your life, listening to drummers or 4x4 jeep tours in the dessert, thats amazing experience you will never forget and much much more. Your guide guy gonna provide you all informations that you need, gonna show you all the most important places like villages, nomad families etc, you can even enjoy having a tea with nomad people and get to know more about culture and customs.

I can guarantee you that you will never forget Erg Chebbi experience!

Right now as i was there with friends i want to take all my family there to let them feel the dessert spirit! and i hope to visit Kasbah Erg Chebbi many more times!

If you have any question do not hesitate to write me an email.

Regards

Room Tip: rooms we had were brilliant so i suppose all of them are like that :)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guciap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I was in Morrocco several time, but first time that I feel real sahara end berber spirit was when I stay in Kasbah Erg Chebbi. If you want hotel with five ( 5 ) or more stars, then do not go in Kasbah Erg Chebbi, but if you want live with domestics, simple people, have many fun and many good musics, and warm atmospher, Kasbah Erg Chebbi can bee your chois. People working in Kasbah will organised for you sahara safari with jeep ( if you want crazy drive, you will get it ), lunch in gnaua (this is somethnik special ! ) village with gnaua music, discovering rocks mountains near Erg Chebbi, tea in tent with berbers family end many other thinks. Prices for night ( with half pension ) are not expensive, ovners are very friendly people ( to young man ) who will done many thinks for feel you good. We have in Erg Chebbi our rent a car, one day with our car we have a big problem, but ovners of Kasbah, take our car in other city and return with apsolutly corect car. They did not want take money from us for what they done. I love Kasbah Erg Chebbi end i will return in this litlle berber paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbPula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews