We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Auberge Africa(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$23
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camels House(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Akabar(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Accommodation MOHA(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
US$27
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Camping Ocean Des Dunes(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
96
24
8
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
24
8
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewserg chebbiswimming poolsahara desertcamel ridelawrence of arabiasand duneshot waterberber musicmorocco triphighlight of our triptaginekasbahstarsguideyusuftentterrace
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This place is amazing. The people that run it are wonderful and do everything to make your stay as perfect as it can possibly be. The food is great, the camel ride into the desert is something that is worth going half way around the world to do, the rooms are comfortable and stay very cool when it is too hot to go outside and watching the sunrise with a glass of sweet tea was one of the highlights of my trip. You can not do better then to stay here.

Room Tip: Not sure, just let them know what your needs are.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The brothers/owners, Mohammed and Yusuf, have an impressive and easygoing atmosphere - an incredible value for the budget-conscious. All the staff were incredibly friendly and offered everything on site that we needed (meals, water/drinks, etc.) and arranged our overnight camel caravan into the dunes right from here at a very reasonable price. Walk out the front door and you are right at the foot of Erg Chebbi dunes. We joined staff playing wonderful music at night under the camel-hair tent and moonlight, and there are large, colorful common spaces to eat, read, use WiFi or relax. We liked that the location was a way out of the town of Merzouga, maybe between 12-15 km away?, and therefore quiet and incredible night skies! Be sure to ask the owners for a pickup from Rissani or Merzouga as currently most tourist buses (CTM and Supratours) are only available as overnights from Fes and Marrakech and arrive quite early in the morning before most things are open. But then again, if not, you will likely just be treated to Berber hospitality as we were, kindness abounding out here with peope more than willing to lend a helping hand.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We've been in kasbah erg chebbi for one week, it has been an amazing experience. The hotel is awsome, well located, in the middle of the dunes, you can really feel the nature, you can enjoy amazing nights under the stars, sunsets, sunrises... and you have also a swimming pool!! I don't have words to describe the hospitality of the people from the hotel, they've treated us as a family and they've given us all we need. I strongly recomend this place for all the people who really want to enjoy the desert and to experiment new feelings, to know themselves, to share, to live... because there are very few places where you can feel as home, and this is one of them! We will come back for sure!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maite P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

we planned to stay in Erg Chebbi for one night and we finally stayed 9 days....we got trap and this amazing place.... seeing the sunrise,the sunset,the starts and moon in this beatiful place in front of the dunes it doesnt have price..
the place is magic and also the rooms are ok eventhought i recomend to sleep in the dunes at least one night!!! it has swiming pool as well!!!

but the best is the staff, they treat us like a family, make us feel just like at home...the food perfect!!!

if you have the possibility to go....just go!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neni84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We arrived to Kasbah Erg Chebbi in a planned trip promised nice rooms with AC, swimming pool. So all in all it sounded pretty nice.
The room was alright, but there was no AC in the 40 degrees heat of the desert at this time. Almost impossible to sleep. This was due to that they havn't got a permanent electricity source there and only runs on solar power! The light was therefore also comming and going. The door lock to the room was also broken, so we couldn't secure our valuables there and had to leave it open.
The promised swimmingpool was closed because there was flying sand it at all times and managers didn't wanted to clean it. For me a pretty lazy attitude.
Good things to say is that the food was alright, the location right next to the dunes was good and the staff in general was good.
It seems like this place is in decay and a lot of things could be done there. All in all the stay was okay, but not top end and could definitely have used the extra goods that were missing.

Room Tip: Check if AC is working and if the is able to lock before you select your room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mortn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews