We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$93
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$18
US$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$212
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Aart Court(Lagos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
19
38
22
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
38
22
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge meetingbreakfast roomattended a conferencefriendly receptionvictoria islandrooms are hugeconference facilitiesnigerian standardssea viewbusiness hotelcomfortexpresswayconssecurityenvironment
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

It has been two years since my last stay at the Oriental. Very little has changed. Just the move of the lobby restaurant which moved to floor 4. Pity that there is no signage whatsoever to direct one to the new venue.
The rooms are huge compared to other hotels and the river view rooms have big windows. It is a relaxing view in a hectic city.
Food in the hotel is primarily Chinese with Japanese as the other choice. There is a Nigerian breakfast buffet option too.
The Oriental lacks the glitz of the major chain hotels but it is very good value for money.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Bruce G,

Thanks for staying with us, we appreciate your comments and feedback.
We are also glad it was pleasant, be rest assured of our best attention, while
looking forward to welcoming you back,on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

I was a speaker at an event. The hotel services and comfort were excellent. The staff was friendly and the food was quite good. One evening we had a reception bye the pool that ws very nice. I recommend the Oriental Hotel.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank rap1badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Daer rap1badger,

Thanks for sharing your experience on your last visit, it always encouraging to know that it was positive
On behalf of the team we say a big thank you for letting us know we exceeded your expectation,
We do hope to see you on your next visit to enjoy the Oriental experience.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

I have stayed in the Oriental hotel on several occasions. Good continental breakfast, the staff can be sometimes really excellent and sometimes really horrible. If you have any issues, you can call the managers (they are both German and really helpful). The pool area is excellent for a beer and relax time in the evening, they even have some local performers during the weekends. The rooms are cleaned daily and all the amenities are replaced (not so common for Lagos hotels)

Room Tip: Aim for higher rooms and not towards the main road, can be loud if there is an event in the hotel
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlavkoZivkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear SlavkoZikovic

Thank for staying with us, and for sharing a positive experience on TripAdvisor.
We take delight in satisfying our valued guest, and exceeding their expectation
Your views will be shared with the team, on how to deliver a good customer experience
Thanks and we do hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

I stayed at the hotel during the Christmas holidays and MOST DEFINITELY left 2 brand new shirts that cost me $300 in the closet. I called back 2 days later and have been calling the hotel since i checked out on January 9th 2018. Not once has the manager called me back or emailed me. Every time i call, i am told they would check and i should call back, when i do call back, it's the same story all over again. The housekeeping staff is definitely stealing guest properties at this hotel and that is ridiculous. I need a full refund for my shirts! a night at the hotel cost $220 and i can't get the hotel to look into my $300 shirts????

One month later, i have called again today and they took my email and sent a followup saying the items were not found and they cant provide any further assistance!

Also: the staff (ALL the STAFF) keeps haunting you in the hallways and elevators asking for tips! absolutely terrible!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bit7ocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear bit7ocker,

Thanks for taking time to write your reviews.We are disappointed about the issue you had during your stay
Rest assured your observation and complaint, are well noted for necessary action.
Again we appreciate you for your kind feedback.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

The room decor is rubbish. Bathroom is dated. Mine had broken tiles. The food is rubbish. Ordered chinese for room service. was a waste of money as i couldn't eat the food. The breakfast was also horrible. The only nice thing i'd say is the view of the lagoon which isn't exactly anything fantastic

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dati3514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adedoyin a, Guest Relations Manager at Lagos Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Datti3514
Thanks for staying with us and for posting it on TripAdvisor. We are deeply sorry for the not too pleasant experience you had in your last stay, issues raised have been escalated to the concerned department and resolved to prevent future occurrence.
Thanks and we do hope to see you again, to enjoy a new and vibrant Lagos Oriental hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews