We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A long walk to get to.”

Los Jardines de Mandor
Book In Advance
More Info
US$810.00*
and up
Machu Picchu Private 2-Night Tour from Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A family initiative for enviromental protection located 4Km from Machupicchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), where you can walk into biodiverse gardens enjoying, learning and at the same time contributing to the restoration and preservation of the habitat of hundreds of species of flora and fauna in a vulnerable state due to many factors such as climate change and human factors.​​
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A long walk to get to.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

It's a long walk to the gardens along the railroad tracks and a long walk through the gardens with not much to see just to get to a small waterfall. Not really worth the time or energy.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank BWBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    122
    45
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“worth the walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

A 45-60 minute walk on an easy path beside the railway tracks heading towards Hydroelectrica (the opposite direction to Ollantaytambo). Great rapids to see en route. When you reach a samll hostel on the left you pay a small fee and they open the gate opposite to let you into the Mondor valley.

A lovely hour or so's walk around this beautifully kept botanical garden / valley with several waterfalls.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Welsh_traveller1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

It was a short hike from our hotel in Aguas Calientes; maybe about 2 miles. Once we arrived, we were the only two people who had signed in for that day. Once we were let through the gate, it is a quiet 1.5 mile hike to the falls. We would have loved to have packed a lunch, so if the weather permits I recommend doing so. The smaller falls we came across were a great introduction to the Mandor Falls.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
231 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice botantical garden and waterfall for half day hike!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Had extra time in Machu Picchu and decided to hike out the Los Jardines De Mandor (Mandor Garden and Waterfall). November was not an ideal time to visit the gardens, but this would be a good attraction at other times of the year. Waterfall at the end is very nice and the day we visited, there were an abundance of butterflies. A large variety of plants, flowers and trees. You can make advance reservations for a guide to take you through the garden. Drinks and a restaurant is available. Entrance fee - S10.

It is possible to pay a small fee at the Machu Picchu bus station and get a bus ride to the bridge (but not back into town). This would cut off a short hiking distance.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank LovetoWalk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Adventure Down the Railroad Tracks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

About twenty minutes in our walk down the railroad tracks, we were wondering if we had taken a wrong turn. Just keep going, and going, and going, and all of the sudden you arrive to a little house with a man collecting money outside. For a small fee, he let's you in to the locked gardens of Mandor. There were only a couple other people on the loop. Unforunately we did not see any really impressive birds, but we knew they were there because we could hear them - what a beautiful symphony of sounds! There were a couple of smallish waterfalls. It was a nice tropical jungle vibe walk, that I would recommend as a half day adventure.

One note - I came very very close to stepping on a HUGE green snake on the railroad tracks on the way back. I come to learn it was extremely poisonous. So, please keep your eyes peeled! We saw a toucan outside the gardens, so I was busy looking up for more birds when the encounter happened.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillytraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Jardines de Mandor also viewed

Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Los Jardines de Mandor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing