We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Enough Handrails for the Steps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Location is truly wonderful set in the cloud forest and with cock of the rocks and hummingbirds darting through the vegetation. Unfortunately this means that there are many steps to navigate from one part of the hotel grounds to another. Beware there are no handrails making venturing forth another expedition after Machu Picchu. With it being a cloud forest there is a lot of precipitation making these steps slippery on top of the fact that they are uneven. Building handrails would not detract from the environmental attractions.

Our room had two large beds and a single. Heating comes through an electic heater or a log fire. The latter is preferable. Hotwater bottles are the norm and very welcome.. THe bathroom is essentially a large shower and a basin as well as the toilet.

Food is excellent although we did not venture to the Cafe as this meant going down all the steps then yet moreand cross the railway lines. Not well thought out! The lcoation of the hotel next to the railway station is a positive however.

Staying here is worthwhile but some more thought should be given to those who are not as nimble as others but are still fit.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,700 of 2,622 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

Our travel agent recommended that we stay here instead of Sanctuary Lodge and we couldn't have been happier with the choice. It was the perfect oasis after a busy day at Machu Picchu. We felt like we were staying in a jungle town by a river. The thatched cabins (some with fireplaces) were relaxing and the dining room was first class. If you have enough energy after Machu Picchu, the hotel has beautiful gardens and paths to explore. Otherwise, head for the spa for a relaxing massage.

On our last day, we checked out and stored our luggage - - went up to Machu Picchu for a hike to the Sun Gate - - in the afternoon, we returned to the hotel and relaxed on the comfortable sofas until it was time to catch our train. The hotel staff took our bags down to the train. Very easy and hassle free.

For those worried about not being right at Machu Picchu and relying on the buses - - don't worry. The longest we waited for a bus was 5 minutes. The 20 minute ride was pleasant. The Sanctuary Lodge is located outside the main gate and I believe they only have a 20 minute headstart on the early risers from the MP Pueblo Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a dehumidifier. My friend's room had one and it was much fresher than mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OgoCinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I landed in this hotel as part of a tour group & could not believe my luck ! The cabins hidden in the rainforest in which flew hummingbirds; the hot pool first thing in the morning was all very Zen. But be warned the paths are steep and stoney, after a day walking every inch of Machu Picchu I needed the stick offered a member of staff who saw me hobble up the steps ! All the staff were lovely if too attentive. Caught in the shower I had trouble getting rid off two men keen to give me chocolates and yet more towels. The cabin was hugh with an open fire where you could have roasted an ox, which I could have had lit if required (no ox provided). There were wraps, slippers & the affore mentioned chocolates. Outside was a small sitting area. There was a afternoon tea with brownies and other treats & dinner was superb. The hotel provides eco tours of the grounds and its own tea plantation. The is also a sancutuary for Andean Spectical Bears which you can visit at an extra cost. I would recommend this trip which funds the bears keep & a rescue programme. In its enclosed grounds this hotel is a haven after the excitment of Machu Piccu and the bustle of Aguas Calientes.

Room Tip: Choose a lower room near the public rooms unless you like hiking or want seclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The trip through Peru to Machu Picchu could not have provide us with a more delightful place to stay (short of the Sanctuary in MP itself). Beautiful buildings all looking as if they organically rose from the forest floor, some like tree houses others like hobbit houses. Pathways that twist around the flora leading you to small places of wonder - whether leading to the spa or the pool or the naturally heated hot springs. I made it a pastime to look for more waterfalls and see where they came from or where they led. Do go to the restaurant, do visit the store, do drink yet more wonderful Pisco Sours at the bar, do expect to get wet during the rainy season.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Spent a few days here with my husband to celebrate my 50th birthday. Oh my goodness.... I was so blown away! We walked into our sumptuous & spacious cabin to find a wonderful roaring log fire. We also had our own infinity heated rock pool spa which was totally private and surrounded by tropical rain forest.
During our stay we did a few treks and excursions all of which were most enjoyable.
The food in the restaurant was delightful too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jujack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.7 km away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,877 reviews
0.6 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,090 reviews
2.3 km away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 6 in Machu Picchu
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
656 reviews
0.4 km away
El MaPi by Inkaterra
El MaPi by Inkaterra
#5 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
2,148 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel

Address: Railroad Km 110, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#3 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: RM1,825 - RM4,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting Andean village hotel is located within 12.3 acres of pristine cloud forest. The spectacular grounds are laced with paths that wind past waterfalls and trails, and organic gardens that wander through the misty forest. A place to relax, while exploring nature and encountering the wonders of the Incan civilization, experiencing authentic travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Machu Picchu Inkaterra Hotel
Pueblo Hotel Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing