We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Santuario Hotel(Aguas Calientes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu(Aguas Calientes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Rupa Wasi Lodge(Aguas Calientes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel(Aguas Calientes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Parque(Aguas Calientes)
View Hotel
Casa del Sol Machupicchu(Aguas Calientes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El MaPi by Inkaterra(Aguas Calientes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Jaya Hotel(Aguas Calientes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,937)
Filter reviews
1,937 results
Traveller rating
1,435
361
89
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,435
361
89
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscevichethe busthe rivercooking classmachu picchuwelcome drinkbeautiful hotelstar hotelpisco soursthe hotel staffcourse dinnerbreakfast and dinneri highly recommend this hotelbeautiful roomincluded dinnerroom ratesacred valley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,937 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We love this hotel! after a long 5 hour hike to Aguas Calientes from Hydroelectirc. Staff were very helpul, when they saw us arrive late at night, we irder a warm coñac and got it on the spot! This was part ofnout wedding trip, so we had a nice chocolate gift! Oh the room facess the river, water streaming puts u to sleep. Brealkfast and Dinner included. Since we difnt make for breakfast first day, aftet the long walk..they brought a feliciouos fresh breakfast to our room. All the fays the food was fantastic! even had gluten free bread!! After visiting the park, the next day, we stay to enjoy the hotel and town. At the bar they had a class of how to make Pisco Sour and typical caviche and we got a free apron, with recipe writting on it. We definetly come back!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dorisz2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dorisz,

We appreciate your kind comment and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel.
As you mentioned, Sumaq is concerned about ensuring the highest quality in our services. We hope that, thanks to the culinary classes that you have taken part in, you can prepare some Peruvian dishes at home.
We hope to see you soon at Sumaq.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We regretted staying here two nights because our room was small and felt damp. Bathroom was ok. Clean. The canopes and drinks were lovely though. Overall the service was good. Breakfast was good however.

Stayed: September 2017
4  Thank Anenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr Anenta

We thank you for choosing Sumaq as your hotel during your trip to Machu Picchu. We are sorry that your Sumaq experience has not met your expectations. We take your comments very seriously because only then can we continue to improve and create a cultural experience for everyone.
We will carefully ensure that none of our guests have the same concern again.
We hope that you come back very soon and experience the improvements that we have implemented. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

A truly wonderful 'full board' experience - magnificent setting besides the rushing river - and a very short walk to the train station/buses to MP/town centre.
I think all (?) rooms have the front river view - ours certainly did. There was a warm friendly welcome drink, the dinners were superb (we're very fussy about our food) and the one breakfast we had was fine. We elected to take a packed breakfast the first morning as we wanted to start our hike very early.
Hotel provides baggage transfer to the station upon arrival/departure which was very handy - also good to know that the bus down the mountain can stop right outside if requested.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank beachsideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr,

Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family.
It is wonderful to read your comments and find out that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel.
We have designed our rooms to ensure that even the smallest detail is of your liking.
We are very grateful for your comments. We hope that you will return soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

A smashing hotel in a good location for the village and bus stop / train station. Rooms are large with good beds and our room had a whirlpool bath - great after a day climbing to Machu Picchu. The river outside of the hotel was in full spate and was impressive so ask for a room overlooking the river.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ANGELA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Angela,
We thank you for choosing Sumaq during your stay on your trip to Machu Picchu.
Without a doubt, we have built our hotel in a privileged location so that guests can sleep at the foot of Machu Picchu and enjoy a beautiful view of the Vilcanota River.
Additionally, our culinary services offer dishes made with hand-selected and highly researched ingredients. We hope the results have been to your liking and that you come back very soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

If you are looking for a high end stay experience in MP this is the one. Warm welcoming staff, a complimentary local drink while you are being checked in,comfortable seating in bar area or at fireplace to warm your bones after a long day. Large, well appointed rooms and those on the front are OVERLOOKING the river. In rainy season river runs fast, high and loud so be prepared for an experience. An excellent hotel an easy walk from the train station and bus for MP departure point.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymous842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Mr Anonymous,
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family. We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu. We work hard to meet your expectations, and we are happy to know that our staff, culinary experience and services in general have been to your liking. Your opinion encourages us to continue working as we take part in the wonderful experience that our guests have in Machu Picchu. We hope that you will return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews