We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel wrong location”
Review of Aruba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aruba Hotel
Ranked #8 of 104 Budva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Part of a tour with Explore Montenegro we stayed a week in this hotel at the end of May 2014. We had a great holiday but to focus on the hotel: The location is probably most suitable for a night or if you have own transport but there is nothing there. The staff at the hotel are friendly, like many locals they spoke excellent English, and did their best to please but the food was just unacceptable. We ate as a group but after a disaster of a welcome dinner our tour rep agreed to treat us to a proper meal 'a-la-carte', that was even worse. It just was not a place to spend the evening let alone eat.

The building seemed fairly new although there were occassional problems which the staff were left to deal with, there seemed to be no maintenance support. There was air conditioning in our room but not very effective, the nights were very warm, and I would not like to try it mid-summer.

Although isolated the hotel has bikes available for use and there is a lovely beach only a couple of miles away. However, the bikes are poorly maintained and we spent an hour with the receptionist trying to get some going. There are a supermarket and a restaurant within easy walking distance, the food there was very good, but no atmosphere in the village. The nearest town is Budva which we all enjoyed and it is between 7-10 Euros, each way, by taxi. Taxis have meters but I would recommend just clarify the price first.

Room Tip: there is a tennis court and a pool at the rear, the front is a car park and the road. No real views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cliveandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel has good rooms many with balconies ( although views are not interesting. Mine was over a back garden). The staff were really friendly and helpful. Service was quick and the food in the restaurant was good, although the breakfast offering was minimal.
The location in a small village however was limiting as there was nowhere to walk or much to see. Obviously taxis are easy to get but I find it a bit constraining not being able to get around easily.
With a car or other transport this would be a nice and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wontremember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Never been to Montenegro? Nor had we.Flew via Dubrovnic and transfer to Budva.This hotel is actually in a small village outside Budva and very quiet. It is a taxi or bus ride into town although the timetable should not be relied upon. They do offer free bikes of all shapes and sizes but check them before you ride them as maintenance does not appear to be a priority.Having said that we took some out on several days without problem. It is an easy ride of about 15 mins down to Jaz beach with a wide path most of the way. The beach beds and small parasol cost 7 euro for the day and is a better choice than the varying size of pebbles to lay on.If you wish you can stay by the small pool which is very pleasant but beware the water is on the cold side.If exploring further afield hire a car with insurance at about 42.00 euro a day.All the local towns are worth a visit for different reasons but Kotor is the best within a taxi ride.If expensive boats , a new marina and boutiques is for you head to Port Montenegro at Tivat. All these places were explained to us in perfect english by the girls on reception who could not have been more helpful.
The hotel is in very good order throughout, rooms have lots of space, 2 tv's, good bathroom, hot water at all times and a comfortable bed. They are serviced every day. Breakfast is typically a simple affair and if the coffee or juice runs out the staff will replenish them if you ask. Had a couple of meals from the restaurant and could not fault the food or price,however there is a really good restaurant about 100yds away on the main road heading away from Budva.Local wine here is exceptional..
Our holiday rep and transfers were organised with Tour Montenegro.There were a few small issues which i am sure they will iron out. Not all the organised trips were available and we had to make our own way to one trip as they do not do pick ups or returns to the hotel.
Montenegro currency is the euro but beware if you are flying via Dubrovnic in Croatia. Duty free will take Euro's but the coffee and food bars dont. You will need local currency or a credit card.
We had a good relaxing week, I hope you do as well!

Room Tip: Quietest A/C i have ever come across and easy to operate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steve22073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from 7 nights at Aruba Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is situated 10 minute drive from Budva and travelling without a car this did mean we had to bus or get a taxi into Budva. Taxis were about 9 Euros each way, the bus service was very reliable and we tended to get the bus into Budva in the evening and taxi back. We also took the bus to Kotor and Podgorica both trips not costing much at all. Podgorica was not worth the visit, but Kotor was very pretty and only a 20 min drive away. The pool area is lovely and beach towels provided by reception. Nearest beach is Jaz Beach which is a 10 minute bike ride away, along a main road but is fairly flat so not too strenuous! Rooms were immaculate and huge, bathroom also big and very clean, clean towels everyday. Breakfast was the only negative of the stay, with coffee running out and flies on the food. Reception staff could not do more to help, advised us on where to eat and helped with taxis/restaurant bookings etc we did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holsthomas0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Situated some 5 miles from busy Budva, a good location for touring the area.
Hotel is spotless. Bedding and towels changed every day. Breakfast is not great but adequate. The supply of coffee and anything else that runs out is haphazard. Lunch is fine, but for us it was not a dinner place, there is a super local restaurant 150 yards away.
The staff were very good, very friendly and efficient ( except at breakfast !!)
In common with the rest of the country this is very good value for money and would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: rear rooms will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickgee564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budva hotels
4.6 km away
Hotel Podostrog
Hotel Podostrog
#13 of 25 in Budva
42 reviews
4.4 km away
Avala Resort & Villas
4.5 km away
Hotel Oliva
Hotel Oliva
#4 of 104 in Budva
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Apartments Vidikovac
Apartments Vidikovac
#2 of 104 in Budva
89 reviews
4.6 km away
Freedom Hostel Budva
Freedom Hostel Budva
#2 of 299 in Budva
93 reviews
3.6 km away
Saki Apartmani
Saki Apartmani
#15 of 299 in Budva
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Hotel

Address: Lastva Grbaljska, Budva, Budva Municipality 85317, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Budva
Price Range: RM 242 - RM 659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Aruba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing