We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best guest houses in Sri Lanka”
Review of Montana Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montana Rest
Ranked #2 of 148 Anuradhapura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst touring Sri Lanka. One of the best guest houses in Sri Lanka. A very nicely decorated hotel with lovely woodwork and clean and comfortable rooms. Plenty of communal arrears to sit and have a drink or use WIFI. A good restaurant with a tasty selection of food on offer. Staff very welcoming and nothing too much trouble - service excellent. Good location down a quite side street but with easy walking distance to the town which has restaurants and a large supermarket. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaterinaBarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2015

This was a really nice hotel and great value for money. It was probably the cleanest hotel we stayed in throughout our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka. Dinner was very nice too. The manager is a very nice, honest man; we had to change our plans and only stay one night at this hotel instead of the 2 that we had booked - he generously only charged us a proportion of the room cost for the second night. We left before breakfast but he made us a take-away breakfast and drove us to the station in his car but only charged us the same rate as a tuktuk. Definitely stay here if you go to Anuradhapura.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 18cristiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2015 via mobile

Of the places we stayed in sri lanka this would have to be the best value for money. We only stayed one night but the rooms are very clean and the ensuite bathroom was very well maintained. You could smell the disinfectant so you knew it had been cleaned well. The shower was hot and it had a good mosquito net. Because of all the tiles it was slightly noisy in the morning but overall very good. We had dinner and breakfast which was nice plus got some tips for getting about. It is a great city and well worth looking around.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Studavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We loved our stay at this guesthouse. The room was clean comfortable, hot shower if you need it, linens all in great shape and bed an actual mattress! Mosquito nets over beds and needed, wifi worked great. I would recommend upgrading to a/c, we did not have it our first 2 nights as we never use it but it is HOT in Annaradhapura and slept much better night 3 after using a/c. The included breakfast was lovely and a good size, fruit platter, fresh juice, coffee or tea, eggs and toast. We did eat a number of evening meals there and the woman who cooks is fantastic...definitely order in advance and do the rice and curry but the fried noodles with chicken was really good too! The highlight to the property is the "do it all" guy Jagath...he checks you in, arranges tours/drivers, serves meals, trouble shoots, brings beers in the afternoon, you name it! This guy has a wonderful personality, is beyond helpful and I do believe really wants you to have a good stay. If he has it available his mother-in-law HAND makes coconut oil, this is not the clear stuff you can buy in any shop, this is woodfire, hand mashed pure coco oil and it is amazing, buy some if he has it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 08HeatherR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Stayed 3 nights at US $29 a night. Breakfast not included. Perfect WIFI. Great staff. Central location (map on booking.com is wrong) a 5 minute walk or 100 SLR tuk tuk to Main Street (which isn't overly exciting). Hired scooter at SLR 1500 per day to get around. Spacious modern room with comfortable enough bed and hot water. Bar fridge in room. Air con. Nice sitting and breakfast area. Pretty relaxed environment and a good base. Minintale worth the effort if you have transport and drive most of the way up. Pizza Hut down turn but guest house food also pretty good. Tuk tuk to old bus stand 200 SLR

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
0.0 km away
Little Paradise Tourist Guest House and Holiday Home Anuradhapura
0.0 km away
London Palace
London Palace
#11 of 148 in Anuradhapura
182 reviews
0.0 km away
Lievi's Tourist Accomodation
Lievi's Tourist Accomodation
#5 of 148 in Anuradhapura
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Andorra Tourist Rest
Andorra Tourist Rest
#6 of 148 in Anuradhapura
124 reviews
0.0 km away
Lake Wave Hotel
Lake Wave Hotel
#15 of 148 in Anuradhapura
161 reviews
0.0 km away
Travel Lodge Lake View Tourist Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Rest

Address: Stage II, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Anuradhapura
Price Range: RM76 - RM97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide both A/C and Non A/C, triple, double and single rooms with and without breakfast. Only 500 meters to the ancient, sacred city of Anuradhapura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Montana Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing