We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,184)
Filter reviews
4,184 results
Traveller rating
2,644
1,008
362
103
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,644
1,008
362
103
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgeoffrey bawasigiriya wingrock faceunique hotelsri lankapanoramic roomelephant ridelarge hoteloverlooking the lakestunning locationa la carte restaurantour honeymooneco parkkandalama tankeco friendly hotelluxury room
Filter
Updating list...
1,758 - 1,763 of 4,184 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2015

This was a welcome return for us to a hotel that is always on our list when we visit Sri Lanka. It sits high up along a long mountain ridge with the monkeys, birds, bats and butterflies for company. while the swallows swoop below. This time we were lucky to obtain what must be one of the best, if not the best room in the hotel. It was on the fifth floor looking out over the lake towards Sigiriya in the distance. It was both spacious and comfortable. we had one large window looking to the East to catch the morning sun, the other looked North to the lake and hills. The location is good for the temples of Dambulla, the mountain retreat of Sigiriya,several national parks and to form a focal point for other points of interest. It even had its own resident elephant - rather poshly dressed, who will oblige with lakeside rides if you wish. There are boat trips on the lake too. In short, a place to rest, holiday and contemplate.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view - too low down and you may have mainly the trees and monkeys to look at.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwall0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Heritance Kandalama.

Thank you for your positive endorsement specifically regarding the room facilities, unique ambiance setting, and the destinations in the cultural triangle you've visited during your stay with us at Heritance Kandalama. We certainly hope that we were able to contribute for a memorable holiday experience filled with captive memories which you could dearly hold.

As we once again thank you for patronizing Heritance Kandalama for the unique offerings that the hotel delivers, we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Priyan Wijerathne,
General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Being an executive chef in a 5* resort expectations are generally high. Kandalama was a real pleasure to stay in. The hotel its self is starting to look a little tired but in saying that it is still good quality. But the real winner is the staff. All the staff are happy, polite, professional, well groomed and enjoyable to be around. Credit to the GM and HOD's as this is not easy to achieve in a Hotel this size. The food was a very high standard and different for the 5 days I was there. Fresh, good quality and selection. The Chefs and wait staff were 5* standard and I was looked after very well.

Would I recommend this hotel? Yes for sure good job Kandalama!!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shann0n79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your holiday getaway destination and for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor.

As you have mentioned in your valuable feedback, we are delighted to hear that you overall holiday experience at Heritance Kandalama was able to meet your desired expectations and delivered a memorable experience. Thank you for your kind acknowledgment of our staff and their attentiveness coupled with the culinary expertise of the hotel which you have found to be wonderful.

Also, please be informed that the refurbishment plans of the hotel will be initiated in the near future. As we once again thank you for patronizing Heritance Kandalama for the unique offerings that the hotel delivers, we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Priyan Wijerathne,
General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night and it was wonderful. An excellent service. Beautiful place. I can recommend to all. The food was good and variant. Three pools were beautiful..... If I go back, I always choose this hotel...

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank Harshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We are truly delighted and inspired by your kind acknowledgment of the services and the facilities that Heritance Kandalama had to offer during your stay with us. it was a pleasure having you with us at Heritance Kandalama and we sincerely than you for providing us the opportunity to be at your service.

We look forward very much to welcome you back again at Heritance Kandalama. Be sure to keep us informed when you're making your holiday plans again so that we could be ready to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Priyan Wijerathne,
General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

My husband and I stayed here just one night during a 3 day trip from a hotel near Colombo in 2003, and it took our breath away, absolutely beautiful hotel and surroundings. Lovely massive room and lovely food. You must stay here once in your life, the memory will stay with you forever.

Room Tip: I've had to tick any date we stayed as the option didn't go back to 2003
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We are indeed delighted to note of your sincere compliments regarding the overall services and the facilities our hotel had to offer during your stay with us. Also, we are glad that you've had a memorable experience and you thought that the hotel's unique ambiance definitely supplemented your experience to be as pleasant as it could be.

We sincerely hope you'd continue to patronize Heritance Kandalama for the unique offerings which the hotel has been renowned for over the years and certainly visit back for another memorable stay.

Yours sincerely,
Priyan Wijerathne,
General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

As you approach you wonder were it is ! it is built on the side of a rock face hidden behind trees and hanging plants.
The view from the rooms is fantastic, looking over the tree line and the lake. There are 3 pools including an infinity pool looking towards the lake
The ambience, food and great staff make this a definite place to stay on any Sri Lankan trip. The elephant ride was a great start to the day.
If you are in your room or bathroom with there great views over the lake and suddenly you become aware that you are being watched ! you probably are by the many monkeys that congregate on your balconies or in the nearby trees

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dwc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer during your stay with us. Serving you during your stay with us has been a delightful experience and we thank you for providing us the opportunity to do so.

I certainly hope that Heritance Kandalam has contributed with some fond memories that you could dearly hold. Be sure to keep us informed when you're making your holiday plans again so that we could be ready to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Priyan Wijerathne,
General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews