We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in an unique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2015

The hotel was designed by the inventor of the 'Modern Asia' architectural style, Geoffrey Bawa and is indeed unique. It hugs a cliff and as plants grow everywhere on it (sic) it is about to be taken over by nature as it melts into the surrounding jungle. While more than two decades old, it still appears modern and is well maintained. Staff are well trained and utterly friendly and competent, the food is ok. While interesting sites are nearby, the hotel itself is a tourist attraction.
The emphasis on ecology throughout the hotel is noteworthy, and a stay should include a visit to the ECO Center and a tour with its very competent head, Mr. Sanath Velarathna

Room Tip: Choose a better (i.e. more expensive) room for the pleasure of having a generous bathtub w. jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank uboegli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your preferred accommodation partner in the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting an insightful review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

Serving you during your stay with us has been a delightful experience and we thank you providing us the opportunity to do so.We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer during your stay with us.

We sincerely hope that you will continue to patronize Heritance Kandalama for the unique offerings which the hotel has always been renowned for. Be sure to keep us informed when you're making your holiday plans again so that we could be ready to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Priyan Wijerathne,
General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,323 of 3,668 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2015

This was a welcome return for us to a hotel that is always on our list when we visit Sri Lanka. It sits high up along a long mountain ridge with the monkeys, birds, bats and butterflies for company. while the swallows swoop below. This time we were lucky to obtain what must be one of the best, if not the best room in the hotel. It was on the fifth floor looking out over the lake towards Sigiriya in the distance. It was both spacious and comfortable. we had one large window looking to the East to catch the morning sun, the other looked North to the lake and hills. The location is good for the temples of Dambulla, the mountain retreat of Sigiriya,several national parks and to form a focal point for other points of interest. It even had its own resident elephant - rather poshly dressed, who will oblige with lakeside rides if you wish. There are boat trips on the lake too. In short, a place to rest, holiday and contemplate.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view - too low down and you may have mainly the trees and monkeys to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwall0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Heritance Kandalama.

Thank you for your positive endorsement specifically regarding the room facilities, unique ambiance setting, and the destinations in the cultural triangle you've visited during your stay with us at Heritance Kandalama. We certainly hope that we were able to contribute for a memorable holiday experience filled with captive memories which you could dearly hold.

As we once again thank you for patronizing Heritance Kandalama for the unique offerings that the hotel delivers, we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Priyan Wijerathne,
General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Being an executive chef in a 5* resort expectations are generally high. Kandalama was a real pleasure to stay in. The hotel its self is starting to look a little tired but in saying that it is still good quality. But the real winner is the staff. All the staff are happy, polite, professional, well groomed and enjoyable to be around. Credit to the GM and HOD's as this is not easy to achieve in a Hotel this size. The food was a very high standard and different for the 5 days I was there. Fresh, good quality and selection. The Chefs and wait staff were 5* standard and I was looked after very well.

Would I recommend this hotel? Yes for sure good job Kandalama!!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shann0n79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your holiday getaway destination and for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor.

As you have mentioned in your valuable feedback, we are delighted to hear that you overall holiday experience at Heritance Kandalama was able to meet your desired expectations and delivered a memorable experience. Thank you for your kind acknowledgment of our staff and their attentiveness coupled with the culinary expertise of the hotel which you have found to be wonderful.

Also, please be informed that the refurbishment plans of the hotel will be initiated in the near future. As we once again thank you for patronizing Heritance Kandalama for the unique offerings that the hotel delivers, we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Priyan Wijerathne,
General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night and it was wonderful. An excellent service. Beautiful place. I can recommend to all. The food was good and variant. Three pools were beautiful..... If I go back, I always choose this hotel...

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank Harshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We are truly delighted and inspired by your kind acknowledgment of the services and the facilities that Heritance Kandalama had to offer during your stay with us. it was a pleasure having you with us at Heritance Kandalama and we sincerely than you for providing us the opportunity to be at your service.

We look forward very much to welcome you back again at Heritance Kandalama. Be sure to keep us informed when you're making your holiday plans again so that we could be ready to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Priyan Wijerathne,
General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

My husband and I stayed here just one night during a 3 day trip from a hotel near Colombo in 2003, and it took our breath away, absolutely beautiful hotel and surroundings. Lovely massive room and lovely food. You must stay here once in your life, the memory will stay with you forever.

Room Tip: I've had to tick any date we stayed as the option didn't go back to 2003
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We are indeed delighted to note of your sincere compliments regarding the overall services and the facilities our hotel had to offer during your stay with us. Also, we are glad that you've had a memorable experience and you thought that the hotel's unique ambiance definitely supplemented your experience to be as pleasant as it could be.

We sincerely hope you'd continue to patronize Heritance Kandalama for the unique offerings which the hotel has been renowned for over the years and certainly visit back for another memorable stay.

Yours sincerely,
Priyan Wijerathne,
General Manager, Heritance Kandalama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
5.1 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,709 reviews
7.4 km away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 16 in Dambulla
171 reviews
9.1 km away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 16 in Dambulla
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,518 reviews
10.6 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,644 reviews
2.4 km away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#5 of 16 in Dambulla
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: RM590 - RM1,938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing