We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amaya Lake(Dambulla)
US$147
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Amaya Signature(Dambulla)
US$229
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$335
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$40
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
JC's Village(Dambulla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,111)
Filter reviews
4,111 results
Traveller rating
2,598
995
353
101
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,598
995
353
101
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgeoffrey bawasigiriya wingrock faceunique hotelsri lankapanoramic roomelephant ridelarge hotelstunning locationoverlooking the lakea la carte restaurantour honeymooneco parkkandalama tankeco friendly hotelluxury room
Filter
Updating list...
3,252 - 3,257 of 4,111 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We stayed in the Heritance Kandalama for 2 nights in March 2010 on a private tour across Sri Lanka. Upon arriving at this property, one is impressed by the beautiful and lush surroundings. At first glance, the room looks nice and the bathtub which sits almost like a balcony as it jets out with a view of the surroundings is an excellent concept. However, after a while, one can tell the hotel is in dire need of renovation. It is old and worn. The worse part of the hotel is in the evening. There are lizards everywhere. Every night, after eating dinner and returning to our room, we would find at least 3 lizards in our room. I was so terrified, I had to sleep with the lights on. Some of the lizards were huge. We also found other small bugs and ants on our bed. I understand, I am in the wild but I do not necessarily need to sleep with all the bugs and insects. If I enjoyed that, I would be camping and not paying $150 per night for a so called 5 star hotel. There are also monkeys hanging about outside your room and you are suggested not to leave the balcony door open as they will come into your room. At least, that part I can manage as we did not open the balcony door.

We had half board which included a buffet breakfast and buffet dinner. We found the items in the buffet line to be cold and lukewarm at best. Only items you cook to order was hot and edible. The first night, there was a grill outside with shrimp, chicken, pork, beef. The items there were good. The second night, they had vegetable tempura and chicken stir fry. Also, those items were good since they were hot in temperature. Breakfast was the same. If you order eggs or omelets to order, they were good. The buffet items were not very good.

It would be hard for me to recommend this hotel to a friend since I do not care to stay at a place with worn down rooms full of bugs and insects.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Two nights of our recent honeymoon were spent here, and we were amused that, luxurious as our room was, it had twin beds!! A splendid room, with even more luxurious bathroom. The views from both rooms over the tops of the trees (with Macac monkeys on the balcony) over the lake, towards Lion Rock, were spectacular. Many events are organised from this interesting hotel. Sadly we did not have time to enjoy all of them but an elephant ride through the "jungle" and around the edge of the lake was an experience not to be forgotten. The infinity pool is small, but sufficient for cooling off at the end of the day. A vast selection of food was available from the buffet in the restaurant. A lovely hotel, but too large for our personal preference.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkSophisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

After a long drive we arrived in Kandalama, great location with the lake and the jungle. The room we were given was a little old, nice view right on the lake, the size was ok. The overall feeling is that you are in a busy hotel with large groups, for example in the restaurant we felt we were in an airport lounge, it is huge and large groups are merged with individual guests. Maybe will be more appropriate to have a second restaurant more intimate and with a little supplement guest can choose to go.
The food was good but not exceptional, the service was just ok.
The hotel itself its very nice, whoever has had the idea to build in 1994 something modern and with clear lines in the jungle was ahead . We would return to this hotel, but I can't avoid to say that they should do some renovation and some improvements on the service and quality side.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

It could be a nice place, but everything is going down the drain. First, after 2 hours in our room, the A/C is not doing is job, to cool down, So we had to pack and move down to an other room. The A/C is working a bit more. But not to the level of a Grand Hotel. I must say that the personnel is very up to the challenge. They smile and wish to help. The cleanliness is Sri Lankan level, should i say more!!!.The food, well a buffet is a buffet, When we ask , à la carte, that night there was no à la carte menu, so another so so buffet. If you still want to go, use a driver, the road up to the Hotel is a challenge .
the view for a sunset is very nice over the mountains.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Location
The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere down a long dirt track full of potholes, and bizarrely speed humps. The hotel has a good view on a clear day of Sigiriya and over looks a large lake.

Overall Impression
On first arrival, you are firstly greeted at a large reception area. The hotel itself is not easily visible as it is camouflaged into it's surroundings by clever use of vegetation. We took a boat safari on the lake and got some good shots of the hotel. it is nice to see a hotel that is so carefully hidden in the landscape as this one.

There is a lot of wildlife around the hotel including two types of monkey (both like to visit your balcony and enter rooms if they get a chance). We also saw sea eagles, kites, and a family of mongoose. Although we stayed three days, we only had one afternoon to use the hotel facilities and took the lake safari trip which is a great way to view the hotel and surrounding (mainly) bird-life. there are plenty of other eco-based excursions available as well.

Room
The room was ok, relatively clean and with a view. Decor was jaded, and there were lots of signs of wear and tear. The room could easily be improved with a refurb.

Food
We stayed on half board, which means buffet every night. The buffet was adequate but nothing really stands out to distinguish it form all the other buffet's we had during our stay

Service
The overall service was good although for both dinner and breakfast service the waiters hardly let you finish before whipping away your plate. At one breakfast we went up to get some fruit to find our table, including coffee cleared away on our return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews