We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One visit's not enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritance Kandalama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Dambulla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2010

I endorse the positive reviews that most guests have on this hotel - it indeed is a great experience. Particularly relaxing is the view to the horizen over the lake, grazing cows, forest and the distant mountains from most parts of the hotel. We did a day trip to Anuradhapura (one and a half hours away), which was another awesome experience. Made full use of the jacuzzi in the room when we got back in the evening. I also recommend the 7th floor restaurant - not only does it gets you away from the noisy buffet below, but they also have a great grill. For the record, I managed to climb till the frescoes at Sigiriya in about 30 minutes, but had to leave the rest for the next visit. Tip: be ready to start climbing when they open at 8am.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoggingPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,875 - 2,879 of 3,667 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

We stayed in the Heritance Kandalama for 2 nights in March 2010 on a private tour across Sri Lanka. Upon arriving at this property, one is impressed by the beautiful and lush surroundings. At first glance, the room looks nice and the bathtub which sits almost like a balcony as it jets out with a view of the surroundings is an excellent concept. However, after a while, one can tell the hotel is in dire need of renovation. It is old and worn. The worse part of the hotel is in the evening. There are lizards everywhere. Every night, after eating dinner and returning to our room, we would find at least 3 lizards in our room. I was so terrified, I had to sleep with the lights on. Some of the lizards were huge. We also found other small bugs and ants on our bed. I understand, I am in the wild but I do not necessarily need to sleep with all the bugs and insects. If I enjoyed that, I would be camping and not paying $150 per night for a so called 5 star hotel. There are also monkeys hanging about outside your room and you are suggested not to leave the balcony door open as they will come into your room. At least, that part I can manage as we did not open the balcony door.

We had half board which included a buffet breakfast and buffet dinner. We found the items in the buffet line to be cold and lukewarm at best. Only items you cook to order was hot and edible. The first night, there was a grill outside with shrimp, chicken, pork, beef. The items there were good. The second night, they had vegetable tempura and chicken stir fry. Also, those items were good since they were hot in temperature. Breakfast was the same. If you order eggs or omelets to order, they were good. The buffet items were not very good.

It would be hard for me to recommend this hotel to a friend since I do not care to stay at a place with worn down rooms full of bugs and insects.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Two nights of our recent honeymoon were spent here, and we were amused that, luxurious as our room was, it had twin beds!! A splendid room, with even more luxurious bathroom. The views from both rooms over the tops of the trees (with Macac monkeys on the balcony) over the lake, towards Lion Rock, were spectacular. Many events are organised from this interesting hotel. Sadly we did not have time to enjoy all of them but an elephant ride through the "jungle" and around the edge of the lake was an experience not to be forgotten. The infinity pool is small, but sufficient for cooling off at the end of the day. A vast selection of food was available from the buffet in the restaurant. A lovely hotel, but too large for our personal preference.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkSophisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

After a long drive we arrived in Kandalama, great location with the lake and the jungle. The room we were given was a little old, nice view right on the lake, the size was ok. The overall feeling is that you are in a busy hotel with large groups, for example in the restaurant we felt we were in an airport lounge, it is huge and large groups are merged with individual guests. Maybe will be more appropriate to have a second restaurant more intimate and with a little supplement guest can choose to go.
The food was good but not exceptional, the service was just ok.
The hotel itself its very nice, whoever has had the idea to build in 1994 something modern and with clear lines in the jungle was ahead . We would return to this hotel, but I can't avoid to say that they should do some renovation and some improvements on the service and quality side.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

It could be a nice place, but everything is going down the drain. First, after 2 hours in our room, the A/C is not doing is job, to cool down, So we had to pack and move down to an other room. The A/C is working a bit more. But not to the level of a Grand Hotel. I must say that the personnel is very up to the challenge. They smile and wish to help. The cleanliness is Sri Lankan level, should i say more!!!.The food, well a buffet is a buffet, When we ask , à la carte, that night there was no à la carte menu, so another so so buffet. If you still want to go, use a driver, the road up to the Hotel is a challenge .
the view for a sunset is very nice over the mountains.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
5.1 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,709 reviews
7.4 km away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#1 of 16 in Dambulla
170 reviews
9.1 km away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#8 of 16 in Dambulla
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,517 reviews
10.6 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,644 reviews
2.4 km away
Amaya Signature
Amaya Signature
#5 of 16 in Dambulla
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Kandalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
Price Range: RM604 - RM1,852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing