We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“SUPERB ACCOMMODATION, WELCOME & SERVICE”
other travellers have booked this property
Bungalow Thilina
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bungalow Thilina
Bungalow Thilina Bungalow Thilina at dusk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Bungalow Thilina
Bungalow Thilina
Bungalow Thilina at dusk
Verandah
Verandah - cushions for comfort
Sun-loungers on verandah
Sun-loungers on verandah
Living-room
Living-room with satellite TV and wifi
Living-room with a/c unit and ceiling fan
Living-room
Bedroom with double bed with sprung mattress (4'6' width)
Bedroom with fitted wardrobes
Bedroom with chest of drawers
Bathroom with walk-in shower. Hot water available. Hair-dryer provided.
Galley kitchen with fridge-freezer and microwave
Galley kitchen with kettle and toaster (no oven or hob)
Access road and entrance gates
Front-loading automatic LG washing machine in laundry room to rear of villa
Self-coding safe bolted to the wall
View from verandah - early morning sunlight
Paddy fields en route to beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

JillandHo...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUPERB ACCOMMODATION, WELCOME & SERVICE”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just spent six idyllic nights at Udaya’s and Loco’s fantastic cottage, tucked away from all road noise and enjoying a beautiful garden location surrounded by a cinnamon forest.

We quickly warmed to our hosts who couldn't have done more for us. The cottage is so well equipped I defy anyone to do better. Such generosity of spirit is hard to come by.

Another good reason to choose this cottage is that Udaya is an official tourist guide; totally trustworthy; a safe driver and willing to take you to all the beautiful places. His prices are very competitive and he has a brand new air-conditioned Kia 4x4 which is very spacious and comfortable.

Loco is a lovely person who just wants you to be happy. When she's not teaching at school she's busy tending her beautiful garden or preparing delicious food (for you too if you ask).

Lastly, this special little intimate cottage offers exceedingly good value for money. You will not be disappointed. I promise.

Date of stay: March 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hikkaduwa
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quite location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Timothy19...
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“COMFORTABLE, CHARMING CABANA”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We would stay here again. THE PROS: located in "jungle" with wide variety of trees, plants, bird sounds, etc (mongoose waddled by once when I was writing on veranda); nice kitchen (no stove, but a microwave); nice writing desk, comfortable furniture; good attention to details the traveler might need; UDAYA and his wif e Loku, were fabulous! Located away from noise of main road; A/C worked well; nice feeling of having a "home" away from home. CONS: Internet available only with a dongle and you need to download a program. My wife had no Internet unless she wanted to use my laptop, and sometimes it was hard to get the Internet to connect. Once we did, it worked well. But it was a daily hassle. Hot water not always available for showers. Evidently solar heated. We had a couple days when hot water was not forthcoming.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts and location
Liked least: shower - solar heated (cold on the one wet day!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
56mags
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so relaxing”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful relaxing time at the bungalow. Breakfast on the veranda every morning was served with a lovely smile from Loku and a chat about our evening before. .Udaya and Loku, who look after the property are very helpful. The property is very well equipped with everything you need and free dongle for wifi which was excellent.
We had traveled round other parts of sri lanka before our stay and this was just the chill out we needed. There are lots of different birds visit the garden but the highlight for me was the monkeys, they sat in the trees and I left bananas and they would climb down to get them as long as you moved a safe distance away.
It is only a short tuktuk drive away from the beach and restaurants. Kusala the tuktuk driver Marc recommended was fantastic, always smiling. He even took us to a lovely place by the lake to try but waited until we were sure we liked it before he left, and of course he was right, we even went back again.
Loku offers to make an evening meal for you if you want it, a Sri Lankan curry,and it is very good... The only thing about it I didn't like though,(so didn't ask for it again) was because I thought the meal would be on the veranda like we had breakfast, but instead it was in Udaya and Loku's house,I felt very awkward sitting eating our meal with the family watching tv so I didn't enjoy the food as I should have and rushed through it.
This is a perfect peaceful clean and well equipped property just 5min away from all the bars and restaurants, I would definitely go back again.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.