We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$57
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Holiday Resort(Hikkaduwa)(Great Value!)
US$10
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ocean View Cottage(Hikkaduwa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$24
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vibration Hotel(Hikkaduwa)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Citrus Hikkaduwa(Hikkaduwa)
US$63
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$57/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aditya(Hikkaduwa)
US$178
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,994)
Filter reviews
1,994 results
Traveller rating
942
668
206
89
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
942
668
206
89
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschaaya tranzcrab restaurantpool barsri lankacorner suitemain restaurantaction stationssea turtlesseafoodpublic beachlarge turtlesspecial thankspool sidedinner buffetprivate balconyprawnsindian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
867 - 872 of 1,994 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2015

I stayed in Chaaya Tranz in May 2015. The highlight of the hotel is that it is located right on the beach. The rooms are quite spacious and the balcony offered a beautiful view of the vast ocean. The pleasant sea breeze in the evenings was awesome. The ambience was perfect for a calm and relaxing holiday. The buffet dinner as well as the breakfast menu were quite elaborate. Other facilities such as gym and spa were also good. The staff was also very helpful. However, the rooms could have been done better and there were some signs of dampness due to proximity to the beach. Overall, it was an awesome experience and would love to come back again!!

Stayed: May 2015
Thank Rashi987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan D, General Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Chaaya Tranz. .We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location of rooms facing the ocean is an undisputed advantage. The food/ beverage & other facilities together with the friendly staff makes us an ideal holiday resort. We would loved to see you trying our Sea Food " The Crab " Restaurant.. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

Old rooms, poor designs, outdated facilities. Badly need a refurbishment.

Good dinner and breakfast buffet - preferred more quality than quantity.

Front office staff - inefficient and untrained. It took more than 1hr+ to check in and at check out they were not aware of of the room booking basis.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank MoeWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan D, General Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback following your recent stay at our resort.
We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. The delay in check-in could be due to request of preferences not available at check-in time. Will certainly look at this aspect from a customers view and address same. Thank you for sharing your experience of the food/beverage offerings & bringing your views to our notice. Also we take note of areas needed for future / further developments & improvements.
We hope you will continue to stay with us on your future visits to Sri Lanka, giving us the opportunity to indulge you in hospitality at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

We visited here as two families, and both families loved the place. The check in was smooth, the rooms were spacious and had a nice balcony facing the sea. The buffet was great - but I thought the one in Cinnamon Bey (another unit of the same chain) was better with a larger variety. The staff were friendly and efficient.

The sea is beautiful but was a bit rough when we were there. Also the local beach boys coming to harass the women kind of put of off the beach - and more around the swimming pool.

Room Tip: For good view of the sea, take the first floor
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bhava4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan D, General Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz. .It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us & make note of your comments. Our accommodation facing the ocean, food/beverage offerings, friendly staff together with other indoor/outdoor facilities are placed uniquely to the advantage of those who select Tranz. . We eagerly look forward to having you with us again & experiencing our other facilities like the " The Crab " Restaurant & the Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

We were there for 2 days. The hotel is great. Take rooms from the top floor. Has great view of the ocean. The beach is really cool. Nice warm water. The hotel is really nice. Large spacious rooms, and very clean. The food was not that great with less variety. The staff is ok. Not too friendly. But they were helpful. Check-in process took a bit longer than usual. But overll a nice place to stay if you are in hikkaduwa. The only drawback is the beach boys and sales people. Real.pain in the neck. Other than that its a cool place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan D, General Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us & take note of areas highlighted for future development/ improvements. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Two days ago we visited this place, since we had prior booking and detailed arrangements all went on well.
Arrival and check in was smooth and efficient. Rooms were well acquainted and spacious we had 206 and 208 both had nice see view.
Lunch was good I won't say great comparing their Cinnamon Lodge at Habarana, Desert selection was less but nice.
Staff members are of high quality especial mention to Anura who made the stay very memorable. I must mention Sampath the animator a special thanks, for kept us occupied.
It has free wifi
I will recommend to anyone with out any hesitation.
Hotel management must look into the security staff they have an attitude issue and very rude to the guest especially the parking slot persons.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aadhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan D, General Manager at Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. Our rooms, food/beverage offerings, staff friendliness & service is a key to our success. We do take note of areas stated for improvement & thank you for bringing same to our notice.We eagerly look forward to having you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews