We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,099)
Filter reviews
2,100 results
Traveller rating
992
702
217
93
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
992
702
217
93
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chaaya tranz crab restaurant pool bar sri lanka main restaurant corner suite action stations sea turtles public beach seafood large turtles special thanks dinner buffet prawns indian ocean ocean view private balcony
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 2,100 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The staff at the reception were polite, friendly and greeted us with a smile. The building while looked a bit dated had a great view with the room being spacious, clean, well appointed and air-conditioned and comfortable. A decent sized pool (including a kid’s pool) is available for a cool dip after a long day. The service was good with the waiters around to assist and serve you but on occasions seemed a bit rushed due to the number of guests. A wide selection of Sri Lankan and Western dishes was available from the buffet. There was entertainment during the evenings which included Kandyan dancers and a fire eater. One thing that was surprising and inconvenient was the fact the mini bar was locked which meant I could not cool my bottles of water. Other than that, I would recommend Cinnamon Tranz to any potential traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _renny_suhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

The hotel has an awesome location very easy to find. They have sign board on the road from the moment we exited the express way. Checking in is a bit slow but the good thing is they have waiting area with couches and they will give you welcome drink and cold towel to refresh while waiting for the room key. No need to stand at the check in counter because once done, a representative will come to your seat to give you key card and other info. We booked the standard room for 3 person. The room is nice. All rooms are facing the ocean so you get a nice view from the balcony. Interior was ok. The couch can be converted to a single bed which is perfect for my 12 y.o son. You can tell that the hotel is a bit old because some parts of the room like the door in the bathroom are somewhat broken. Shower heater is a bit off. The temperature keeps fluctuating and it's a bit annoying. My husband almost burnt his skin because of the sudden burst of hot water. Good thing the shower area is huge enough to move away from the water. I like the huge balcony with seating area. It's a nice place to sit down and share afternoon snacks with the family. It's also a good place to dry wet swim clothes. The pool is huge. You won't have a chance to bump into other people because there's enough space for everyone. The hotel has direct access to the beach which is awesome. It was a bit windy and the waves are strong so we didn't bother going in the water but you can walk around the seashore and mingle with the locals. One even pointed us to a huge turtle near the shore! The breakfast has a huge selection. They have western food and Sri Lankan food which we enjoyed the most. The taste was average, nothing special but it is enough to make a satisfying breakfast to start the day. We didn't opt for the dinner they are offering because the prices in their restaurants are a bit expensive. Instead we explored the area and found some good restaurant with yummy Sri Lankan dishes for a cheap price. It's worth walking and exploring around. Check out was pretty smooth. It was faster than the check in process. Overall, it is a nice hotel with nice and friendly staff and good amenities. The rate of the hotel is much higher than the other hotels in Sri Lanka but their price is reasonable enough. We had a relaxing stay so I couldn't complain. There are things they still can improve. My family will definitely go back here!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank X3415FMaprils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Oldish hotel situated at the perfect location in hikkaduwa. Rooms are spacious with a balcony which has a fabulous view of the sunset. Food is typically great cinnamon food with a well spread buffet. Lots of things to do in the beach including snorkelling to see the corals and fish and the turtles who come in for food add to the flavour. All in all a good experience at an affordable rate.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rameendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Hikka Tranz is set in a great location right on the ocean. Have to mention the Crab restaurant run by Sam - great seafood and Aussie steaks - Sam is a brilliant host who works really hard to make dining in the restaurant special. We had the personal beach BBQ. Great value, plenty of lobsters, prawns and fish. In particular the seafood bisque is AMAZING!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and the view from each balcony is just beautiful so you can watch the sunset right in front of you.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel on 18th to 20th Dec 2017 on full board basis. Got a nice room with a balcony facing the indian ocean overlooking the large swimming pool. Staff and Food was also good. Had a working Wifi connection although it not the fastest. Beach is safe for a nice bath and you can go for coral seeing also. Overall a great experience.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ambassador721503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews