We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Citrus Hikkaduwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citrus Hikkaduwa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Hikkaduwa
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Came to this hotel from mearby after booking online the night before.on arrival they couldn,t find booking,i had to summon from my phone,were generally unprepared and very inflexible on trivial things.
i nearly walked oit but dodnt want to waste a nights deposIt
When finally taken to my room which stank of damp i was left with a tariff for the mini bar.......shame i had no fridge either!!!!...
A big no from me im afraid

Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
Thank 767Brad1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are indeed saddened to hear that your stay with us did not meet expectations. It is unusual to hear that there was a lack of coordination at the front office. However, we shall look into the matter and rectify the same. Your comment on a missing mini bar is also curious as all our rooms are equipped with mini bars. However, we shall investigate into this matter.
We do apologise for any inconveniences caused during your stay.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 397 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2015

I stayed at the Citrus Hikkaduwa with a friend for 5 nights in March. We had a top floor delux room. It was large, clean, comfortable, and had lovely views from the balcony over the gardens and sea. We had requested twin beds, but on arrival discovered that there was just one large double bed. However, within 5 minutes we were given an additional full single bed as well. The room was more than large enough to accomodate this. The airconditioning was very effective, and there was a small fridge and flat screen TV. The only real criticism I would have was that there was insufficient drawers or shelves to store our clothes on. As other reviewers have mentioned, both the road and the ocean are noisey, but we felt that the location more than made up for this.
The Hotel is not luxurious, but has everything one could want. We found the range of food on offer good, and very fairly priced, as were drinks. The catering staff went out of their way to please, and were always helpful and smiling. I had never had Jack Fruit prior to visitiing Si Lanka, and could not find it anywhere in any of the restaurants, despite being told it was a very traditonal Sri Lankan food. I mentioned this to the head chef, and he went out of his way to accommodate me, preparing a curry with Jack Fruit in it especailly for me. I was very impressed.
Immeaditely in front of the Hotel, there is a coral reef. It is not possible to swim here, but it was fascinaitng to paddle in the rock pools. There are a huge variety of fish to see. The water in the area tends to be very rough, with dangerous undercurrents, so not good for poor swimmers, and dangerous for good ones a lot of the time. If you turn left from the hotel, and walk for about 10 minutes, you come to an area of beach that is longer and shallower. We did some body boarding here, which was fun. If you turn right from the hotel and walk around the headland, there is a gentle area of beach and sea, that is protected by rocks and coral reef. Large turtles come in here to be hand fed, and local boatmen will row you out to the rocks to snorkle. This is well worth doing, as the snorkling is very good. However, just swimming from the beach is excellent too, and many large and colourful fish can be seen this way.
There are many restaruants and bars along the beach, and its lovely to sit at one of these with a cocktail in the evening and watch the sun go down. There are of course the usual vendors touting their goods on the beach, but they are very friendly and gentle, and it is interesting to see the wide varitey of goods they turn their hands too in order to eek out a living.
All in all a lovley hotel, in a good location. Not good for peace and quiet, but great for variety and interest.

Room Tip: top floor - quieter with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummymummyPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback of your recent stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are trilled to note that your overall experience with us had been satisfactory including the quality and taste of food available, the high standards of service of our staff members and the general ambience of the property.
We hope to welcome you again.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

We spend one night here and got a deluxe room on half board basis. We went bit early around 12 but they arranged check-in very fast. Only issue was even in delux room bathroom was so tiny. They should have given more thoughts when making rooms and categories.

However we got nothing to complain other than this room issue. Food was perfect. We had dinner and breakfast there. Well the choices of food is limited there but everything we tried was tasty. All the staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Beach in front of hotel is not suitable for sea bathing. But If you walk away 10 min you will find perfect location for a sea bath.

Room Tip: Get from upstairs. Private balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nisal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at Citrus Hikkaduwa. We are happy to note that your overall experience with us met your expectations including efficient and friendly staff, the variety of food available and the general ambience of the property.
Thank you again and do visit us soon.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

There were many good things, average things and poor things about the place.

Firstly, the poor. We had a room on the third floor. The room was on the smaller side, but completely clean and nice - but the washroom was tiny! There are no taps apart from the wash basin (forget trying to clean only your legs after a walk on the beach), and the toilet is separated from the shower area by a thin curtain. Expect to smack your hands at every turn trying to take a shower, and perpetually wet floors. The safety locker in our room did not work, but we made no fuss about it as we were more than happy to take care of our valuables without it.

The average. The beach experience is average, as one cannot wade into the sea portion right in front of the hotel. The view is average (for a Sri Lankan who is accustomed to seeing the sea on a daily basis). Cannot comment about the pool as we did not use it. The TV is rather small, the two chairs in the room are nice to look at, but not too comfortable to sit in.

The good/great. The service here is simply brilliant! Everyone is helpful and full of smiles- only too ready to oblige! Worth a visit simply for the amazing service, as these people are the famous hospitable Sri Lankans books are written on. The food was really nice as well. The choices were rather limited, but they tasted really great!

All in all, great place if you are looking for a nice place to stay while surfing/snorkeling. Great food, great people and average rooms.

Room Tip: The 3rd/4th floor rooms are a lot less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Minoli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus_Leisure, General Manager at Citrus Hikkaduwa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comprehensive feedback of your recent stay with us. We are grateful for you for highlighting areas that require improvement, in your view that would add up to the overall guest experience. We shall look into these areas and address them immediately.
We have noted your commendations of the excellent service of our staff and the quality of the food available.
Thank you again. Do visit us again during your next visit to the southern coast of Sri Lanka.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Enjoyable stay at Citrus. Prompt check-in, superb location along Hikkaduwa beach. The staff seemed friendly & happy to have you there. Nice restaurant with the beach view & the breakfast buffet spread was excellent. I think I was given a room in the old wing - seemed aged and old. Compact room but it was comfortable. Thank you for the warm stay.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ShaQMnzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 km away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#3 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,755 reviews
0.8 km away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
719 reviews
5.2 km away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
372 reviews
2.4 km away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#15 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
119 reviews
2.2 km away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hikkaduwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hikkaduwa

Address: 400 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Hikkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#7 Family Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Price Range: RM279 - RM827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citrus Hikkaduwa 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miles of golden sands. Days spent lazing on the beach in the heart of Sri Lanka's Southern Coastal Belt, or exploring the ocean, diving shipwrecks, and snorkeling the reef. Poolside cocktails. Seaside lobster. Beach walks. Rainforest excursions. Friendly smiles and personalized service, whether you are a first-time guest or one of the many repeat visitors. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citrus Hikkaduwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Hikkaduwa Hotel Hikkaduwa
Amaya Reef Hikkaduwa
Amaya Reef Hotel Hikkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing