We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Anantara Kalutara Resort(Kalutara)
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
US$60
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$194
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
AVANI Kalutara Resort(Kalutara)
US$115
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,376)
Filter reviews
1,376 results
Traveller rating
605
480
187
61
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
605
480
187
61
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaelephant orphanagesister hotel next doorswim up barcurrywestern foodtuk tukdress codecrazy golfday triptea and coffeegreat holidayyala national parkall inclusive optionmeal timesricekalutara town
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 1,376 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We found this to be a comfortable and well run hotel in a good location. We particularly enjoyed the changing menus and themed nights and the services of the pleasant and helpful staff.
Sanka Tours situated close to the hotel offers a selection of trips to get to know the real Sri Lanka. Sanka and his driver are very professional and we had a fabulous tour of the Hill Country which included a three hour train ride.

This is a great hotel for beach and pool and there are pleasant walks to be had by the sea.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea and third floor was excellent for us.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tametiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_CRM, Customer Relations Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Tangerine. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Trust we would be able to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed for new year holidays and enjoyed our stay. Nice and relaxed pool and very friendly staff and very clean. We arrived early morning and there was a problem for early checking but they have promised to arrange a lounge for early comments to get rest before their room is ready

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shavarsh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_CRM, Customer Relations Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Tangerine. We are happy to hear that our services and facilities were up to your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

This was one of the best hotel we stayed.clean and nice room very good space.nice balcony with furniture facing to pool view.nice restaurant food was very good too much variates.staff was fantastic housekeeping doing great job to maintain the cleanses. We will come back on April.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Thilak1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_CRM, Customer Relations Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Thank you for the review of your recent visit at Tangerine. We are happy to note all the encouraging comments & look forward to welcome you again in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This Hotel is a two hour drive from the airport.

First impressions were very good, a nice reception area and check in was quick. The hotel does AI, HB and FB. Lots of different nationalities 60% Russian, Brits, German, Belgium and Chinese. Generally tidy and well presented all over the site.

We were shown to our room which was a lovely size and a lovely 7 ' double comfy bed, a settee and large dressing table with a multi country plug. Lovely hot good showers.

All the staff were friendly, helpful with smiling faces, some of the best I have come across...well done to them.

The swimming pool was very large with warm water, quite empty of people when we was there but nice to get in few lengths of swimming. A pool bar with a swim up section. Aqua aerobics every day about 11 am.

Very large grounds with plenty of sun beds and shades also beds under trees. Many animals about, lots of small tame squirrels taking food out of your hands, sit begging and squawking at you, monkeys and a 4' Monitor lizards, also small 2' lizards walking around the site and into the hotel.

Shame there was no beds and shade on the beach, some plastic beds could be put out each day. As it's advertised as a beach hotel.

Free Wi Fi at the coffee shop, sometimes good or iffy, better early in morning 10am or after dinner 19.30, when not so many using it

Each night in the lounge and restaurant different bands played different music, no singing, all very relaxing and it seemed to go down well.

We were on AI, we have been on these before but we found at this hotel was a bit basic. The drinks were all local drinks a bit firery but better with mixers. No wine was included or diet drinks. Make sure the barman know you are on AI or you could have a bill at the end of your holiday! No afternoon ice cream and morning and afternoon snacks basic one choice sandwich with a few cakes.

The breakfast was OK and the best meal of the day. I stood and waited for the bacon to be cooked for 15 mins before my husband stood in the egg queue so the meal was hot to eat. They were serving bacon after 4 mins of cooking very rare or raw!

Dinner oh dinner were do I start...it's the worse food I have ever come across. I am fussy eater but usually find something, my husband eats everything going but he also struggled. Soup was usually good and boiling hot. There were 8 curries on for lunch and dinner every day, then everything was in sauces, beef, cabbage and onion together meat so tough to eat, then chicken sometimes spot on, sometimes tough when your knife won't go through, sometimes luke warm or cold, I got excited when I saw lamb it was gray with no colour maybe broiled. Potatoes only on about 5 times in 14 meals, lots of rice and pasta and chilli. Too many flies around the fruit and desserts they need to be in glass covers.

Food is important to a good holiday it was very disappointing. Maybe my standard of cooking is high but lots of people were eating the food. I came across a Russian girl who said it was poor another couple of Brits who said they couldn't eat spicy food and a guy I said those potatoes are cold he said I won't be eating them so it doesn't matter.

My thoughts are certain holidaymakers take food out of the restaurant, as I saw this happen while we was there at breakfast, so everything was in a gravy so it couldn't be removed. I also think the hotel was on a tight costing budget and only could provide cheap quality meat. I spoke to many chefs and the manager while I was there but I didn't see much improvement.

The holiday resort was very good, we had a good holiday but the food was such a let down.

Room Tip: Floor 4, very quiet in rooms
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Symba2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_CRM, Customer Relations Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Tangerine. We are happy to note that most of our services & facilities were up to your expectations. However we have taken a note of some of the constructive comments made with regards to food. As you must have seen we offer an extensive buffet with a separate Asian corner since most of our guests prefer the same. At the same time we do not compromise on the Western dishes & we provide the best possible items available in the market. However we will review the menus again and try to improve on same. Once again we thank you for your lengthy review & trust we can serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We stayed here for 5 days to finish off our tour of Sri Lanka. It was a wonderful Hotel, definitely 5*. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable, we had wonderful sea views from our balcony. The Restaurant food was great and provided a Great Selection, so there was something to suit all at each meal. The Staff were fantastic and could not do enough for you. We really did not want to leave and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are Good.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dimples2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_CRM, Customer Relations Manager at Tangerine Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Tangerine. We are delighted to hear that our services & facilities were up to your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again at Tangerine in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews