We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm and Positive Energy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Plantation Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Plantation Villa is a calm and secluded Ayurvedic sanctuary set amid rubber, banana, and palm trees. This is an authentic Ayurvedic experience delivered with a personal touch that goes ‘the extra mile”.
Plantation Villa was an uplifting experience. The caring and friendly staff took great pride in their work. We were served abundant and nutritious food from a traditional kitchen. We had fun watching the ladies cook one afternoon. Our Christmas meal was wrapped in a banana leaf and included tasty Christmas cake.
I enjoyed watching the monkeys, miniature squirrels, lizards and more, and listening to the chirpings of the myriad species of birds. Even my leach was relatively benevolent.
After 10 days, I emerged trimmer, healthier and in a positive frame of mind. This was the result of twice a day yoga/meditation, effective and varied treatments and great company in ‘ a home from home’ environment . The medicines must have done some good too!
The manager, Daniel, is a fountain of knowledge on all things medical, scientific and social. Thank you all for a memorable and very happy experience.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kittyh2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2015

Beautiful place to stay if you really want to relax your mind and body.We where lucky to meet with only 5 other guests staying during this time in the villa (mind like and interesting people) in a familiar atmosphere.The staff was very sweet and accommodating and Daniel was not just a manager but a perfect host and interesting entertainer with wide knowledge on many subjects.
I would be happy to give 5 stars but would put some critics on the food which was definitely very unusual but could have been cooked more tasty.
The herbal bath needs to have a makeover to enjoy this kind of treatment in a more relaxing atmosphere.
We would definitely come back another time.
Uli & Tatiana

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jetfox2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in early January 2014. After deciding to cut our fortnight in Bentota to 10 days, we decided to book this last minute to break up our trip to Negombo and to broaden our experience of Sri Lanka (we had already visited the cultural triangle prior to Bentota). We stumbled across Plantation Villa on Agoda and we were not disappointed. It took our driver a while to find, but once there we were very relaxed. Although we are admittedly big drinkers, this is an Ayurvedic Spa, so very healthy & no alcohol on site! However, although the other holidaymakers were on tailored health courses, we were not pressured in any way to follow suit - in fact we took advantage of the peace and quiet and relaxed as much as we could and explored the plantation where we enjoyed spotting the wildlife - monkeys, snake, lizards, spider and a very friendly cat! We did both book the Steam Bath which was a great experience. Our evenings were spent dining (Sri Lankan food - a variety of unusual dishes which we embraced) with the other guests and also the manager and her parents, the owners, one evening where we heard a great deal of interesting stories. The manager was very accommodating and kind enough to let us stay in the better room for no extra charge as we had only booked it for the first night and a more standard room for the next 2.
After being slightly apprehensive about the spa at the beginning of our stay, we were sad to leave, and would recommend this place to anyone - even if it's not their 'bag'!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2014

We spent a week at Plantation Villa in the beginning of December2014. It was a fantastic week with nice treatments, great food, very good service and in a lovely surroundings. For us it was a very unusual experience - staying at one place the whole week - we usually travel like mad from place to place gathering impressions. That was absolutely different and I liked it! We had time to enjoy peacefulness, calmness and it was not boring! We enjoyed every minute of our stay, walking around plantation, practicing yoga, reading, meditating. The staff is very friendly, Roshaan is great at the treatments, Daniel is very helpful and knowledgable about almost everything. We had great talks about Sri Lanka, Ayurveda. And one more thing - I think that there might be some more fashionable places to get ayurvedic treatments but this old house and the place definitely has soul or heart - I don't know how to express this feeling, but we both really felt this special 'something' about the place there. Would love to come back

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank RobertaFleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2014

I don't usually stay in such luxurious places. But on this occasion I decided to spoil myself. I was rewarded by finding this awesome place. The staff were amazing and really helpful. It felt like I was having my every need catered for. Daniel is a great asset to them and has a lot of knowledge about Ayurveda and many other interesting topics. It was great to meet him. Roshan is a really caring soul who's treatments are fantastic. Ishara was also lovely to meet and gave me some good tips for the rest of my time in Sri Lanka. And the girls who work there are always smiling and so lovely and attentive.
I would definitely return given the opportunity and definitely can recommend you stay at the the plantation villa.

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GinJah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
14.1 km away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,285 reviews
16.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
15.8 km away
Turyaa Kalutara
Turyaa Kalutara
#5 of 11 in Kalutara
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 km away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,538 reviews
20.7 km away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
15.6 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Villa

Address: Wattalaya watta, Nehinna, Dodangoda | Kalutara, Kalutara 12000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kalutara
Price Range: RM503 - RM1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plantation Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100 year old property owned by the then chief of the village and 'govi raja' - Paddy King, an honour bestowed by the government. This property has now been expanded upon to create a nature health resort. The hotel is a specialist Ayurveda / Yoga retreat with 8 rooms set amidst a 30 acre plantation of Rubber, Coconut, Cinnamon, Black Pepper and numerous vegetation, fruit trees and paddy fields. The guest experiences are personalised - each guest will be met by an Ayurvedic Doctor on the first day of their arrival who will plan their diet and ayurveda treatment plans which will be administered during their stay. Majority of the food served to guests come from our own organic gardens surrounding the hotel and daily yoga classes will be conducted to compliment their therapies. Treatments range from general relaxation / destress or detox to the cure or prevention of paralysis, cancer, piles etc. Whilst most guests come for just a relaxing experience or to loose weight or detox, we have had some guests with serious illnesses. Additionally, cookery classes, meditation classes and day trips are organised to allow guests to experience life in rural Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Plantation Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Villa Sri Lanka/Kalutara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing